The cat and the three witches


Image made by Ideogram.Ai

I am a cat, with four legs and a long tail. A black one. So true that the sky is blue and despite what people think, I don't bring bad luck, I attract it. My life has always been surrounded by unfortunate events. But I have not always been a cat. I used to be a stool, a broom, a teapot, and if I remember correctly, a boy who used to wander in the woods, trying to do as little as possible.

Yes, I know, I was lazy. In my defense, I hated going to school; sitting in a chair for more than 4 hours was torture and on top of that, I was easily distracted. Sitting at my desk, I used to look out of the classroom window and watch the birds coming and going, flying free, doing whatever they pleased. While I was still there, bored, learning the letters of the alphabet and numbers, again. I hated the teacher, who enjoyed reprimanding me for not paying attention and did it the only way he knew how, by hitting us with a stick on our hands. His eyes sparkled with pleasure when he did it.

I used to live in Shadowbrook, a small town, hidden among hills and dense woods, which gave it an air of mystery and abandonment. Hundreds of uneven cobblestones adorned the tangle of streets that wound around the stone and wooden-roofed houses, decorated with religious symbols carved above their doors and windows. I loved to sneak between them and make my way to the village square, the favorite place for the whispering of the ladies who came to fetch water from the old stone well, wearing long, wide, ankle-length skirts, their tight-fitting bodices and their head scarves sewn on their heads.

In front of the square, the church stands with its bell tower and large wooden doors, solemn and watchful over the village. But the most imposing building was the mayor's house, a two-story structure made of stone, wood, and a thick metal door. It was home to Cornelius, a stern and authoritarian man who ruled with an iron fist.

Most of the time, I detoured on my way to school. I loved to enjoy the freedom to roam. But I had to be very cautious, otherwise, if I was caught wandering in the early hours, I was immediately forced to do any kind of chores. Tasks such as chopping wood, herding sheep, plowing the land, mucking out stables, or worse, serving in the church. For most people a sacred precinct of majestic serenity, for me, a dull, dark, musty-smelling place, permeated with stinking oil lamps and candle wax. It was terrible to listen to the tortuous gospels, psalms, and proverbs, and if I fell asleep, I was made to climb a wobbly, creaking wooden scaffolding to clean the huge stained glass windows of the temple or to clean the three hundred and fifty candelabras hanging from the unreachable ceiling, or just anything else the priest could think of.

Though religiosity and superstition were pouring like sweat into every inhabitant of Shadowbrook, it had been a long time since they had burned witches. Everyone was on the lookout, keeping an eye on each other, especially the mayor, whose inquisitive attitude made even the newly arrived priest shudder. I didn't really know why this need to set fire to everything seemed sickening. And the excited public rushed to pile in to enjoy the depraved scene.

I always wondered about them, the witches. If they really were witches, why couldn't they escape the bindings and get out of being burned at the stake? Probably because they were just ordinary people. So I never believed they existed. Until one evening, wandering through the forest, and to my surprise, I came across three of them.

I had fallen asleep high up in a tree, you know, avoiding being found. But a nagging chattering woke me up. Incomprehensible words drew my attention to a group of hideous women. All three wore provocative dresses, revealing more than the norm. Nothing like what the women in the village used to wear, wrapped in fabric from head to toe. These, on the other hand, and I am sure, would have earned a month's punishment in church from the priest. Each one of them had a huge mole somewhere on their face, and I got a good look at them since I slipped behind some bushes, where I could get a better look at them. They were sitting on the ground, holding hands, with their eyes closed. I craned my neck to see a little more of the daring cleavage of one of them. The cracking of a branch under my feet gave away my presence. I wanted to flee immediately when they all turned their piercing, malicious gazes on me, but my body instantly went numb when one of them uttered a strange word,

"Petrificus," blurted the most hideous one, pointing her long gnarled finger; I fell backward like a log instantly.

"But what have we here?" asked the shortest and most obese of them, as her body swayed from side to side as she approached my paralyzed body.

"Haven't you heard that curiosity kills the cat, little one?" warned the slimmest and tallest of the three, with a Machiavellian grin.

My eyes bounce from side to side, terrified.

"I think we need a servant at home, girls," the lanky one spoke again, as she turned her gaze towards the other two.

"And this one looks rather strong," was the last I heard that afternoon.

I must confess that the witches were terrible to me. When they needed something, poof, they turned me into it. A stool for Agatha, the most obese; my poor wooden legs creaked under her weight. A broom when they required me to clean the whole dingy cottage where they lived; with a snap of their fingers, they immediately had me moving about the rooms, sweeping up the dust. Their demands were constant and exhausting. However, from time to time I would retaliate in some way. I would speed up my swinging, raising a cloud of dust that would arouse Griselda's allergies, the lanky one. I was rarely turned into a big kettle and I loved to turn up the volume of my whistles when I boiled the water inside me, which hurt the delicate ears of Brunilda, the most horrifying one.

Although I had no eyes, most of the time, I could hear the strange spells and curses they practiced. Most peculiar, however, was hearing the familiar voices of the people who frequented the witches. The low, gruff tone of Tom, the village blacksmith, with his sleep problems.

"I can't close my eyes for hours," he said.

Henrienta's shrill voice and her love problems, trying to win over that idiot Erick.

"I do the impossible but he still doesn't notice me", said the unhappy woman.

The funny guttural pronunciation of Johan, the baker, and his overweight problems.

"Is seemink dat even de vater makes me to get fat, yes? Is true. Vater make me poof up like balloon. Big problem!", he commented amusingly.

The remedies and concoctions they offered as a solution were never free, and worse, their effects were not long-lasting. And for some reason, unknown to me, their victims came back delighted to keep spending their money on more cures and charms.

How did I become a cat? It was a very funny experience. It happened late at night. I was sweeping the kitchen and Agatha had got up, in a lousy mood, by the way.

"Stop dusting," she shouted at me, "I'm going to make myself a cup of tea," she said.

All was very quiet, Agatha was ruminating over her cup of tea when suddenly we both heard a little squeak. If I had had a body, I would have fallen over on my back and bent over with laughter as I witnessed the scene the obese witch had made. I discovered that she had an irrational fear of mice. She screamed hysterically, making such a racket that if possible, perhaps even the inhabitants of Shadowbrook would have woken up despite how far away we were.

Immediately, Griselda and Brunilda were awakened by Agatha's scandal and rushed in to see what was going on.

"What the hell are you doing standing on the table?" questioned Griselda in surprise.

Agatha was shaking me back and forth, banging my bristles against the floor, over and over again.

"A mouse! A mouse!" the neurotic woman kept shouting.

Brunilda rolled her eyes

"By the horns of Beelzebub!" expressed Griselda obstinately, "Bring that broom over here," she said wrenching me from Agatha's sausage fingers.

She set me down and conjured up some strange words. I felt my rigid body begin to mould into something more flexible, wood became flesh and bone, and bristles spread across my whole body in the form of fur. My eyes adjusted to the light from the oil lamps hanging from the ceiling. There was a large black cauldron bubbling over the fireplace. Cobwebs hung from every corner, and a thin layer of dust covered everything. My nose wrinkled as I smelled the reeking fragrances and scents wafting through the kitchen. Jars full of herbs and spices were piled on a shelf.

Suddenly it dawned on me.

"I've got eyes and a nose!" I exclaimed happily, squeezing my eyes together, trying to see my nose, wiggling my whiskers from side to side.

Agatha, her patience wearing thin, turned to me, furious. "Stop slacking off! Go and catch those vermin," she ordered.

"Yes, ma'am," I answered at once.

"I can speak!", realizing the obvious.

"Go now!" all three shouted in unison. I jumped up and ran after the beasts that struck terror into Agatha's soul if such a being could be said to have any. However, the terrible creatures turned out to be tiny little mice.

From that day on, they never changed my form again. Being a cat was not all bad. During the day, I spent most of my time lazing around, especially when the hateful witches weren't around. I also discovered that my long tail was useful for grabbing things, it was like having a third arm. Also, I could jump very high, and I always, always landed on my four legs no matter where I dropped from.

Living with the three women, I discovered that the rumors about witches were true; they tended to be lonely, spiteful, vain, malevolent, manipulative, distrustful, even of each other, and undoubtedly cruel. Over time, though, I began to see another side to them that I didn't know. One afternoon, I had hidden under Agatha's bed. Asleep, she tossed and turned restlessly, creaking the wood of the bed, I was about to flee, thinking I might be crushed to death, when, intrigued, I heard her cry out, "I'm not a monster!" and at other times, between sobs, she begged, "Please don't burn my house!" I was dumbfounded.

I also learned Griselda's secret when I accidentally asked about a strange scar on her side while she was cooking a strange potion. She gave me a withering look. "It's a birthmark," she scorned, "and I nearly lost my life for it," she concluded, threatening me with a knife. I vanished immediately.

Even Brunilda, the most intimidating and hideous of the three, had a terrible past. She treasured in her room a worn-out rag doll. She used to sleep with it and curse the witch hunters in her sleep.

Eventually, I got used to living with them and their eccentric moods. Usually in the daytime, I had to be careful not to get in the way of any of the three. In the evenings, everything was different. As long as the witches didn't go about their business, casting spells, incantations, or summoning demons, which they occasionally did at night. But mostly they slept, they said, to preserve their beauty, which I particularly did not see where they hid it, with their increasingly hunched figures, their cadaverous skin, their long hooked noses, and their bushy, furrowed eyebrows, not to mention their noticeable moles. Anyway, those moments were good times for me to sneak out and do my own thing.

One night, I plucked up my courage and decided to flee their abode and head for Shadowbrook. For a moment I imagined being free to return home, to see all those familiar places where I used to wander; the square, the old well, the imposing church, the old stone houses, and their ever-smoking chimneys, filling the air with the distinctive smell of burning wood. Initially, I wanted to stay, but I was disappointed to discover that it was still the same old boring and superstitious place, nothing had changed. Wherever I passed, people fled from me, filled with dread, making the sign of the cross or pointing an amulet at me. I was saddened to learn that my father was still getting drunk at night until he lost his senses. On the other hand, I thought there would be people looking for me in anguish at my absence, but there were not. Everyone in the village was still busy with their own problems and had simply forgotten me. With a crestfallen head, I decided to return to the witches.

On the way back, I couldn't help overhearing a lady scolding a little boy.

"Don't go too far, it's already dark," she warned the kid, "remember what happened to lazy Jacob, the same forest swallowed him up."

I contented myself with the thought that at least I was remembered as a legend.

I wandered through the shadows of the houses hurrying my pace, thinking about my future, when I heard a sweet voice.

"Hello, little one. Are you lost?" a long-haired girl asked me. Her big blue eyes sparkled in the light of the lamp she held.

"Are you hungry?" she said, offering me a piece of dried meat.

I wanted to run away but her charming smile and my stomach roaring like a millstone convinced me to stay. Her loving attitude and gentle caresses delighted me. My body curled every time she ran her hand down my back. And when she lifted me into her arms, I would melt and purr to the rhythm of her cooing.

I decided to go back every night to visit the beautiful maiden and before dawn, I would return to the witches' lair. Everything was going wonderfully. Once, I made the terrible mistake of talking back to her when she asked if I was hungry.

"Can you talk?" she exclaimed, surprised but not frightened.

Fascinated, she listened attentively to my whole story up to the present day. To my surprise, she stared into my eyes, piercing my soul.

"Don't worry, I will see to it that you return to your original form".

I couldn't imagine how, but it turned out that the angelic creature I had met was actually a ruthless witch hunter hired by the mayor. And without realizing it, she followed me to the witches' abode.

The day was beginning, the three witches were preparing their favorite breakfast: frogs' legs and toad's eyes soup. It didn't taste half bad, by the way. I watched on from my hiding place. Even though I was sleepy, I shuddered every time they raised their voices as they plotted what they would do that day. The door came down with a loud crash. I ducked, deeper into my hiding place. In front of me, the violent battle began. Colored bolts of lightning came and went, shattering the shelves and junk Griselda was hoarding. Curses and chants echoed off the musty walls of the house. With no more to tell, gaping and paws on my head, I watched as the huntress continued to repel the spells cast by the witches, gaining ground.

Finally, we dug in at the back of the den.

Badly wounded, Griselda shouted

"Cat, go get the healing potion!"

I ran, dodging the slayer's lightning bolts and daggers. I leaped over the potion rack. Each potion had its name written in clear letters. I was anxious. I hurriedly sniffed the vials. But, the letters danced before my eyes. The words made no sense. I should have paid more attention to my lessons at school; I chided myself. Desperately, I used my tail and threw the potions one by one towards the slayer. They burst into clouds of color one after another. Griselda's fingers closed around a vial, saving it from shattering. After a spell, the three witches disappeared behind a great cloud of purple smoke.

There was a heavy weight in my heart after witnessing what had happened. Not that I am on the witches' side, but in my opinion, they were as human as anyone else. Death was not the punishment I had in mind for them. In the face of the exhausting battle, I didn't have time to think about how I would become human again, now that the witches were gone.

I continued to watch the huntress. Her face relaxed after making sure the house was empty. Her steely temper returned to the sweet face of the girl I had known. Her light blue eyes fixed on me.

"I know you have been under the spell of the witches," she said in her sweet voice, "All this time you have been a victim of them. But no more, I have brought the cure for your misfortune".

She knelt and stretched out her hands to me.

"Come, I will deliver you from this curse," she assured me.

She seemed honest in her proposal and I had indeed been a victim of the witches. Why shouldn't I believe this beautiful maiden who fought against the dark arts? For a moment I rejoiced at the thought of being human again, although I particularly liked being a cat. I felt again the warmth of her arms and her sweet caresses. Unfortunately, a metallic taste reached my mouth as I felt the cold steel piercing my body.

"Requiescat in pace," was the last thing I heard her say before my eyes closed.

When I woke up, a terrible darkness enveloped me, I immediately discovered that I was completely covered in dirt, I panicked and desperately dug my way to the surface with the help of my four legs. Finally, the cold night air filled my lungs. I shook the clods from my body and ears. I was alive. I ran looking for the witches' dwelling. It was a pile of ashes when I arrived.

Nowhere to go, I decided to leave Shadowbrook. I never saw the witches again. Time slipped away, before my long quest to become a human again, the world was bigger than I imagined. Fast machines replaced horses. Night and day became one as the electric light bulb appeared. Technological advances continued. Mythological beings and superstitions became a thing of the past. People stopped believing in witches and got busy making money while they could.

One ordinary afternoon, I was grooming myself sitting on the front steps of a small 5-storey building in a Spanish province. A bearded guy was smoking a stinky cigarette next to me. Suddenly, two vehicles collided in the street in front of us, smashing into each other.

"Holy cow!" I said in surprise.

"This weed is really spicy, bro," the dude commented, "I just heard you talk."

I rolled my eyes. Here we go again, I said to myself.

See you next time...




Soy un gato, con mis cuatro patas y una larga cola. Uno negro. Tan cierto que el cielo es azul y a pesar de lo que piensa la gente, no doy mala suerte, la atraigo. Mi vida siempre ha estado rodeada de eventos desafortunados. Pero no siempre he sido un gato, solía ser un taburete, una escoba, una tetera, y si mi memoria no me falla, un chico que solía vagar por el bosque, tratando de hacer lo menos posible.

Si, lo sé, era un vago. En mi defensa, odiaba ir a la escuela; el sentarme en una silla, por más de 4 horas, era una tortura y además de eso, suelo distraerme con facilidad. Sentado en mi pupitre acostumbraba ver por la ventana del salón a los pájaros, yendo y viniendo, volando libres, haciendo lo que les placía. Mientras yo seguía allí, aburrido, aprendiendo las letras del abecedario y los números, de nuevo. Odiaba al maestro, quien disfrutaba reprenderme por no prestar atención y lo hacía de la única manera que sabía, dándonos con una vara sobre las manos. Sus ojos brillaban de placer cuando lo hacía.

Solía vivir en Shadowbrook, un pueblo pequeño, escondido entre colinas y bosques densos, lo que le daba un aire de misterio y abandono. Cientos de adoquines desiguales adornaban la enredadera de calles que circulaban alrededor de las casas de piedra y techos de madera, decoradas con símbolos religiosos tallados sobre sus puertas y ventanas. Me encantaba escabullirme entre ellas y llegar hasta la plaza del pueblo, el lugar favorito del cuchicheo de las señoras que venían a recoger agua del viejo pozo de piedra, con sus largas y amplias faldas que llegaban a los tobillos; sus corpiños ajustados y sus cofias cosidas a la cabeza.

Frente a la plaza, la iglesia se levanta con su campanario y sus grandes puertas de madera, vigilante y solemne sobre el pueblo. Pero la construcción más imponente era la casa del alcalde, una estructura de dos pisos hecha de piedra, madera y con una gruesa puerta de metal. En donde vivía Cornelius, un hombre severo y autoritario que gobernaba con mano dura.

La mayor parte del tiempo, desviaba mi camino cuando me dirigía a la escuela. Me encantaba disfrutar de la libertad para vagar. Pero debía ser muy cauteloso, de lo contrario, si me atrapaban deambulando, a tempranas horas, de inmediato me obligaban a hacer cualquier tipo de tareas. Tareas tales como cortar leña, arrear las ovejas, arar la tierra, limpiar establos o peor aún, servir en la iglesia. Para muchos un recinto sagrado de majestuosa serenidad, para mí, un lugar aburrido y oscuro, con olor a humedad, impregnado con las apestosas lámparas de aceite y cera de las velas. Era terrible escuchar los tortuosos evangelios, salmos, proverbios y si me llegaba a dormir, me hacían subir un andamiaje de madera vacilante y crujiente para limpiar los enormes vitrales del templo o para limpiar los trescientos cincuenta candelabros que colgaban del inalcanzable techo, o simplemente cualquier otra cosa que se le ocurriera al párroco.

A pesar de que la religiosidad y la superstición brotaban como el sudor en cada uno de los habitantes de Shadowbrook, hacía mucho que no quemaban brujas. Todos andaban a la expectativa, vigilándose los unos a los otros, en especial el alcalde, cuya actitud inquisitiva hacía temblar incluso al recién llegado sacerdote. Realmente desconocía porque esa necesidad de prenderle candela a todo, me parecía enfermizo. Y el público excitado corría a amontonarse para disfrutar de la depravada escena.

Siempre me pregunté acerca de ellas, las brujas. Si realmente eran brujas ¿por qué no podían escapar de las ataduras y librarse de ser quemadas en la hoguera? Probablemente porque solo eran personas comunes y corrientes. Así que jamás creí que existieran. Hasta que una tarde, vagando por el bosque y para mi sorpresa, me encontré con tres de ellas.

Me había quedado dormido en lo alto de un árbol, ya saben, evitando ser encontrado. Pero un fastidioso parloteo me despertó. Unas palabras incomprensibles llamaron mi atención hacia un grupo de mujeres horrorosas. Las tres llevaban vestidos provocativos, mostrando más de lo reglamentario. Nada parecido a lo que solían usar las mujeres en el pueblo, forradas de telas de pies a cabeza. Éstas por lo contrario, y estoy seguro, habrían ganado un mes de castigo en la iglesia por parte del sacerdote. Cada una de ellas tenía un enorme lunar en alguna parte del rostro, los vi muy bien, porque me escabullí tras unos matorrales, desde donde podía detallarlas mejor. Estaban sentadas en el suelo, tomadas de las manos, con sus ojos cerrados. Alargue mi cuello para ver un poco más del atrevido escote de una de ellas. El quebrar de una rama bajo mis pies, delató mi presencia. Quise huir de inmediato cuando todas posaron sus penetrantes y maliciosas miradas sobre mí, pero mi cuerpo se entumeció al instante cuando una de ellas pronunció una extraña palabra,

“Petrificus”, soltó la más horrenda, señalando con su largo dedo nudoso; caí de espalda como un tronco al instante.

“¿Pero qué tenemos aquí?”, preguntó la más baja y obesa de ellas, mientras su cuerpo se mecía de un lado al otro al acercarse a mi paralizado cuerpo.

“¿Acaso no has escuchado que la curiosidad mato al gato, pequeño?”, advirtió la más delgada y alta de las tres, con una sonrisa maquiavélica.

Mis ojos rebotan de un lado al otro, aterrorizados.

“Creo que nos hace falta un sirviente en casa, chicas”, volvió a hablar la larguirucha, mientras dirigía su vista hacia las otras dos.

“Y este se ve bastante fuerte”, fue lo último que escuché aquella tarde.

Debo confesar que las brujas fueron terribles con mi persona. Cuando necesitaban algo, ¡Puf!, me convertían en eso. Un taburete para Agatha, la más obesa; mis pobres patas de madera crujían ante su peso. Una escoba cuando requerían limpiar toda la lúgubre cabaña donde vivían; con un chasquido de sus dedos, de inmediato me hacía moverme por todas las habitaciones, barriendo el polvo. Sus demandas eran constantes y agotadoras. Sin embargo, de vez en cuando me vengaba de alguna manera. Aceleraba mi balanceo, levantando una nube de polvo que hacía despertar las alergias de Griselda, la larguirucha. Pocas veces me convertían en una gran tetera y me encantaba subir el volumen de mis silbidos cuando hervía el agua dentro de mí, eso hería los delicados oídos de Brunilda, la más horrorosa.

A pesar de no tener ojos, la mayoría de las veces, podía oír los extraños hechizos y maleficios que practicaban. Lo más peculiar, sin embargo, era escuchar las voces familiares de las personas que frecuentaban a las brujas. El tono grave y áspero de Tom, el herrero del pueblo, con sus problemas de sueño.

“Paso horas si poder cerrar los ojos”, decía

La voz chillona de Henrienta y sus problemas de amor, buscando conquistar al idiota de Erick.

“Hago lo imposible pero sigue sin fijarse en mí”, contaba la desdichada

La graciosa pronunciación gutural de Johan, el panadero, y sus problemas de sobrepeso.

“Parrecierra que hasta el agua me enggorrda”, comentaba graciosamente

Los remedios y brebajes que brindaban como solución jamás eran gratuitos, y peor aún, sus efectos no eran duraderos. Y por alguna razón, que yo desconocía, sus víctimas regresaban encantados en seguir gastando su dinero en más remedios y amuletos.

¿Cómo me convertí en gato? Fue una experiencia muy divertida. Ocurrió durante altas horas de la noche. Estaba barriendo la cocina y Agatha se había levantado, de pésimo humor, por cierto.

“Deja de levantar el polvo”, me gritó, “Voy a hacerme una taza de té”, dijo

Todo estaba muy tranquilo, Agatha rumiaba su taza de té cuando de pronto ambos escuchamos un pequeño chillido. Si hubiese tenido cuerpo, de seguro me habría caído de espalda y doblado de la risa, al presenciar la escena que montó la obesa bruja. Descubrí que tenía un miedo irracional a los ratones. Gritó histérica, haciendo una alharaca tan fuerte que de ser posible, quizás hasta los habitantes de Shadowbrook se habrían despertado a pesar lo lejos que nos encontrábamos.

Enseguida, Griselda y Brunilda se despertaron por el escándalo de Agatha y entraron corriendo para ver qué sucedía.

“¿Qué demonios haces montada en la mesa?” interrogó Griselda sorprendida

Agatha me zarandeaba de un lado al otro, golpeando mis cerdas contra el piso, una y otra vez.

“¡Un ratón! ¡Un ratón!” No paraba de gritar la neurótica

Brunilda puso sus ojos en blanco

“¡Por las barbas del mismísimo Belcebú!”, expresó obstinada Griselda, “Trae acá esa escoba”, dijo arrancándome de los dedos de salchicha de Agatha.

Me dejó en el suelo y conjuró unas palabras extrañas. Sentí como mi cuerpo rígido comenzaba a moldearse en algo más flexible, la madera se convirtió en carne y hueso, y las cerdas se extendieron por todo mi cuerpo en forma de pelaje. Mis ojos se adaptaron a la luz de las lámparas de aceite que colgaban del techo. Había un gran caldero negro burbujeando sobre la chimenea. Telarañas colgaban de cada rincón, y una fina capa de polvo cubría todo. Mi nariz se arrugó al sentir las apestosas fragancias y esencias que flotaban en la cocina. Frascos llenos de hierbas y especias arrumados sobre una repisa.

De pronto caí en cuenta.

“¡Tengo ojos y nariz!”, exclamé alegre, poniéndome visco tratando de ver mi nariz, moviendo mis bigotes de un lado al otro.

Agatha, con su paciencia agotada, se volvió hacia mí, furiosa. "¡Deja de holgazanear! Ve y atrapa a esas alimañas," ordenó.

“Sí, señora”, respondí de inmediato

“¡Puedo hablar!”, cayendo en cuenta de lo obvio

“¡Vete ya!” gritaron las tres al unísono. Di un brinco y me eché a correr tras las bestias que sembraban el terror en el alma de Agatha, si es que se puede decir que semejante ser tenía alguna. Sin embargo, las terribles criaturas resultaron ser unos diminutos ratoncitos.

A partir de ese día, no volvieron a cambiar mi forma. Ser gato no era del todo malo. Durante el día, la mayor parte del tiempo me la pasaba holgazaneando, sobre todo cuando no estaban las odiosas brujas cerca. También descubrí que mi larga cola me servía para tomar cosas, era como tener un tercer brazo. Además, podía saltar muy alto, y siempre, siempre aterrizaba en mis cuatros patas sin importar desde donde cayera.

Viviendo con las tres mujeres, descubrí que los rumores acerca de las brujas eran ciertos; solían ser solitarias, rencorosas, vanidosas, malévolas, manipuladoras, desconfiadas, incluso entre ellas, e indudablemente crueles. Sin embargo, con el tiempo, comencé a ver otro aspecto de ellas que desconocía. Una tarde, me había escondido bajo la cama de Agatha. Dormida, se movía de un lado al otro, inquieta, haciendo crujir la madera de la cama, estaba por huir pensando que podía morir aplastado, cuando, intrigado, al oírla gritar: “¡No soy un monstruo!” y otras veces, entre sollozos, suplicaba “¡Mi casa no la quemen, por favor!”. Quedé boquiabierto.

También conocí el secreto que guardaba Griselda, cuando por accidente pregunté por una extraña cicatriz que tenía en un costado, mientras cocinaba una extraña poción. Me echó una mirada fulminante. "Es una marca de nacimiento,” escarmentó, ”y estuve a punto de perder mi vida por ella", concluyó amenazando con un cuchillo. Me desaparecí de inmediato.

Incluso Brunilda, la más intimidante y horrorosa de las tres, tenía un pasado terrible. Atesoraba en su habitación una muñeca de trapo bastante desgastada. Solía dormir con ella y maldecía entre sueños a los cazadores de brujas.

Con el tiempo me acostumbré a vivir con ellas y sus excéntricos humores. Normalmente en el día debía ser cuidadoso y no atravesarme en el camino de ninguna de las tres. Por las noches, todo era distinto. Siempre y cuando, las brujas no hicieran de las suyas, casteando hechizos, conjuros o invocando demonios; actividad que realizaban ocasionalmente de noche. Pero mayormente solían dormir, según ellas para conservar su belleza, algo que, particularmente, no veía donde la escondían, con sus figuras cada vez más encorvadas, su piel cadavérica, sus narices ganchudas y largas, además de sus cejas pobladas y fruncidas, sin mencionar sus notables lunares. Como sea, esos momentos eran propicios para escabullirme y hacer de las mías.

Una noche, me armé de valor y decidí huir de su morada y dirigirme hacia Shadowbrook. Por un momento imaginé ser libre de volver a casa, ver todos esos sitios familiares donde solía vagar; la plaza, el viejo pozo, la imponente iglesia, las viejas casas de piedra y sus chimeneas siempre humeantes, llenando el aire con el característico olor a leña quemada. Inicialmente quise quedarme, pero me decepcionó descubrir que seguía siendo el mismo sitio aburrido y supersticioso de siempre, nada había cambiado. Por donde pasaba, la gente huía de mí, llenos de pavor, haciéndose cruces con sus manos sobre sus pechos o apuntándome con algún amuleto. Me entristeció saber que mi padre seguía emborrachándose por las noches hasta perder el sentido. Por otro lado, creí que habría personas buscándome angustiados por mi ausencia, pero no fue así. Todos en el pueblo seguían ocupados en sus propios problemas y sin más me habían olvidado. Cabizbajo decidí volver con las brujas.

De regreso, no pude evitar escuchar una señora escarmentando a un pequeño chico.

“No vayas muy lejos, ya es de noche”, le advertía al niño, “recuerda lo que le pasó al holgazán de Jacob, el mismo bosque se lo tragó”

Me conformé pensando que al menos me recordaban como una leyenda.

Deambulé entre las sombras de las casas apurando el paso, pensando en mi futuro, cuando escuché una dulce voz.

“Hola, pequeño. ¿Estás perdido?” me preguntó una chica de cabello largo. Sus enormes ojos azules brillaron a la luz de la lámpara que sostenía.

“¿Tienes hambre?” indicó ofreciéndome un trozo de carne seca.

Quise huir pero su sonrisa encantadora y mi estómago rugiendo como piedra de molino, me convencieron de quedarme. Su actitud cariñosa, y sus suaves caricias me encantaron. Mi cuerpo se encorvaba cada vez que pasaba su mano por mi espalda. Y cuando me levantaba entre sus brazos, me derretía y ronroneaba al compás de sus arrullos.

Decidí volver todas las noches a visitar a la hermosa doncella y antes del amanecer, regresaba a la guarida de las brujas. Todo iba de maravillas. Hasta que una vez, cometí el terrible error de responderle cuando preguntó si tenía hambre.

“¿Puedes hablar?” exclamó sorprendida pero no asustada

Fascinada, escuchó atenta toda mi historia hasta el presente día. Para mi sorpresa, fijo su mirada en mis ojos, atravesando mi alma.

“No te preocupes. Yo me encargaré de que recuperes tu forma original”

No me imaginaba cómo, pero resultó que la angelical criatura que había conocido, realmente era una despiadada cazadora de brujas contratada por el alcalde. Y sin darme cuenta, me siguió hasta la morada de las brujas.

El día apenas comenzaba, las tres brujas preparaban su desayuno favorito, sopa de ancas de rana y ojos de sapo. No sabía del todo mal, por cierto. Yo observaba con desde mi escondite. A pesar de estar soñoliento, las voces de las brujas, me estremecían cada vez que alzaban su voz mientras maquinaban lo que harían ese día. De pronto, la puerta se vino abajo con un gran estruendo. Me agazape, aun mas adentro de mi escondite. Frente a mí, comenzó la violenta batalla. Rayos de colores iban y venían haciendo pedazos los estantes y cachivaches que acumulaban Griselda. Maleficios y conjuros resonaban en las paredes mohosas de la casa. Sin más que contar, boquiabierto y con las patas en la cabeza, vi como la cazadora continuaba repeliendo los hechizos que casteaban las brujas, ganando terreno.

Finalmente, nos atrincheramos al fondo de la madriguera

Malherida, Griselda gritó

“¡Gato, ve por la poción sanadora!”

Corrí esquivando los rayos y dagas de la cazadora. Salté sobre el estante de pociones. Cada poción llevaba su nombre escrito en letras claras. Aprensivo y angustiado, husmé deprisa entre los frascos, sin embargo, las letras danzaron ante mis ojos e inevitablemente las palabras no tuvieron sentido. Debí haber prestado más atención a las clases en la escuela, me reprendí. Desesperado usé mi cola y lancé las pociones una por una hacia la cazadora. Estallaban en nubes de colores una tras otra. Afortunadamente, los alargados dedos de Griselda lograron atrapar un frasco. Tras un conjuro, las tres brujas desaparecieron tras una gran nube de humo purpura.

Tenía un gran peso en mi corazón después de atestiguar lo que había acontecido. No es que esté de parte de las brujas, pero en mi opinión, eran tan humanas como cualquier otra persona. La muerte no era el castigo que tenía en mente para ellas. Ante la extenuante batalla, no tuve tiempo de pensar cómo volvería a ser humano, ahora que las brujas habían desaparecido.

Seguí observando a la cazadora. Su rostro se relajó tras cerciorarse que la casa estaba vacía. Su temple de acero volvió a ser el dulce rostro de la chica que había conocido. Sus ojos celestes se fijaron en mí.

“Sé que has estado bajo el hechizo de las brujas”, dijo con su dulce voz, “Todo este tiempo has sido víctima de ellas. Pero ya no más, he traído la cura para tu desgracia”.

Se hincó de rodillas y extendió sus manos hacia mí

“Ven, te libraré de esa maldición”, aseguró

Parecía honesta su propuesta y en verdad yo había sido víctima de las brujas. Por qué no habría de creerle a esta hermosa doncella que luchaba contra las artes oscuras. Por un momento me alegré al pensar que volvería a ser humano, aunque particularmente, me gustaba ser gato. Sentí de nuevo el calor de sus brazos y sus dulces caricias. Desafortunadamente, un sabor metálico llegó hasta mi boca cuando sentí el frio acero atravesando mi cuerpo.

“Requiescat in pace”, fue lo último que le escuché decir antes de que mis ojos se cerraran.

Cuando me desperté, una oscuridad terrible me arropaba, de inmediato descubrí que estaba totalmente cubierto de tierra, entré en pánico y desesperado escarbé mi salida hacia la superficie con la ayuda de mis cuatro patas. Finalmente, el aire frío de la noche llenó mis pulmones. Sacudí los terrones de tierra de mi cuerpo y mis orejas. Estaba vivo. Corrí buscando la morada de las brujas. Eran un montón de cenizas cuando llegué.

Sin tener a donde ir, decidí dejar Shadowbrook. Jamás volví a ver a las brujas. El tiempo se escurrió, ante mi larga búsqueda por volver a ser un humano, el mundo era más grande de lo que imaginé. Los caballos fueron reemplazados por maquinas veloces. La noche y el día se hicieron uno al aparecer la bombilla eléctrica. Los avances tecnológicos continuaron. Los seres mitológicos y las supersticiones quedaron en el pasado. Las personas dejaron de creer en brujas y se ocuparon en hacer dinero mientras podían.

Una tarde cualquiera, me acicalaba sentado en los escalones de la entrada de un pequeño edificio de 5 pisos, en una provincia española. Un chico de barba fumaba un apestoso cigarrillo mi lado. De pronto, dos vehículos colisionaron en la calle frente a nosotros haciéndose añicos.

“¡Santa vaca!”, dije sorprendido

“Esta hierba sí que está aliñada, hermano”, comentó el chico, “acabo de escucharte hablar”

Puse los ojos en blanco. Aquí vamos de nuevo, me dije a mi mismo.

Hasta la próxima.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments