A Morning at the Coffee Shop: Lessons and Kopi in Singapore

Saturdays are usually dedicated to volunteering at my local church, where I spend my afternoon helping underprivileged kids with their studies. This week had been particularly hectic at work, leaving me with little to no time to prepare for the class at all. Determined to catch up on my lesson planning, I decided to head to my neighborhood coffee shop this morning, combining work and comfort food in a typical Singaporean way! 🤗


A Brisk Stroll

The journey from my home to the coffee shop was fairly quick, thanks to the thoughtful urban planning that ensured convenience for the neighborhood. The Government's foresight in setting up such establishments nearby means that residents like me don't have to venture far to savor our favorite local dishes. As I mentioned in my previous post, my growing appreciation for the neighborhood's charm prompted me to take some photos along the way. These snapshots capture the lush greens that grace my neighborhood, offering a tranquil and soothing ambiance, don't you think? 😅


The Meal that Kicked off the Day

As I walked into the bustling coffee shop and quickly scanned the menu. There was only one dish that could provide the comfort and energy I needed for the day: Chicken Rice. This iconic Singaporean dish never fails to satisfy my taste buds. The tender, fragrant chicken paired with aromatic rice and a side of chili sauce truly makes for a delightful meal. With a plate of Chicken Rice in front of me, I was ready to tackle my day! 💪


Traditional Kopi

Straight after my meal and to keep me alert for the rest of the day, I would usually order a cup of traditional Kopi, a strong local coffee that has a unique charm. Unlike the fancy lattes you might find in cafes, Kopi is a staple of Singapore's coffee culture, often served in local coffee shops or hawker centers. Its robust flavor and aromatic intensity never fail to jolt me awake! 😁


Lesson Preparation Amidst the Buzz

With a full belly and a steaming cup of Kopi, I opened the assessment book and began to prepare for my tutoring session. The coffee shop was alive with chatter and the clinking of cutlery, a symphony of everyday life that provided a somewhat comforting backdrop to what I was doing. As I dived into my lesson plans, several thoughts crossed my mind:

Community Vibe: The coffee shop's atmosphere reminded me of the sense of Community that thrives in Singapore. People from all walks of life gather here, creating a unique blend of cultures and conversations. It is a place where stories are shared, friendships are forged, and ideas are born. Much like what I'm currently feeling from the Hive Community!

Balancing Work and Passion: As I sipped my Kopi, I reflected on the importance of balancing work commitments with personal passions. My commitment to volunteering at the church is a labor of love, and dedicating time for meticulous preparation is crucial to guarantee that I can genuinely influence and support the kids I mentor. Therefore, regardless of life's demanding schedule, I remain committed to allocating the necessary time for the children, aiming to maximize the impact of our sessions together!

Appreciating the Little Things: In the midst of my busy week, this simple morning at the coffee shop taught me to appreciate life's small pleasures. A hearty meal, a strong cup of coffee, and the joy of helping others can make even the busiest week feel fulfilling.

It was definitely a morning well-spent at the coffee shop, setting the tone for a rewarding day of volunteering and giving back to the underprivileged kids in my Community! 😇


Are you interested in reading some of my future writings? Don't forget to follow me!

Here are some of my most recent blogs (non-gaming posts) if you'd like to view them:

The Wisdom of Peter Drucker: Efficiency vs. Purpose
Balancing Act: The Unavoidable Weekends in the Life of an Auditor
Reflections_resized.jpeg
Weekend.png
Sipping Sunshine: Exploring the History of Chang Beer in Koh Samui
Finding Serenity in the Midst of Sickness: A Walk Through My Neighborhood (Latest Blog)
CHANG_resized.png
Thumbnail.jpeg

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I look forward to sharing more next time! 😁

All images used in this post were taken from my iPhone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center