Trail + Risk = Error ⚠️

“Give it a trial” “Give it a trial”….

My mind has been trying to convince my senses to do what is needed at the right time. I knew experience was the best teacher. But at times even with experience, there have to be mistakes too.

I am Abdulqudus, and I am strong. I said to myself.

I will surely do it. That was my conclusion.

After several thoughts, I finally had to come to a tough decision. I have been staring at those fish for some time remembering how I raised them from fries to a good size and weight. They enjoyed the rush and the inflow of water from the tap straight into the pond.

It's time for harvest.

On a Monday, when I came back from getting some feed in the market. I got a call from one of my bosses who I already had so much discussion on how profitable fish smoking could be compared to selling them fresh. I have witnessed him smoke some of the fish he raised and then have them in packs then market them.

I feel it's an opportunity for me to also give it a trial and if it works out fine then I can keep to it. Since we both agreed it’s something profitable.

The evening before Monday's harvest. I was with Mr Ademola. He is a professional fish breeder and also got into rearing. Had some discussion about life in general. I thought of asking him some questions about fish smoking and then knowing if it’s something I can give a trial.

Yes sir! I cut the silence and made him pay attention.

You told me about fish smoking sir. So I am thinking of giving it a trial, I added.

Mr Ademola: Yeah. You can do it. It's not something hard.

I felt a little calm after listening to him while I tried to nod my head in confirmation to his words but deep inside of me there was a lot I still had to ask him.

Sir, how about the marketing aspect? I asked him politely.

There is no problem about that. After smoking then it’s something we can drop off with the woman selling foodstuffs next to us and people will come and buy. Mr Ademola reassured me.

I was relieved a little since there is an available market. All I had to do was to find a way to get the fish to the smokehouse.

The next day was Monday. Mr Ademola called me about it then I told him I was already draining the water so i would be there on his farm in a few minutes. I was so happy harvesting my first fries I reared from eggs to that stage.

I got to the smoke house and I had all of them smoked. My boss, Mr Ademola, gets tempered easily and could unleash his anger and frustration anytime. Yet he was still kinda welcoming to me.
He gave me a helping hand and explained the process of doing it. I couldn’t grab much of how it was smoked because I had to return home that day.

After everything was done. We bagged the fish and then it was time to give the selling price and also market it. Since I had the mindset that there was an available market I was less concerned and bothered with zero worries.

After bagging and packaging, He asked me to give a selling price and out of joy and happiness I gave a good and profitable price. He didn’t even give me any suggestions. All we did next was to head to the woman’s shop. When we got there then I marketed the fish and the selling price to her.

Her reaction was even enough to give me an answer. She looked at me in a way that I had brought another trouble into her business.

After several reactions, she broke her silence and then told me she was sorry that she couldn't help me sell any of them. But if she gets people asking for it then she can order some.

Thank you so much ma. I appreciated her with a fake smile.

My mind has gone so far away. I got destabilized at that very moment. Mr Ademola couldn’t even come to my rescue. We went back to his farm. Then all he said was that I should pack all of my smoked fish.

Without wasting much time. I packed all of them in a rubber bag. Then I took it home. Immediately all of those bigger dreams I calculated with the selling price I mentioned vanished. I just had to keep myself in check.

The biggest mistake I made and regretted was that I should have smoked a smaller quantity for the first time since I was about to give my first trial and also taking some risks. Instead, I had a larger number of them.

Marketing became a nightmare for me. But after some time I was able to market it. I learned my lesson not to count my eggs before they are hatched. Had it been I wasn’t after huge profits then I might have not lost that much.


Image from my device;


![](

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments