This content got low rating by people.

Old Friend

Source

Her vision was blurry, her breath was high. She felt weak on her hands and limbs. She tried opening her eyes but her eyelids felt heavy. It felt as if she was hit by a truck.

Unconscious of her surroundings she tried opening her eyes again. This time she put so much strength and will to it. Gently she could pick an image of a human clothed in white standing before her. The image was smiling, she tried to smile back even though she still had no idea of what was going on or where she was.
Might be her guiding angel ready to lead her into heaven she thought.

"Am I dead?" She asked the still blurry looking human standing feet's away from here.

"No, not at all," the soft angelic voice standing before her said" I'll go get tell the doctor you're awake now"

"Doctor?" Now her vision was clearer. She watched as the image in white which appeared now to be a nurse walked away from her before she could ask her next question. "What happened?How did I get here?". She asked again to the the nurse who was already out of the room.

She was lost, lost as to what happened to her. She tried getting up again but just as the first time her legs were numb. She grunted and lay back in the bed. Then she looked at her legs, they seemed okay. She tried wiggling her toes and they moved. Her toes wiggled. She smiled and lay back consoling herself in the fact that they're still alive.

She felt the silence engulf the room. She shut her eyes and took a deep breath. Then she heard it, a voice. She scanned the room with her eyes. It looked empty apart from medical equipment. She tried shutting her eyes again when the voice came again. This time it called her name.

"Daisy" the tiny fragile voice called.

She turned to the direction of the voice. And just at her left not so far away from the curtain that was used to demarcate the room was an old lady Lying helplessly on the bed. She could tell she knew the lady from somewhere. She tried hard to recall. Then it struck her, it was Susan the old lady from the bus. They had both boarded, traveling interstate.

"Susan, But how?" Daisy called back.

But how did they end up together in the same hospital room? Must be the crazy wishbone wish of some ancient Romans tradition she made with Susan.

It was early in the morning, she had an interview in the neighbouring state. She had tried boarding the train but by the time she got to the train station. The train heading to her destination had already left.

She knew she was already running late so she opted for the bus. Luckily for her she got the last ticket of the bus she boarded. And sitting beside her seat was Susan. She could remember the innocent and inviting smile Susan had given her as she walked up to her seat which she smiled back.

Source

"First time traveling in a bus?" Susan asked her.

"No, no, why?"

"I know that face. Mutay always has that look whenever it is his first time."

"Mutay?" Daisy asked

"My son," the old lady laughed as she unravelled the contents of her food pack. "Sorry, how could I have thought you knew him? People say I do that a lot. Although I don't think so, I just try to be friends with everyone I meet because I think everyone needs a friend to ease their struggles. Ever since I lost my friend I've had to struggle through something alone, like how I'm traveling alone. She would have insisted on traveling with me" she said in her slow, small voice.

"It's alright," Daisy replied. She watched as the old lady continued struggling to open her food pack. "Can I?" Daisy offered to help as she picked up the pack and opened it.

Carefully the old lady picked one of the contents of her pack. They were fried chicken and munched on it. Then she stared at Daisy and offered her some.

"No, I'm fine" Daisy declined.

"I insist," Susan said, pushing her pack to her face.

Daisy reluctantly picked one out of the pack.

"You've got the wishbone" with glee in her eyes Susan said

" Wishbone?" Daisy wondered what she meant. "What's that"

"Eh, according to my late friend, Estey, she said that uh.. the Ancient Romans always believed that chicken bones held the power of good fortune. And when two people pull apart a wishbone, the person who gets the bigger share gets a wish granted."

"But we didn't pull it apart,".

"I know but you've got the bigger share. Go on make a wish".

"Uhm. Okay. I wish for better friendship or friends" Daisy muttered nervously.

"Awwn, that's so sweet" Susan said and leaned on Daisy's shoulder. Almost immediately she snored.

"Wow, just like that, she's asleep". Daisy smiled and helped her pack her stuff back into her food pack.

Few minutes after Daisy slept off too. That was the last thing she could remember.

Just then the nurse returned back into the room with the doctor. Didy watched as the wakked up to her.

"Miss Daisy. I'm glad you're okay" it was the doctor.

"Can I know how I ended up here?" Daisy asked instead.

"You mean you have no memory of what happened?"

"Would I ask if I knew"

"Oh, okay. You both and some others in different rooms were rushed in here. I heard your bus got in an accident"

Daisy was mute. The fact that she didn't know how or when it happened l. Must be immediately she slept off too.

"The good thing is that you're awake. The same with your roomie over there" they doctor said leaving Daisy's bed after examining her and walking over to Susan's bed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center