Meeting Victor (fiction)

Of course, I hate being idle, and going out has never been my favorite. At the age of 29, my concerns hurriedly diverted from my career and settled upon having a life partner, which seemed more difficult than an elephant passing through a needle's eye. Back in college, I had countless opportunities to cement those undergraduate relationships, but no, the tall and dark beauty that I am would rather take with levity those young men who showed seriousness in their desires and pursuits of me. My friend, Tolani, would tease me occasionally with, "You aren't getting any younger," which I waved off nonchalantly.

Now that age seems to run faster than I wished, those that approached me were either married or showed ulterior motives, which I was not game for. My standards gradually dwindled from the tall, dark, handsome, and rich to anyone who was presentable, responsible, and comfortable. Femi was the lookalike of my current preferences, but like the many men before him, he revealed his impure motives, which hastily reverted me to my introverted state. My caucus declined, and my interest in society around me was reduced. I developed solace in solitude; my companions were books and music. After closing my 8-3 work shift as a sales executive, the remaining hours of the day were a repeat cycle, monotonous, and autopiloted.

Reels on TikTok and Instagram were my saving source whenever boredom and unpleasant thoughts ravaged my mind. Deep down, I knew these were temporary remedies, and a void in me needed to be filled. Perhaps all these led my wandering online surfing to Partner-Finder, an unpopular dating site with restrictions and premiums. Funding my account with the new site was not one that cost me anything significant; I had extra cash to throw around since my engagements with off-work activities were limited. My profile was incognito; I was careful not to expose my face to a society I was unfamiliar with.

"Hello Angel," a notification popped up from Partner-Finder barely an hour after I signed up. My mind was open to this new ballgame, but I anticipated a pleasurable experience at the very least. Funny how the stranger left his profile blank; perhaps a clue to his looks would resolve my curiosity.

"Hello, stranger," I replied, careful not to reveal any enthusiasm. I waited for what seemed like an eternity before his response came in; perhaps then I knew I had been lonely and desirous of an adventure.

"Ouuuuch, that hurts me a little. Pardon my manners; you can call me Victor." He replied about an hour later. I equally took my time to reply a few hours later, not because I did not want to flow with his conversation but because I did not want to give him the impression that I was too available.

"Nice to meet you, Victor; your name sounds like that of a player." I threw at him, waiting for his next line. I was surprised to see his quick response; perhaps he has ample time to chat.

"If it's the game to win your heart, I'll take my chances to play." Victor replied.

"This is exactly the pick-up line of players; I'm definitely not going through that line with you."

"Well, we could exchange numbers to continue on WhatsApp if that's fine with you, Angel?"

"You can call me Kemi; go find your angel somewhere else." I replied curtly, determined to provoke a reaction.

"Can I send some chocolates and pizza over? It seems Angel Kemi's mood can be brightened a little." Victor replied. At this junction, I had to relax my defenses. Victor seemed to be a gentleman. Our chat on Partner-Finder continued, and after a month of talking over the phone, Victor became my gist partner. Victor and I graduated from chatting on the dating app to talking over the phone. Gradually, I began to crawl out of my shell of loneliness, appreciating the company of having someone to confide in.

Victor convinced me to meet up since we were in the same town, and we made an arrangement to meet up. I was truly excited and, more than ever, anticipated that his appearance would complement his personality over the phone. Our agreed venue was not one I was finding easy to locate, and since he called to pick me up, I gladly stood under a shed to wait for him.

"I can see you standing there; can you cross over to the other side of the road?" Victor said this over the phone. I looked around for him as though I could recognize him, which I knew I could not. Right across the road, I saw a young man in his late thirties. My first turn-off was his yellow shirt on a green pant trouser, and even though I had lowered my standard for looks, his face was definitely not one I would love to settle for. My heart broke into many pieces, but I had to hold my disappointment in check as I crossed the road to him. He looked back at me, however, and did not look as excited as I thought he would be to see me. Just as I approached him, I heard the blare of a car honk, which caused me to look behind. The man in the car bore a broad smile as he waved at him. At that moment, my heart raced faster, glad that I mistook another for Victor. Victor stepped out of his 2014 Corolla car and threw his arms open, which I gladly crept into, not minding who watched us in public. His scent was alluring, his body chilled from the car's air conditioner, I guess, and more importantly, his physique and look were very satisfying to me. We headed for the date afterwards, enjoying the physical company we had longed for.

pexels-photo-3692738.jpeg

source


Eighteen months after Victor and I met, I said yes excitdly to his proposal to marry me. I have grown to love Victor dearly, and my only anticipation is when forever will begin to click as a couple.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center