Wrong accusation.

Hello Everyone, Happy weekend.
I will be writing on one of this weeks prompt that asks
Accidental accusation
Accidental accusations occur - Have you done it or been accused yourself? Post about the scenario, what happened, and what situations resulted from it? Was there an apology or did those involved roll with the false accusation? Did it ruin a relationship or make it stronger, or damage your reputation? Feel free to avoid specific details if you like, just give us the general information.

img_0.3699252565992676.jpg
Source
For this weekend topic I'm gonna write in when I was wrongly accused. Well I wouldn't mind going into details of how the whole thing happened. I guess that's the reason for writing.And to think that the accusation was from an uncle I revered so much. But after this particular incident they love and respect I have for him drastically reduced up to date I don't call or want to ever see him. Although he apologized. I think I deserved better than the treatment he meted out to me.

What happened
On this particular day seated in the lawn taking in the cool evening breeze. I heard a knock on the gate, I quickly opened thinking it was my dad returning from the day's sojourn. I was the only kid left at home, My other siblings had all traveled to school. So it was just me, mum and dad and already mum was home and in the kitchen making dinner. I gently walked up to the gate and opened up. It wasn't my Dad but his younger brother who I was so fond of.

img_0.17592445887174862.jpg
Source
With joy I ushered him in and made sure he felt at home. He had traveled from the northern part of Nigeria where he resides with his family to the eastern part on a business trip and decided to stop by. We talked and laughed until my dad was home, turns out he (my uncle ) would be traveling back tomorrow. Since he was gonna travel by road he was gonna leave before the cock crows tomorrow morning. We ate and retired to bed when everyone was tired of gisting.

Early morning the next day I was still enjoying the early morning nap when I was woken by a tap from my Dad.

" Son, meet me in my room now".

With sleepy eyes I got up and followed him. On getting to his room he locked up, gave me a seat and asked me some suspicious questions about stealing money. I was confused I know I never steal not to talk of my Dad's money

"But Dad, why all this question, why would I steal your money?" I asked him.

" Son, I trust you and know what you can do. But my brother is ready to leave and he says he can't find his money. He believes you stole it. He said you were the one that took his bags in and showed him his room and you also walked in on him counting cash yesterday night"

I sat there looking confused. Yes I had walked in on my uncle counting money but that was to tell him that his food was served and I didn't invade his privacy again. I explained all this to my Dad and he believed me. He told his brother the same thing but his brother was hell bent on stealing the money. And he kept on shouting. To calm the situation my Dad promised to refund him every penny he was looking for.

We thought it had all died off when my uncle took up his bag and left the park. I was so angry that I didn't see him off. Few hours later I was all alone at home sleeping when a knock came. I opened it and it was my uncle. Turns out he didn't head to the park when he told us he was leaving. Instead he went to the police to report the case and now I was being arrested. I called my Mum and Dad and let them in on the recent development.

Lucky enough I wasn't taken in by the police because they advised us to solve our matter as a family. The police searched our house again including my uncle's traveling bag which they upturned and tucked inside a sock sitting in between two pairs of clothes was the exact amount he was looking for.

img_0.7277849551572745.jpg
Source
Turns out, he had hid the money there due to fear of the increased highway robberies in the country and had forgotten the following morning. He begged for forgiveness which I obliged but vowed never to forget the humiliation. He even offered me little of the cash as compensation but I vehemently rejected it.

That's was a humiliating part of my life story I wouldn't forget so soon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency