You can teach a G-dog new tricks

asshole (1).jpg

It's true, G-dogs can be taught new things and sometimes that's something new to cook.

- G-dog -



Being type-2 diabetic means I need to be careful with what I eat and drink. Avoiding sugar, sugary foods, fat, carbohydrates and high glycaemic-indexed foods is very important to control the sugars in my blood so it's often easier to make my food myself, especially snack foods. This has led me to seek out things that are tasty and healthy, and easy to make. With that in mind I decided, because I have been craving potato chips, to make some pita chips to eat with some dip as a snack...although I have decided this would make a good meal also, with a few extras added.

ℙ𝕚𝕥𝕒 𝕓𝕣𝕖𝕒𝕕 𝕔𝕙𝕚𝕡𝕤

I used wholemeal pita bread pockets as wholemeal has a lower glycaemic-index and tastes better than the white version.

You'll also need olive oil (virgin is better but I had none) and some spices. For that I used a Moroccan spice blend made by Masterfoods. (Pepper, garlic, onion, paprika, rosemary, coriander seed, cumin, capsicum, ginger, lemon oil etcetera).

ℍ𝕠𝕨 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕔𝕣𝕖𝕒𝕥𝕖 𝕥𝕙𝕖 𝕞𝕒𝕘𝕚𝕔

Split the pockets in half using a kitchen knife, brush liberally on one side with the oil covering all of it and sprinkle on the spices. Flip over and repeat then cut into triangles. Be liberal with the oil, its better that way. A note on the spices...anything you use has to be powdered or dried, don't use fresh or pastes.

Place directly onto a baking tray; I don't line it with paper first as I get a better and crunchier result from the chips sitting directly on the tray. Pop them into a preheated oven, mine is fan-forced and I use 220°C and bake for ten minutes or so. Keep an eye on them as some of the crips will be thinner than the others so will crisp up faster. Here's something to remember...don't burn them...but they are supposed to be crispy so don't under-cook them either.

Take them from the oven and allow to cool completely. If you have done it right you'll have tasty, crispy pita chips and you can put them into an airtight container for three to five days and enjoy at your leisure...if you manage not to eat them all hot out of the oven.

Below is a collage of my process and the photo above is the finished product.

asshole (2).jpg

𝕆𝕡𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟𝕤 𝕒𝕟𝕕 𝕒𝕝𝕥𝕖𝕣𝕟𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕧𝕖𝕤

Because this was a snack I didn't add too much else when I plated up. I dolloped a healthy serving of hummus dip into a little container and added some feta-stuffed green olives and a few small slices of Moroccan cauliflower and sweet potato slice; the snack was then smashed into oblivion...and I'd be lying if I say I didn't sneak some more chips after.

Had I wanted to turn this into a dinner I would have added some cold cuts of meat, maybe some roast chicken, and another little dish of couscous or some kind of salad perhaps...maybe barbequed octopus or some such thing. There's no rules really, what ever you like is how it's supposed to be.

I'm planning to make this using Italian herbs and spices one of these days and might do a plain rock salt and rosemary version to have with a tzatziki dip...and also a Mexican version...and an Indian version would be awesome I think. So many pita chip options, so little time.

That's about it really, a simple recipe to try if you like a snack. I made these on Saturday and all up they took me about twenty five minutes including the clean up which happened when the chips were baking. Pretty fast right? I have had a heap of them in the container for later too, the beauty of being able to make them ahead of time.


ℍ𝕖𝕣𝕖❜𝕤 𝕨𝕙𝕖𝕣𝕖 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕘𝕖𝕥 𝕚𝕟𝕧𝕠𝕝𝕧𝕖𝕕

Would this be easy enough to try yourself? Have you made something like this before? What would you add to the plate if you were putting it together for a meal or snack? Do you have any flavour ideas? Am I a fucken genius? Feel free to comment below if you feel inclined and let me know...Also, put your name on the list below should you wish to come over to my place for snacks we talk shit and tell lies.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

[All original and proudly AI free.]

Any images in this post are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center