The rare gesture

"Don't be ridiculous Mekus (nickname my friend gave me instead of my actual name, Emeka), what do you have to make you hink anyone would be following you? If you told me you're following someone for money or food, it's easier to believe brother. Come off it, following you for what?" Akin waved his hand in the air as he spoke.


For a brief moment, I could not agree less with Akin, knowing fully well beyond my name and perhaps the borrowed roof I live under, I wake up clueless for each rising sun and manageably scale through the hurdles of each day in Lagos city, a town where even the fittest are not guaranted a survival. "You're right though, what do we have to ourselves to warrant any fears."

"Speak for yourself o, what do you mean by we? Don't add me to your predicament, I still have relatives who show me love when God lays it in their hearts. At least, I'm way better off than you."

"Mock me all you like, you're a pot calling kettle black." I threw my words back at Akin, rolling out my tongue in a tease.

"Not your fault, maybe you're being followed spiritually from your village." Akin retorted, not wanting to give up.


It was our way of teasing each other, a moment we've always cherished. Akin has been the only friend who has stuck with me since I got to Lagos five years back from my village in Owerri where I had managed to complete High school, having a reasonable fluency in English. It was the dream of every young Igbo boy to come to the famous Lagos city and make a meaning out of life, usually by hustling and engaging in menial jobs or for the lucky ones, being an apprentice to an already established business trader who may establish the former if found worthy. Since I had nobody to recommend me to an established trader, I had to make do with what I could lay my hands upon, a mechanic workshop where I worked for my daily bread while Akin worked as a secretary in a struggling fairly new business with a pay barely enough to stock the house with s month's foodstuff despite my almost negligible financial contributions to augment what we had. Most days, we trekked kilometers to reach our workplaces while only on few occasions do we take a bus home, a luxury that comes once in a blue moon.


It was dusk already and Akin and I sat on a wooden bench in front of our apartment, in the open. The compound had not gates and situated just at the edge of a dusty and untarred road. We spent most evenings sitting out, unconsciously inhaling the dust while we enjoyed the views of passersby, hoping to catch in on any fun activity before retiring into our rooms for supper, a bowl of soaked Garri (cassava fried flour) that often swells when left for few minutes before consumption.


'Maybe I was only being overly conscious of my environment' I thought to myself as I tried to bury the thoughts from my head. I had the urge to look over my shoulders since about five days now, sensing an unusually repeated face in my neighborhood. I was almost convinced when I stopped and noticed a rather uncoordinated surprised reaction from the face I sensed was trailing me. It was a young man, agile and had a good physique, one I would not mistaken to be part of the slum boys. He disappears everytime I want to make a go for him. I made it a point of duty to hasten my steps earlier back home and equally double check the door and single window in out room as a security safety measure. Akin had successfully relaxed my fear of being followed.




I got to the mechanic workshop as usual, earlier than my trainer and boss, and swapped my outfit into one I could work with as a mechanic. It was my master's rule that I come earlier than he does so that I could sweep and clean the environment before his arrival. I had just picked up the broom to begin my routine cleaning when a Lexus Jeep pulled up. It was a familiar car but arriving at such hour was unusual. I walked up to the driver side, bearing as much smile as I could muster even though deep within me, I feared my boss would be pissed at me if I failed to clean up before he resumes.

source

"Good morning customer" I said hastily as I walked up to the driver. I nodded my head severally as it was customary to show respect and treat customers with high esteem. My tension relaxed when I saw the face behind the steering, it was a customer I had enjoyed interacting with a week ago, a young lady in her late twenties. Though I was older than her, I had to respect her class and worship her as the customer she was.

"Good morning Emeka, how are you doing this morning?" She said in a sweet tone, letting out a warm smile that soothed my soul.

"Very fine ma. How about you ma?"

"Quite good. Thank goodness you resume early." She said, opening her car door to come down.

"Yes ma'am, it's my routine to be punctual ma. What could be wrong with your car? I hope it's not the issue we fixed a week ago that has resurfaced? I'm sure we did a good job then ma." I said as I closed the car door behind her.

"Not at all, you sure did a good job. I'm here for another purpose." She said, causing me a mixed feeling of rest yet, inquisitiveness.

"What could that be ma?" I said as I walked ahead to fetch her a plastic chair she could sit on.

"You told me about your willingness to go back to school last week when we talked. Are you still up for that?" She asked, looking straight into my eyes as though she searched for an answer even before my words could spill.

I froze for a moment, definitely not from the cold weather but, from the many thoughts that flooded my mind. I had many questions to ask, yet, only an answer to give. "If I have the resources, I would not mind ma." I replied slowly, looking away from her searching eyes.

"Good to know Emeka, I enjoyed your service and our conversations and after making a few findings about you, I was convinced you'll benefit from a scholarship I have already reserved a slot for you and with the little extra upkeep benefits, I'm sure you'll fit better pursuing your dreams in a school environment." She said.

I stood there, transfixed and speechless, wondering if this was all a dream or a fantasy. I squeezed my outfit gently by the thigh, giving myself a gentle pinch to be assured I was awake. "I really do not know what to say ma. I never saw this coming. Thank you very much ma. You're an angel in disguise.... "

"It's okay Emeka, you deserve it and here's my complementary card. I've arranged for an apartment for you and your friend other than where you both live. So, take care and enjoy the rest of the day." She said, stood up and walked towards her car while I trodded gently behind like a pupil walking behind his tutor. She ignited her car engine and drove out of the workshop.

"Yes!" I exclaimed and became jubilant, dancing to no particular music. And like a flash, I remembered the morning chore and dashed to continue my sweeping. My thoughts rammed into each other in ecstasy as I began to realize my world was taking a new and better turn.




"Don't you think she was the one? You can't blame her. Probably she needed to be convinced her money was going into someone's life who genuinely needed it." Akin said to me after I broke the news to him.

"Time will tell, probably someday, I'll have the courage to ask her but for now, let's have a proper dinner to celebrate the new fortune." I said, patting Akin on his shoulder as we both emptied our pockets to buy some ingredients for cooking.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center