The Smashed Cake

Mandu walks into the living room and glances at the wall clock; it's 2 p.m. She rushes to the table searching for her car key, like her life depends on it. She runs out of the house and into her car and drives off. The clouds have gathered and are about to cry. Mandu gets to the bakery, and they have closed for the day.

birthday-2338813_1280.jpg

Source

Mandu picks up her phone and calls Fred. "Hello Fred, the bakery is closed, and I don't know what to do." There is a long silence, and Fred hangs up the call.
Mandu's eyes are filled with tears. She was given a simple task, and she has failed. Her phone rings, Mandu picks up the call, and her heart is beating faster than normal. "Mandu, I just called the lady, and she says she told you to pick up the cake at 11 a.m.," Fred said. Mandu could not say a word. She bowed her head in disappointment. It dawned on her that she had let herself and everyone else down.

Mandu is a beautiful young lady; she is the only daughter of Mrs. Rose. Mandu is the last child in her family. After her mother gave birth to her, her father slumped and died. No one knew what was the cause of his death. For the past 20 years, Mrs. Rose has been taking care of her three children. Fred is the eldest child, Victor is the second child, and Mandu is the third child.

Mrs. Rose's children had planned a surprise birthday party in honor of her. They want to appreciate their mother, who has taken care of them. Mandu was given the task of getting the cake for the party from the bakery. Fred calls Victor to inform him of the birthday plans being in the state higgledy-piggledy.

Victor calls Mandu, "Young lady, I heard what you did; I will send you some money to go get another cake." Mandu screams in excitement; finally, someone has rescued Mandu. "Thank you so much, Victor; I owe you," Mandu says. Mandu runs into the bakery by the market. "Can you get me a cake?" she says. The salesgirl looks at Mandu and walks away. Mandu asks the lady, "Please, can you get me your most beautiful cake?" The lady looks at Mandu and shakes her head, saying, "We don't have any cake to sell, but I can get you the items you need for baking a cake.".

Mandu gets home and meets Fred and Victor setting up the living room. "Mandu, where the cake?" Fred asked. "I'm about to bake it," Mandu responds. Fred shouts at Mandu. "You are so irresponsible; you were given a simple task, and yet you still messed it up. Just go in there and make sure the cake is ready for mom to return from work." Victor looks at Fred and shakes his head. "Fred, we don't need all that screaming right now; let us come together and support her." Victor then turns to Mandu, saying, "Go and bake the cake." With tears in her eyes, Mandu moves into the kitchen. Victor opens the kitchen door and says to Mandu, "Don't worry, I will help you.".

Fred is spacing in the living room, and the doorbell rings. He rushes out to meet her person at the door. "Mom, you are back. Can I have a word with you?" Fred asked. The mom looks confused and nods in the affirmative. Fred tells her mom a story of a boy who sold his bicycle just to buy a toy car. Mrs. Rose smiles, saying, "Fred, I have heard this story for decades now. Why are you trying to stop me from entering the house? I hope you have not messed up my living room." As Mrs. Rose turns to open the door, Fred obstructs her, "Mom, let's just stay here for a bit.".

As Mrs. Rose walks inside the living room, her children scream, "Happy Birthday, Mom." She is filled with joy and gives them a big hug. "Let me bring the cake." Mandu walks into the kitchen and lifts the cake.
As she steps out to the living room, the cake falls off. Fred screams at her, "You succeeded in ruining this birthday party."

Mrs. Rose smiles, "Fred, forget about the cake. I am happy you guys had the idea of throwing me a birthday party, cake or no cake. I'm happy." Mrs. Rose hugs Mandu and cleans the tears off her eyes.

"Come here, my boys; I love you guys, and I appreciate this gesture," Mrs. Rose says as her boys join in the big bear hug.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center