Saturday Slow Shambles at Shibuya Scramble

After my therapy session in Daikanyama last Saturday, I didn't want to go home yet so I figured I should probably head somewhere. Where? This is always the hardest question. Okay, Ikebukuro maybe. I took the train thinking it would go all the way to Ikebukuro but turns out, the train's last stop was the next station - Shibuya.

IMG_8840.jpeg

It's not that I don't like Shibuya, it's just that its vibe isn't what I wanted lately. Shibuya is always crowded, so many people here and there. It's a very busy area and there are so many foreigners and young Japanese. Particularly when you get off the train station, it's like a maze of people to get through.

Since the train stopped in Shibuya, I thought I should just give Shibuya a try. It's been a while since I was on my own strolling this lively and sleepless town.

As usual, I exited near the Hachiko statue. Although I wasn't meeting anyone here, it's been like a routine to exit in this area and pay Hachiko a quick peek before I explore more of Shibuya. The area around Hachiko is the favorite spot for locals to meet. Lots of tourists were waiting in queue to take a photo with Hachiko. There's really no rule to fall in line but it's been like a hidden and known rule to anyone who wants their 1on1 time with the famous statue.

IMG_8839.jpeg

The last time I was here last month, meeting a friend from Osaka, she mentioned she wasn't able to see the new 3D TV ad in Shibuya Crossing. So now that I was here, I looked up and turned my head. There were so many ads I just wasn't sure what I was looking for. They all seemed 2d to me. πŸ˜‚

IMG_8843.jpeg

It's fun to watch people crossing the street, well, actually, about half of them were here to take a photo at the famous Shibuya crossing, if not a photo, then a video. It's like a must thing to do when you're in Shibuya, especially if you're a first-timer in Japan. It's understandable, and I can relate to it too. After all, when I first arrived in Tokyo, I had my photo taken here.

I didn't know where to go this time. Should I go shopping? Nah, it's too tiring. (WOW! I actually said no to shopping!) Then I remembered there's a place where you could take a great aerial shot of Shibuya crossing. I've been to the building but not to the actual photo spot so I've decided to make that my destination for today.

IMG_8888.jpeg

Magnet by Shibuya 109 is located on the famous Shibuya crossing and looks like a rundown building. Inside there are so many shops though, for music lovers, anime fans, BL (Boy's Love) fans, and many more. I think this building is for otaku. Upon entering I was welcomed by these cute characters everyone knows about.

Hello Kitty in kimono!

Gudetama so cute!

IMG_8887.jpegIMG_8885.jpeg

Before proceeding to the uppermost floor, I stopped by the One Piece Store in this building. This is the official shop of the famous anime. I didn't buy anything as I've mentioned in my post but I want to buy so many items! I'll probably come back in the future just for shopping.

Since 7th floor was on repair, the only way to the rooftop was taking the elevator. When the doors opened though, I was surprised to see that there's an entrance fee to get to the viewing deck. I never knew about this before, and thought the observation area was free of charge. The entrance fee though will get you drinks but at that time, I just wanted to have a quick look, take multiple shots and spend time somewhere else. The entrance fee kinda discouraged me. Sure there were drinks but I wanted to stay in a cafe and just spend time there.

Entrance gate to the observation deckTicket for group photo

In the end, I wasn't able to go to the observation deck. But my feet led me to Starbucks across the street.

IMG_8899.jpeg

This Starbucks is so popular because it's like a trademark when you're in Shibuya crossing. You'd always see this in photos. I've been to Shibuya a few times and will always pass by. But can you believe that this was my first time entering this store?

IMG_8900.jpeg

I was surprised to know this is actually Tsutaya, a popular brand in Japan for books, manga, DVDs, CDs, and many more. There were so many mini stalls for different artists, mostly groups I didn't know of. I roamed first before going to Starbucks.

As expected, the 2nd-floor seats by the window were so crowded. But people not even sitting down were trying their best to get great shots of the crossing. You would probably know what I'm talking about if you come here yourself. πŸ˜…

IMG_8891.jpeg

I wanted to do people watching, which I just thought of at that time. So I ordered a drink on the 1st floor and went up to the 2nd floor to sit.

I waited for someone to finish and go so I could take their seat and that waiting paid off. I didn't wait long actually.

IMG_8905.jpeg

IMG_8904.jpeg

My drink was the new for this season: Osatsu Butter Frappe. Osatsu is a kind of sweet potato. It was so good! Although it's sweeter than my expectations. πŸ˜…

IMG_8918.jpeg

There's a very big ad about tinder. It's so popular in Japan, I think almost all people have it installed on their phone. If you're curious about what the ad says, it translates to Love is with others which probably means love can be found in other people..? What do you think this means?

IMG_8897.jpeg

IMG_8917.jpeg

IMG_8913.jpeg

It was a bit noisy in the cafe because of people walking, talking and taking photos, so I put on my earphones and listened to music. While having a drink, I was just looking aimlessly at the crowd crossing the streets of Shibuya. It never ran out of people. If you think I had deep thoughts while sipping my drink and looking at them, you're wrong. I wasn't thinking of anything. I just wanted to free my mind and focus on the music in my ears.

https://youtube.com/shorts/p1gd5_jBOjU?si=d6BgwjdR2Ms6T_Ke

I wanted to stay long but there were many people at the back, waiting for a seat to be freed. I guess it's time to go home.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! γ˜γ‚ƒγ‚γ€γΎγŸγ­οΌ



With love,
wittyzell--rc.gif


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now