Mr Stefan's Dream

pexels-photo-4946621.jpeg

Pexels

Deep in my heart, I know that I'm special and anything I lay my hands on will turn to gold. My life has been really beautiful. I built the most luxurious mansion in my town, I'm called the most handsome young man in the whole of my area. Girls have to control themselves when they see me, they just want to jump at me and get a taste of my sweetness. My beards are polished, my skin is diamond, my voice is thunder, my gaze is lightning.

I have been able to defeat the greatest enemy of man, that's himself. I've learned over time that if I don't control my demons, my demons will control me. People ask how come I'm so prosperous and yet so rude, wicked and pompous, but they'll never get it even if I explained the secret to them. It sounds like music to them when I say conquer yourself first and you'll conquer the world. My only demon I've not been able to control is my demon of pride.

My dad is late, but his best friend has always been like a father figure in my life, and I've made sure that he gets the best that life has to offer, as I have the money to make it so. Yesterday, he told me that he had a bad dream about me, and in his dream he saw me been shot in my right shoulder, and when he was coming to my rescue the attackers told him to stay away, if not they'll shoot him. They said that I've allowed pride take over me.

And the consequence for all my rudeness and arrogance in this town is my death. And before he could make a move towards rescuing me, he said that - they shot me in the head. Mr Stefan who was always the right hand man of my father, said to me

"Gabriel, you're not like a son to me, I see you as my son". He said "come closer", when I went closer to him, his body language was really terrifying. He placed his right hand on my shoulder and said "let go of your pride son".

Mr Stefan warned me that he also had a bad dream about my dad, and told him, but he didn't listen and not long after, his untimely death followed. His words resonance in my heart. I arrived home, I put on my massive television and sat on my soft expensive leather chair to watch a movie and perhaps get my mind away from Mr Stefan's scary words. But nothing I watched made me any less tensed. I felt lost in my own mind for the first time in my life. I felt in bondage.

I know that I must change my ways if not I'll experience similar fate as my father. "Mr Stefan doesn't talk much, any time he says something, it must be taken seriously". So I decided to call the young men in my neighborhood and gave money to them to go round the town and tell everyone that I'll be throwing a big party and giving help to those in difficult financial situation. Words went round. "I'm sure that people will be surprised "

They've always seen me as that rude, wealthy and arrogant young man, who never helps nobody. "I've been a very selfish person, and proud one. I only think of myself". I've taken away girls from their boyfriends, and had my way with many money craving married women in my town and beyond. I've been really bad.

The party has started and indeed my large acres of land and mansion is deserving for the large crowd of people that have showed up. My angle is to apologize to my town people.

I have women cooking all types of foods. The meats and drinks are flowing like waterfall. Everyone is partying happily. In the middle of the party, I asked the DJ to pause the music, and I addressed my town people.

"I know that I've not been a humble and kind person all these years, but I'll make a change from today henceforth. I am wealthy, and I'll be throwing a big party every month, engaging in community service and helping those in need". The crowd screamed of joy.

They started shouting my name "Gabriel, Gabriel, Gabriel". I've never felt so much fulfilment in my life. I never knew that there's joy in been good. Mr Stefan called me to the side and said "you've done well son".

Happy that I have changed my fate, the next morning, I am going out in my sport car to conduct business outside town, and suddenly men with guns blocked the road, as though they were expecting me. "It's an ambush, o no".

I quickly want to reverse back. Looking at my rear mirror, men also standing with guns pointing at my car. Scared that this is definitely my end. I opened my door and came out. One of the men, I assume the leader walked angrily towards me. He looked at me and said "words of your pride and wickedness have travelled far. The husband of one of the women you've laid with sent us to end your life. Stay your goodbye to life". I couldn't say a word, I could not even beg for my own life, I was lost.

Suddenly one of the men, who blocked me from the back said

"Wait boss, this is the man's party I came to last night. I told you about this man who apologized to this whole town for his wrong ways and promises to make a change".

The boss said " yes, you did". "This is definitely the man", he said. And the boss breath down, and lowered his gun, and asked me "Will you keep to your promise and change your ways?". I managed to squeeze out the word "yes".

And he said "get into your car, and get out of here, your apology of yesterday has saved your life". I was still unable to move. He then screamed " leave now". And my stillness was broken - in a blitz, I got into my car, and drove away, as my hands were shaking on the wheels. "If not for Mr Stefan, I would have been killed today".

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center