A Get Together

Fauxels
A Get Together

It would be a bad habit for me if I refused to join my family for this year's reunion as a yearly routine. I just hope my exams do not fall on this day which Grandpa has fixed. April has been a season of rain and a festive period. Amara said to her mum while on the phone.

Making it a success to come around would be the best option but not coming at all would render you useless in the eyes of your grandpa. You should know how he behaved when it comes to the aspect of not fulfilling promises. Amara's mum responded from her end.

Amara began to work towards attending the family reunion as she must prepare her grandpa's favorite. Although she is his favorite when it comes to the grandchildren. When she checked her timetable, her face changed to someone ready to faint. These people have disorganized my plans. After a week, she heard the timetable had been changed. She checked and this time, it was a relief to her as she would have been through with her papers before the family reunion's D-Day.

Now that I'm done with my exams, I have to go home to get prepared. Amara said to her friend Hanna who had the intention of attending the family reunion with her friend as a guest, but one way her plans got thwarted.

Amara got home and saw different kinds of works on a single file waiting for her. How am I going to go about all these works without needing any help? She asked her mum. Seeing the line of plates she had to wash and the pepper she had to grind as well as the clothes she had to wash got her stammering.

"Mmm… Mum!!! Hope Sara is around"? She asked her mum.

Do you want to wash it all alone? Her mum asked.

Ah..!! These are too much for only me.

She once again gazed at the piles of clothes and the heap of clothes mounted just like the mountain Kilimanjaro at the veranda. She shook her head and zoomed off to her room. She changed her clothes and went straight to her grandfather's room.

"Grandpa!!!" She called.

Her grandpa answered with excitement "My daughter, welcome home". I thought you had forgotten about the family reunion. "Grandpa, how would I forget it?" It's a day no one would forget. A day when I have to see all my uncles, my elder brothers and sisters, my Aunt, and everyone related to me. Eunice is also going to come. Grandpa, don't you remember the way I always behave with Eunice, my niece? I'm going to trouble Uncle Sam and all my uncles must fill up my pocket before they take their leave or else, I won't let them go. Amara said.

I trust you, Grandpa responded.

Grandpa please, permit me to leave for my house chores. Amara said.

Grandpa permitted Amara while still in the mood of excitement. Although, he doesn't want her to leave her presence for just one second. He carried his plastic chair and drifted closer to Amara and Sara. They continued with their conversation while she proceeded with her house chores with her younger sister, Sara. Grandpa made them work without seizing as he proceeded in telling them stories.

All the family members have arrived and Amara welcomes them one by one, letting them know her mind when they are ready to leave.

Now, it's the day, and everyone has prepared for the day but is still left with food preparation. It was not too long, the weather changed suddenly showing a sign of wanting to drop heavily. The canopy Tents they set outside, the table clothes, and some of the plastic plates got flung off by the heavy wind which was accompanied by a heavy downpour.

"How can this happen on a great day like this?" This would be the first time we would be experiencing a change in the weather while at this family reunion. How are we going to go about it? Uncle Sam asked Grandpa.

The rain cannot be a problem, we will have it no matter the condition. Grandpa said with all believe that the rain is going to subside.

After a few hours, the weather was sunny and the party began.

It's an avenue to pour out your mind and tell out what would make the family progress. They all said their minds and their respective lapses.

It's time to serve food, the weather yet again was a pal. No one believed it would drop as it had dropped heavily some hours back. They forgot to carry the cooler filled with fried rice and chicken as well as another cooler filled up with soup. They only cared about the canopies and table covers. The tough side of it was that Amara forgot to cover the cooler of soup. The whole nicely and costly prepared soup with a fine aroma which was overtaken by the air got mixed up with water. No one was able to eat the soup.

Uncle Sam only needed the soup to eat semolina and Amara's first Aunt, Maya also preferred eating the same as Uncle Sam.

Uncle Sam's and Aunt Maya's faces were just like the heavens were going to fall. It was just as if another stage of rain was about to drop.

Who left the cooler of soup in the rain? Uncle Sam asked.

Maya followed suit by asking the same question.

Amara was so afraid of answering them. She was shivering where she was and raised her hands signifying she was the one who left the cooler of soup open.

They all managed to eat the fried rice. Amara apologized for the mistake she had made.

Would they be able to fill up my pocket before they leave? Amara soliloquized.

At last, she answered and her pocket was filled.

What a sad but happy family reunion this year!! Grandpa said.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center