The ink well fiction. Not well stolen.

The song rehearsal always goes well with my group feeling excited after each day’s practice.

It used to be a local song competition organized just once every year, where different groups come in with the best of their songs, drumming and miming skills.

The best usually goes home with a gift but this year's competition was exceptional as the prize was huge and mouth watering.

Though my group and I have been doing very well, the results we got from our previous competition tells that.

I have put so much energy to see that it becomes a success from my end.

I have got sleepless nights to come up with something no one has ever done.

New pattern of drumming, New song composed by me and a sophisticated mimin to back up the songs but then it's a local drum that needs two drummers, I invites Joe, a good friend of mine who also is a good drummer, but also has his group but then Joe doesn't need me since he has other drummers in his group.

My tight schedule will not allow me to visit my friends group to see how far with their rehearsals, he was even glad I didn't.

Little did I know that my nonchalant attitude towards ignoring Joe’s presence in my group will turn out to be a thorn in my neck. Even though I was the one who invited him on a regular basis.

Days passed,weeks passed,months passed as we came close to the day of the competition.

We did our practice making the best out of our best to ensure that it comes in our favor, I kept encouraging my subordinates to put in their best towards this upcoming competition.

The day for the competition finally came as we went there to showcase what we have, not just show but also emerge as the winner.
I could bet that no one has got an idea better than mine, my perception about it was totally out of the box.

But then the competitors are expected to present according to their arrival time.

So it's a first come, first serve thing.

When we arrived at the competition ground we got registered as No 7 out of seven competitors. Joe and his crew were registered as number 3 which means they will have to present before my crew.

I wasn't disturbed with the number we got registered with as I believe we have still got the best that will wow the audience and I think that should come as the last show, so I was cool with it.

The first group presented it was nothing compared to what we have, then the second group came up but still my crew has got more confidence as the second crew did even worse than the first, then the third which was Joe's crew something astonishing happened as what Joe's crew presented was a clear replica of what we are to present.

Source

My crew grew annoyed and wanted to lose it but as a leader I have to calm them down even though I also was heartbroken but then I still have to summon some courage so they don't lose total hope.

Then the 4th, 5th, 6th and then our turn, we presented what we have got, I told my crew was
“ please let's present as if we are the first to present what we have got even though we already have someone present exactly” and I assure them of an unbeatable point. That's only if they adhere to my advice.

“Put on a smiling face. Let's do this.” I cheered them up.

We presented ours and made sure we did it very well.

The competition later came to an end and it was time for results to be announced.

My crew could not believe it when the judges announced our name as the winner of the competition with about 93% as the first and the second was nowhere close to us as they scored 68% the third and the rest is nothing to talk about.

The Judges sure know what is authentic and what is been plagiarized, Joe couldn't look at me in the face but then I never got an issue with him since my aim for the competition has been achieved his crew was not even mentioned among the first 3 he was ashamed of his act, he apologized for his act and we became cool even though he got me annoyed.

Then I suggested that the next competition is going to be a hit as we will join forces to make sure we give out the best and whatever we get from it will be shared equally amongst the 2 groups.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center