An Extremely Unlikely Encounter- BAE Contest

Sitting on the couch with my partner playing computer games 3 meters away from me, I sometimes think back about how we met and how incredibly unlikely our meeting really was. I would love to take you along on this unlikely love story of ours.

A Girl and a Boy

image.png

In the winter of 2018 I was single and living my life when I was unfortunate enough to have a really bad climbing accident that left me with an ankle broken in 6 bits, all tendons torn off and a calf muscle completely torn off. I became house-bound and bored pretty quickly. One of my good friends from the climbing group said he had a uni friend from the UK coming to visit him in the Netherlands. He asked if I wanted to join them in the bar next to my house. Jumping on the opportunity to meet someone I hobbled my way on crutches the 10 meters between my door and the door of the pub. As soon as I met Matt, he made me laugh!

Not wanting the good fun to end I asked what they were up to the next day. When they said they didn't have any plans I asked if they would be interested in watching some olympics at my place and eating magic mushrooms. They instantly said yes.

Visit the Vortex

It might seem a bit odd to invite someone you don't know for a magic mushroom trip while you are crippled, but I am a firm believer in going with the flow.

Well we had a blast! I was sitting next to Matt the whole time and we just laughed and laughed. My first instinct was to cuddle him, but thought that would be a bit weird with our friend being there as well haha. The next day Matt went for an explore in Utrecht and seeing that I could hardly walk that was our time together.... or maybe not?

The First Date

I found Matt on facebook and added him and we got chatting and Matt asked me out on a date. In the UK. Camping. For 5 days. I didn't even have to think and booked!

So I took the train to Yorkshire and then for the first time I thought: I have only seen this guy once, if this turns out awkward it will be next level awkward. Like camping for 5 days together awkward...
image.png
But it never was. As soon as I saw him when he picked me up from the station I knew I made the right decision. I just felt at ease with him. We went to the lakes, camped, walked (I had just gotten off the crutches) and after 5 days I took the train back and thought... Shiiiit I think I really like this guy...

What Happened After

We did long distance for 2 years. First UK-Netherlands where we spent as much time together as we could. Always with active vacations, climbing, caving, hiking, mountains.
image.png

After a wile Matt got a job in Oman so we did Oman-Netherlands, it was harder because there was a time difference and it was far, but we made it work.

image.png

Matt moved back from Oman to the UK and we made plans for me to move to the UK, I got my English teaching licence so I could work, quit my job and then... Corona. The minute I realized this was getting serious and we might be seperated by closed borders. I got on the last ferry before the borders closed, packed up the most important things and left to the UK. After a week, Matt lost his job in the lockdown. After 12 weeks of bliss living together for the first time even though there was a pandemic, we decided to move to the Netherlands together as I could pick up my old job.

So here we are, we've been living in the Netherlands for a year now. Matt is finding his way with the language and a new job. I am so happy, we did all the hard things and we made it through and I could not be happier for it. I guess the main thing is: trust your gut, follow your heart and go completely for it if you think it's right. It's been hard but I cannot imagine being with anyone else.

image.png

Here we are now, Matt, me and Ed, the friend that brought us together!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center