Balancing Act: The Unavoidable Weekends in the Life of an Auditor

Weekends - a sacred time for relaxation, family gatherings, or simply doing absolutely nothing. It's a time when most of us get to recharge our batteries and enjoy life outside the constraints of work. However, for those of us in certain professions, like Auditing, weekends aren't always the idyllic break we wish them to be 😕


A Glimpse into the Life of an Auditor

Before we dive into the reasons I dislike working on weekends, let me give you a glimpse of what life as an Auditor is like. Auditors are responsible for examining and evaluating financial records, ensuring compliance with regulations, and providing an unbiased assessment of a Company's financial health. It's a demanding profession that often requires long hours and rigorous attention to detail with an extremely tight deadlines 😵

Took a photo while working this morning, diligently finishing an assignment with a looming deadline. Given the confidentiality of my work on the screen, I decided to display humorous memes on my screen related to "working on a weekend" instead.


Why I Dislike Working on Weekends

Quality Time Sacrificed: One of the primary reasons I dislike working on weekends is that it takes away precious moments I could be spending with my family and friends. The weekend is typically when loved ones are available for socializing, and missing out on these opportunities can be disheartening. It's challenging to strike a balance between work and personal life when weekends are consumed by work commitments.

Burnout and Exhaustion: Working on weekends can lead to burnout and exhaustion over time. The lack of a proper break can result in decreased productivity during the week, which ultimately affects the quality of my work. Burnout not only impacts my professional life but also my physical and mental well-being.

Limited Personal Time: Like many others, I cherish my personal time during the weekend. It's a chance to unwind, pursue hobbies, or simply relax at home. When work encroaches on this time, it can feel like a constant juggling act, leaving little room for self-care and relaxation.

Social Isolation: Working on weekends often means missing out on social events and gatherings with friends and family. Over time, this can lead to feelings of isolation and detachment, which can take a toll on one's mental health.

Impact on Work-Life Balance: Maintaining a healthy work-life balance is essential for overall well-being. Unfortunately, the demands of the auditing profession often disrupt this balance, making it difficult to enjoy life outside of work.


Why I Don't Have a Choice

While I may dislike working on weekends, it's important to note that it's not a choice I make willingly. The demands of my job as an Auditor often require weekend work. Tight deadlines, unexpected issues, and the nature of Audit Engagements can all conspire to ensure that my weekends are anything but free 😥


In an ideal world, we would all love to have the luxury of enjoying our weekends without the burden of work. However, for professionals like me in the Auditing field, weekend work is an unavoidable reality. While I may not like it, I understand that it's part of the commitment I made to my career 👩‍💻

Despite the challenges, I strive to find moments of balance and make the most of the precious time I do have outside of work. Working on weekends may be a necessary part of my routine, but it won't stop me from valuing and cherishing the moments I get to spend with my loved ones and on self-care when I can! ✌️


Are you interested in reading some of my future writings? Don't forget to follow me!

Here are some of my most recent blogs (non-gaming posts) if you'd like to view them:

How Tracking Finances and Budgeting Became My Lifelong Habit
WWE Raw Deal Trading Card Game: A Trip Down Memory Lane
Cash_resized.jpg
Thumbnail1.jpg
Michael Learns To Rock Concert at Our Tampines Hub, Singapore
The Wisdom of Peter Drucker: Efficiency vs. Purpose (Latest Blog)
Concert.jpg
Reflections_resized.jpeg

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I look forward to sharing more next time! 😁

All images used in this post were taken from my iPhone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center