A Reunion To Remember

pexels-photo-7130035.jpeg
Source

The three Ems, that's what everyone called us.
We were inseperable. We shared almost everything. I don't know how the universe did it but somehow three girls that shared the same first two letters of their name, also had the same birthday were placed in together.

It was inevitable, we had to be friends and for the next seventeen years of our lifes, that's how it was.
Until……

Emily had always been the outgoing and outspoken one, president of the drama club, prom queen, head cheer. Those were all titles she held in high school. She couldn't go a day without looking pretty even though she had to stay home all through that day.

Emma was just a little bit different, although she shared in the popularity, she was on the athletic side of it. Captain of the swim team and girl's basketball team.

I was just me. No leadership role, the only thing I was good at was using a pen. I hated confrontations, attention and most of all I hated when I had to speak in public.

We were three girls that were not so alike but we made it work, it was that way all through high school, right to the same college where our friendship ended and you could guess why, it was all because for the first time in our lifes, someone had noticed me not her.

The last thing Emily said to me was, "I wish I had never met you".
Emma had stood on the sidelines watching and eventually, when it came down to choosing between one of us, she had done the noble thing. Not picked a side and that day had marked the end of our friendship.

I stared at the invitation card in my hand for the third time in a row that week.
"If you keep staring at it like that, you'll drill a hole into it".
I turned to my husband, "I was just admiring the intricate details".
He scoffed, "You know you want to go, after all it's written there, It's a reunion you don't want to miss and don't stay back because you are afraid of her. You did nothing wrong".

He had always been my weak spot, right from college when he had convinced me that it was possible for the most popular boy in school to like the girl with baggy clothes.
Yes, we were your typical cliche story.
Unfortunately, Emily had wanted it to be the popular boy likes the popular girl.

So it wasn't a surprise to me when a few days later, I was sitting outside my old high school staring at Reunion spelt out in big bright letters.
It was a bad idea, I told myself and was about to turn my car around when someone knocked at my window. I looked out and I was met with the smiling face of Emma.
My heart hurt

I really missed her. We didn't have any problem but I understood why she did what she did.
"Well, are you going to seat in your car all day or are you going to come in?"
I got out of my car. "Wow, I never thought I'd see the day when Ember Anderson would wear clothes that fit".
I laughed, "I missed you Em".
She smiled sadly.

We went in and everywhere was buzzing with activities. Ten years had really changed everyone.
I looked around for her, there was no sight so I sighed in relief.
"How's Austin?"
I smiled at the mention of my husband.
"He's fine".

"You know Ember, I couldn't pick between you two. That has never been who I am but I want you to know that you did nothing wrong and Emily was just being a-", she paused.
"Oh don't stop on my account. I would really like to hear the rest of what you were about to say".

"Emily, it's nice to see you too after ten years".
She glared at Emma before turning to me, "I thought ten years later with all the books you've written, you'd be a best selling author by now".
How did I not ever hear the snarkiness when she spoke before

Ten years later and I hadn't changed much. I still hated confrontations so Emma spoke for me, "We are all here to celebrate Emily, so if you are going to keep this your bad energy going, then we are going to the other side of the room".
She dragged me along.

The night proceeded after that and I would admit, it was really a night to remember. I even managed to have a conversation with five of my ex classmates. It was a big accomplishment so yes I counted.
I was having a good time until Emily "accidentally" spilled her drink on me.

With a snarky smile, she said, "I'm sorry. I didn't see you there" and I snapped.
"I have never done anything wrong to you Emily. It's not my fault Austin liked me, not you. It's not my fault he chose me not you and I thought you would have matured but ten years later, you're still the same, a self absorbed girl that sees no one else but herself but I'm done with it Emily. We are not kids anymore, if you don't stop to think about anyone but yourself, you'll end up alone".

I turned and left, leaving everyone staring.
I was Ember Anderson, the girl that never spoke in high school. I guess I had changed after all.

I had spent all these years blaming myself for what happened to our friendship but I had been wrong to do so.
I never betrayed her, I didn't steal him. He had just simply liked me and five years later he had married me.

"Are you okay?" Emma ran up to me.
"I'm fine. I just have to get out of here".
"She had always been like that you know and I should have sided with you back then".

"It's fine Em. I understood why you did it. Do you want to have coffee with me before I leave tomorrow? We could catch up and you can tell me how life as a star athlete is".
"I would really love that".

It was indeed a reunion I didn't want to miss. I finally stood up to Emily and rekindled my friendship with Emma.
pexels-photo-9893996.jpeg
Source

I looked down at her message as my husband hugged me, asking me to be her Chief maid for her wedding and I replied with a definite yes.
Life couldn't be more perfect.
Oh and did I mention my first book just sold out?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center