Tessa's First Flight Experience.

I worked as HR for Bells and Tinsel for three years, and while working, I did my best to remain diligent at all costs because I believe in posterity.

One fateful day at work, Mr. Sam, the HR director, called me into his office for a brief discussion, and I began to wonder what it was all about.

"Have your seat, Miss Tessa; how are you doing today?" He wore a very beautiful smile as he asked sincerely about my welfare, and that gesture kept me very relaxed.

"I am doing great, sir," I responded while I sat down on one of the ergonomic chairs just in front of Mr.Sam.

"You might be wondering why I wanted to have a brief discussion with you this morning, aside from the meeting schedules we regularly have." His gaze was fixed on me, and I didn't want to look like I lacked some confidence, so I stared right back, eyeballs to eyeballs. "Yes Sir."

"Okay, have this; tell me what you think after reading through." He handed me a brown envelope, and in all curiosity, I opened the envelope as soon as I felt it on my palm and had my eyes open to see what was right in there.

"Dear Miss Tessa,
We are pleased to inform you that because of your integrity and diligence over the years, you have proven to us that you are the best fit to work in Texas, our new international branch, as the HR director to oversee the affairs of the company and ensure it maintains its reputation. You have the privilege of hiring staff, and another incentive will be attached to your promotion. Please note that your visa and flight ticket will be taken care of if you are interested in the offer.

Board of Directors,
Bell & Tinsel."

I jumped in excitement because I had never flown by aeroplane before in my entire life, and Texas? That was my dream destination right from when I was a kid. Seeing everything fall into the right places left me so emotional that I got on my knees to thank Mr Sam, who represented the board of directors.
"I am so interested, sir. Thank you so much, sir." I showed my gratitude through my gestures and words of mouth, which left a beautiful smile on Mr. Sam's face.

"We will start processing your visa, in three weeks, you should be in Texas as the HR director," Mr. Sam replied as he began to dial a certain number on his phone. "Congratulations, Tessa. You may leave now."

As soon as I got into my office, I began dreaming about what my first flight experience would be: "Scary? adventurous? Tiring? Hmmmmm, I can't wait to see what it'll look like. I whistled softly and knew I had a little time to get my stuff ready. "Three weeks, baby!!!! " That kept ringing a bell in my head.

Every day brought me closer to my dreams, and the very day I received my visa, I knew this wasn't a joke at all; it was all real, and in two days I would be leaving Ghana for good.

young-woman-walking-with-baggage-full-shot_23-2149338588.jpg

D-day arrived, and so I headed to the airport wearing a black jacket on a denim trouser, a muffler, my boot shoes, and dark shades, like I see them do on TV.

My heart raced as I settled in the aeroplane seat and heard the hum of the engine. It was a mixed feeling—that of anticipation, nervousness, and excitement—as I slowly felt the aeroplane leaving the earth below.

jumbo-jet-flying-sky_23-2150895699.webp

Looking through the small window, I could see the once bustling city looking like a landscape, and then I knew our flight had finally taken off.

As the plane ascended, I decided to enjoy the moment and cast my fears aside by taking a closer look at nature. The clouds were so fluffy like cotton, and I marvelled at the beautiful sight my eyes beheld.

I felt liberated from acrophobia for the first time in my life, and the sensation of soaring for good left an indelible mark on me—that of growth, freedom, and celebration. I couldn't help but smile at how my dreams of flying to Texas became a reality after 24 years of my life.

Cheers to a good life and cheers to my new position as HR in Texas! I whispered as I hoped to land safely in Texas.


Image by freepik

Image by freepik

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center