THE DRESS

It's a beautiful Sunday morning; the sun is smiling and the trees are whispering. Mark walks to the dining table and claps. Everyone on the dining table turns with a look of disbelief.

mens-991728_1280.jpg

Source

Mark's dad, Mr. Cole, questions his behavior: "Young man, that's rude of you." Mark smiles and says, "I have a big announcement to make." Everyone looks at Mark, and he shouts, "I am getting married next month." Mr. Cole drops his cup of coffee and laughs so hard that everyone at the table joins him.

Mark's mom, Mrs. Ruth, raises her hand, and everyone stops laughing. "This is a good one, Mark," she says with a smile of approval on her face. Michelle, Mark's sister, couldn't believe it. She stood and said, "Mark is always shy around girls; I wonder how he proposed to her." Mark smiled and said, "You guys are talking about the old Mark; this is the new me. Everyone smiled, and Mark informed them that the lady in question was coming over to meet with the family during dinner. Mr. Cole asked Mark, "Have you met her parents?" Mark nodded in the affirmative. Mr. Cole's eyes lit up, and he said, "You have really kept us in the dark."

Mark is a tall, dark, and handsome young man. He works as an assistant engineer for a top telecommunications company. He has always been one who likes to keep things on a low. So this sudden announcement by him takes everyone by surprise.

Mrs. Ruth calls Michelle and asks Michelle to join her in the kitchen as they prepare a meal for their visitor. Mr. Cole and Mark sit in the living room and discuss politics, sports, and the current economic situation in the world. Mr. Cole asks Mark, "How will the wedding ceremony look like?" Mark smiles, "It's going to be a small gathering of a few family members and friends; we don't want to make it so loud." Mr. Cole nods his head in approval. "Son, the real marriage begins after the wedding ceremony. My only advice to you is for you to exercise patience with your woman, love her, and always remember why you chose her." Mr. Cole said and touched Mark on his shoulder. Mark was filled with joy as he knew his dad was happy.

The doorbell rings, and Michelle rushes to the door. She has been waiting to see the lady who makes his brother happy and bold. She opens the door, and all she could say is "wow." She is captivated by the beauty of the lady standing in front of her. Michelle says, "Good evening; you must be Erica." Erica smiles and says, "Yes, Michelle, I have heard so much about you; I am so happy to meet you." "I hope Mark said only good stuff about unless he isn't having dinner tonight," Michelle said, smiling.

Mrs. Ruth hugs Erica and says, "You are beautiful, my dear; welcome to our humble home." Mr. Cole smiles and says, "Can you guys let the lady at least have a seat? You are welcome, dear. Let's move to the dining table. Dinner is served."

"So Erica, tell us, how did you meet Mark?" Michelle asked. Erica smiled and cleared her throat. "We met at the university; I had just resumed school, and as a new student, I was a bit confused and couldn't find my way around the campus. I stood there looking lost. Then I saw this handsome young man walking up to me and asking me if I needed help. I told him I needed all the help I could get. Mark showed me around the school and helped me to settle in. We have been friends for the past five years. Mark is a wonderful guy. He made my stay in school enjoyable. And just last week he popped the big question, and I said yes to me." Mark smiled and said, "Enough with the questions.".
Mrs. Ruth rubs her palms together and asks, "How is the wedding ceremony going to look like?" Erica replies, "It's going to be a simple wedding; we agreed we don't want something big." "That's great; just make sure everything has been taken care of before that day." Mrs said. "Everything has been paid for, Mum. I got a beautiful suit, which you all will love and will be shocked by the suit.

It's beautiful Saturday morning, and the air is filled with excitement. The garden is filled with guests looking beautifully dressed. The wedding ceremony is about to begin, and everyone can't wait to lay their eyes on the groom and bride. The music plays, and it's time for the groom to walk into the garden. As Mark walks down the aisle, everyone looks dumbfounded by what Mark is wearing. Everyone is murmuring, trying to find out what is going on. Mr. Cole walks up to Mark. "What is this thing you are wearing? of all days to disgrace me, you choose today." Mark smiles and tells his dad, "I'm a gypsy." Mr. Cole becomes more infuriated by Mark. All he can do is sit and hope it's only a joke.

Erica is about to walk down the aisle, but she spots Mark dressed like a gypsy. She screams, "What's going on here? Why is he dressed in that? We bought a beautiful suit for today. Why does he want to ruin our day?" Erica sends a message across to Mark that she wants to meet him.
"Mark, what is the meaning of this thing you are wearing?" Erica asked. Mark looks at her and says, "This is what I choose to wear; the suit is at home. Erica, you love me and not the suit, so let's get married and live happily ever after." Erica looks at Mark with belief and can't say a word. She was so angry. After about five minutes of silence, Erica smiles at Mark and says, "You are really a clown. Well, I love Mark and not the suit. Let's get married."

The music plays, Erica walks down the aisle, and as she gets to the front, Mark smiles and walks down the aisle with his gypsy dress. Everyone in the garden laughs. Everyone in the garden claps and cheers for the couple.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center