[Eng / Esp] Weekend-Engagement ( WE90) : Impulsivity and violence are not good counselors / Impulsividad y violencia no son buenas consejeras.

In my youth, if I remember at the age of thirteen, I was characterized by reacting quickly, unexpectedly and disproportionately to any situation. I felt that on many occasions I was unable to control my impulses and acted without taking into account the consequences of my actions.


imagen.png
Source

My aggressiveness increased, but intermittently. When some situation bothered me internally I felt an impulse, a growing tension that made me act aggressively and in many cases I appealed to physical aggression.

With my actions I felt that I was doing justice, I felt relief when I acted and very rarely guilt for what I did.


imagen.png
Source

My social environment was not very large, yes I had friends, but very few given my tastes.

I have never felt comfortable going with the flow and agreeing with others, I think since I was young that I should have the opportunity to criticize, dissent and not allow unfair situations to happen.

I studied in a Catholic Institution, where social classes were marked, they judged you even by the shoes you wore, groups of students were created that influenced others, making many others victims of harassment and mockery, and unfortunately I saw how some teachers made fun of some students.

imagen.png

Fuente

What was described above caused a decrease in my social interaction with classmates, teachers and other adults in general created an internal distrust, I did not empathize with others and many times I had problems adapting to changes.

Many times I told my mother what was happening at school, she complained and the priests did absolutely nothing to solve the situation.

When in the classroom they made fun of me, I got desperate, I didn't start crying but there came a point where I couldn't take it anymore, the leader of the class was the one who harassed me the most, he never did it alone, it was always in a group. At this moment, I stood up from my desk, I lifted it and my impulsivity made it fly through the air crashing on the head of my bully, which was injured, there if immediately came from the school principal to teachers on duty, where were they when in group these same children harassed me for not thinking like them?

imagen.png
Source

The result of all this was an expulsion for 5 days.

After that, and after a strong punishment from my mother, I went back to classes, I felt satisfaction, but this group of children continued to threaten me, although I felt that they were already afraid of me.

I studied hard for the exams and in particular for the subject of physics, of which I did not understand the teacher's explanation, it was as if they were talking to me in Martian, one day it was time for an exam and that impulsiveness that I had inside drove me to tell the teacher that none of us understood his subject because he was not didactic, all my classmates looked at me with eyes of terror, immediately I stopped and went with the exam paper to the teacher, I broke in his face the exam and threw it in the trash, I turned and told my classmates, "do not fool yourselves, none of you understand your subject because it was not didactic, all my classmates looked at me with eyes of terror, immediately I stopped and went with the exam paper to the teacher, I broke in his face the exam and threw it away, I turned and said to my classmates, "do not fool yourselves, none of you understand your subject because it was not didactic: I turned around and said to my classmates: don't fool yourselves, none of you are going to pass the exam, I went to the classroom door and left.

Like a fortune teller, my predictions were true, no one got good grades and everyone failed the exam, my punishment was a new expulsion, and my mother was crying.

This kind of attitude was repeated for about three more years, and even on one occasion I hurt another student with a garbage can.

imagen.png

Source

As I remember I have a record of 12 expulsions in that institution in the course of three years, time I had left to graduate from high school. I don't know why my expulsion was not definitive, I think my mother had something to do with it.

I finally graduated from high school, I managed to enter the university, and I realized the infinite number of criteria that exist in these institutions, finally I get people who manage to think similarly to mine, and not discriminate against others, I felt my mentality expand.

imagen.png

Source

However, there are people who insist on being toxic and I encountered one of them, although my degree of aggressiveness had already decreased my inner fears made it come to light again.

In front of a crowd of people who were no longer teenagers, I confronted the abuser, I shouted in his face all his faults as a person, and even said some rudeness, he tried to hit me, but I was more cunning and pushed him, with the bad luck that he fell down some stairs, the people who witnessed this instead of helping the teenager who was falling laughed at him.

imagen.png

Source

Immediately, I was alone with my thoughts as I saw what was happening, how is it possible for people to laugh and make fun of another, if that is precisely what I want to avoid. I ran and helped the fallen person, he stood up and promised that the thing was not going to stay this way. This person, due to personal problems, withdrew from the university and the situation did not escalate.

In those days I was already 18 years old and I thought: if this altercation had reached a fatal outcome, would my conscience be clear, and if someday someone assaulted me, what damage would it cause me?

I began to become aware and decided to analyze myself among my faults as a human being and as a component of society, I found that I acted without thinking about the consequences, I did not reflect. From time to time I had to tolerate frustration since events will not always be as I expect them to be. I learned to enhance my inner strengths, and not my weaknesses.


imagen.png
Source

I treat people with dignity and how I would like to be treated, this improves my image with my family, my friends, and my co-workers.

For me, in life you learn by accepting your mistakes, recognizing your limits, being flexible in the goals you set for yourself, and above all repeating to myself: in the face of your problems, get up and move forward.

This life experience was chosen by me to participate in the 90th topic of the weekend suggested by @galenkp in THE WEEKEND community. Link Here, with the option chosen to develop:

Have you removed a habit, strange personality quirk or oddity over the years? What did you used to do, but do not do anymore. What prompted you to make the change, how did you make it and what benefits have you gained or lost?

Thank you community for your kind attention in reading my post.

imagen.png

En mi juventud, si más no recuerdo como a los trece años, me caracterizaba por reaccionar de forma rápida, inesperada y desproporcionada ante cualquier situación. Sentía que en muchas ocasiones era incapaz de controlar mis impulsos y actuaba sin tener en cuenta las consecuencias de mis actos.


imagen.png
Fuente

Mi agresividad aumentó, pero de forma intermitente. Cuando alguna situación me molestaba internamente sentía un impulso, una tensión creciente que me hacía actuar agresivamente y en muchos casos apelaba a la agresión física.

Con mis acciones sentía que hacía justicia, sentía alivio cuando actuaba y muy pocas veces culpa por lo que hacía.


imagen.png
Fuente

Mi entorno social no era muy amplio, sí tenía amigos, pero muy pocos dados mis gustos.

Nunca me he sentido cómodo siguiéndole la corriente y dándole la razón a los demás, pienso desde joven que debo tener la oportunidad de criticar, disentir y no permitir que se den situaciones injustas.

Estudié en una Institución Católica, donde se marcaban las clases sociales, te juzgaban hasta por los zapatos que llevabas, se creaban grupos de alumnos que influían en otros, haciendo que muchos otros fueran víctimas de acoso y burla, y lamentablemente vi como algunos profesores se burlaban de algunos alumnos.

imagen.png

Fuente

Lo descrito anteriormente provocó una disminución de mi interacción social con los compañeros, profesores y otros adultos en general, creó una desconfianza interna, no empatizaba con los demás y muchas veces tenía problemas para adaptarme a los cambios.

Muchas veces le conté a mi madre lo que pasaba en el colegio, ella se quejaba y los curas no hacían absolutamente nada para solucionar la situación.

Cuando en el aula se burlaban de mí, me desesperaba, no me ponía a llorar pero llegó un momento en que no podía más, el jefe de la clase era el que más me acosaba, nunca lo hacía solo, siempre era en grupo. En ese momento, me levanté de mi pupitre, lo levanté y mi impulsividad hizo que volara por los aires estrellándose en la cabeza de mi acosador, el cual quedó herido, ahí si inmediatamente vinieron desde el director del colegio hasta los profesores de guardia, ¿dónde estaban cuando en grupo estos mismos niños me acosaban por no pensar como ellos?

imagen.png
Fuente

El resultado de todo esto fue una expulsión durante 5 días.

Después de eso, y tras un fuerte castigo de mi madre, volví a las clases, sentí satisfacción, pero este grupo de niños siguió amenazándome, aunque yo sentía que ya me tenían miedo.

Estudiaba mucho para los exámenes y en concreto para la asignatura de física, de la que no entendía la explicación del profesor, era como si me hablaran en marciano, un día llegó la hora de un examen y esa impulsividad que llevaba dentro me llevó a decirle al profesor que ninguno de nosotros entendía su asignatura porque no era didáctica, todos mis compañeros me miraron con ojos de terror, inmediatamente me paré y fui con la hoja del examen al profesor, le rompí en la cara el examen y lo tiré a la basura, me giré y les dije a mis compañeros, "no se engañen, ninguno de ustedes va a pasar el examen, me dirigí a la puerta del salón y me fui.

Como un adivino, mis predicciones se cumplieron, nadie sacó buenas notas y todos suspendieron el examen, mi castigo fue una nueva expulsión, y mi madre lloraba.

Este tipo de actitud se repitió durante unos tres años más, e incluso en una ocasión herí a otro alumno con un cubo de basura.

imagen.png

Fuente

Según recuerdo tengo un registro de 12 expulsiones en esa institución en el transcurso de tres años, tiempo que me quedaba para graduarme de bachiller. No sé por qué mi expulsión no fue definitiva, creo que mi madre tuvo algo que ver.

Finalmente me gradué del bachillerato, logré entrar a la universidad, y me di cuenta de la infinidad de criterios que existen en estas instituciones, por fin consigo gente que logra pensar de manera similar a la mía, y no discriminar a los demás, sentí que mi mentalidad se expandía.

imagen.png

Fuente

Sin embargo, hay personas que se empeñan en ser tóxicas y yo me encontré con una de ellas, aunque mi grado de agresividad ya había disminuido mis miedos internos hicieron que saliera de nuevo a la luz.

Delante de una multitud de personas que ya no eran adolescentes, me enfrenté al maltratador, le grité en la cara todos sus defectos como persona, e incluso le dije alguna grosería, intentó pegarme, pero yo fui más astuto y le empujé, con la mala suerte de que se cayó por unas escaleras, las personas que presenciaron esto en vez de ayudar al adolescente que se estaba cayendo se rieron de él.

imagen.png

Fuente

Inmediatamente me quedé a solas con mis pensamientos al ver lo que estaba pasando, cómo es posible que la gente se ría y se burle de otra, si eso es precisamente lo que quiero evitar. Corrí y ayudé a la persona caída, se levantó y prometió que la cosa no iba a quedar así. Esta persona, por problemas personales, se retiró de la universidad y la situación no pasó a mayores.

En aquellos días yo ya tenía 18 años y pensaba: si este altercado hubiera llegado a un desenlace fatal, ¿tendría la conciencia tranquila, y si algún día alguien me agrediera, qué daño me causaría?

Empecé a tomar conciencia y decidí analizarme entre mis defectos como ser humano y como componente de la sociedad, descubrí que actuaba sin pensar en las consecuencias, no reflexionaba. De vez en cuando tuve que tolerar la frustración ya que los acontecimientos no siempre serán como yo espero que sean. Aprendí a potenciar mis fortalezas internas y no mis debilidades.


imagen.png
Fuente

Trato a las personas con dignidad y como me gustaría que me trataran, esto mejora mi imagen con mi familia, mis amigos y mis compañeros de trabajo.

Para mí, en la vida se aprende aceptando tus errores, reconociendo tus límites, siendo flexible en las metas que te propones y sobre todo repitiéndome a mí mismo: ante los problemas, levántate y sigue adelante.

Esta experiencia de vida fue elegida por mí para participar en el tema 90 del fin de semana sugerido por @galenkp en la comunidad THE WEEKEND. Link Aquí, con la opción elegida para desarrollar:

¿Ha eliminado un hábito, una peculiaridad de personalidad extraña o una rareza a lo largo de los años? Qué solías hacer, pero ya no haces. ¿Qué te impulsó a hacer el cambio, cómo lo hiciste y qué beneficios has ganado o perdido?

Gracias comunidad por la amable atención prestada al leer mi publicación.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now