Double Throw


Modun Studio

Double Throw

How can she lock me in the house when she knows I'm still sleeping? She should have known that I would be late for work.

I go to work at 6 am every day except for Saturdays and Sundays when I have to rest. I have been surfing the internet while in the office but must rest just like a wounded lion at home. After taking my food, I have no other thing to do other than sleep.

My wife, Mirabel, knows the exact time I do wake up and must prepare my food as early as possible. Although she is not always aware of the time I do go to work because she might have still been enjoying her sleep. She will wake up so early and set my food and off to bed again. She is into fashion design and has a shop where she designed clothes for customers.

When I was back from work, my wife had to prepare in the evening. She called me to the dining room but I was so tired. It took me time to attend to her call. While eating, I dozed off leaving the food behind. I had to finish up, drink water, and went off to bed.

While on my bed, I remembered a mail I needed to attend to. It was an important email from a client in my company. I was very sure Mrs. Ken had been expecting my message, I said quietly to myself.

I opened my email and found some other messages lined up for me to tend to. How am I going to attend to all these messages? I had no choice other than to do the needful. I had to open Mrs. Ken's message and reply to her. It took me more than an hour to get her message prepared. After sending her the mail, I clicked on Mrs. Nat's mail. This woman is a stubborn type and one must not fail to attend to her or else my company would be preparing to lose their best customer.

I replied to the next customer and others. I slept when it was 2:30 AM. This was so late. I slept just like a wounded lion and someone who has not slept for the past five days forgot that I have to go to work very early in the morning.

Meanwhile, my wife slept in her room. She woke up and ate and left for work. She locked the door outside forgetting to check if I'm still at home. When it was 9 am, this was when I remembered that I have to go to work. I moved straight to the bathroom and took my bath in a rush. I wore my clothes just like someone who has offended the clothes. Immediately, I got to the door, I discovered that it had been locked from the outside. I have no spare keys except the one with my wife. The spare key I had was mistakenly left in the office four days ago and could not remember to pick it up from the office.

I was so mad and tried to call my wife, but her phone was switched off. I remembered that anytime she is at work, her phone is always switched off especially at this time just because of some unwanted customers.

I was just at home infuriated and at this same time confused. Again, I tried to call my office, but no one would pick up and no one would call to ask why I'm not in the office.

Ah!! Ah!! How come I forgot totally? The kitchen door is an exit. This time it was about some minutes past 9. I packed my bag and off I went.

I met yet another obstruction which got me almost mad. The fence has an automatic electric protector. The gate was locked. I was shouting and ranting inside without knowing what to do. I tried to call my wife once again and her number went through, but this time she was unable to answer her calls. I gave her a series of missed calls and dropped messages and yet no response. I waited for yet another 2 hours.

The fact remains that I must go to work no matter the situation. There was no way out and I was fed up. As I was going inside the house, I heard a sound from the gate. I waited to see who that was. Fortunately, it was my wife. I got nothing to say to her instead I flew out and straight to the road where I got a cab. I never mind the cost as far as I am going to get to the office.

When I alighted, I saw that the office gate was locked. Ah… what happened? I asked myself. Do they lock the gate just to prevent me from entering? I began to shake as my job is so important to me. I was not ready to lose my job. What a grave mistake I have made. I knocked but the security was nowhere to be found. His phone was switched off. I tried to call my boss but was not answering. Ye….what have I done? I have sacked myself from work. I know how harsh my boss is but I don't think he has been so tough with me.

I tried to call once again and could not answer. I called my friend and immediately he answered.

Oh…thank God you answered. Please, what's happening? The office gate is locked and the gate man is nowhere to be found. Please, can you come out to open the door for me? I said with an element of fear in me. My voice was cracking and skipping and seemed just like someone who wants to cry.

Dan replied,

Ah ah!! Hahahahaha… Are you in the office?

I answered him politely. Yes, I'm, and you?

He replied,

Right now, I'm in the bar enjoying myself. Today is Saturday. It's a relaxing day.

What???

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center