The human life in weeks - time to stop wasting time?

Me checking out my life calendar.png

So I ran into this site called Waitbutwhy.com the landing page headline is “new posts every sometimes” lol, instantly loved it.

Tim Urban, the author of the blog post I’m about to talk about, decided to make a series of infographics representing the average human’s life expectancy. He was a bit generous actually; He mapped out a human life that would last 90 years.

Want to have a look?

This is what the average human life would look like if each circle represented a year:

This is what it would look like in months:

How about weeks?

This is what a 90 year human life would look like in weeks. each row is a year, made up of 52 boxes and it fits in one page. Where you expecting to see more?

Let’s color them in and see how a typical American might spend his weeks:

Tim even has posters of these that you can buy on the website and hang on the wall or use as a gift:

Now, there’s no need to panic. Yes we’re all going to die, but the purpose of this tool is not to tell you when. The purpose of these life calendars is to remind ourselves to practice reflection, self-awareness and try to lead a meaningful life. Maybe your life calendar can help you keep track of your long-term goals or maybe it can be a reminder of your accomplishments, for example, how many weeks you’ve been sober.

I personally don't believe in new year's resolutions. Everybody signs up for the gym or buys a book and then everybody quits before Q2, lol. And when I say "everybody" I just mean "many people", don't take me literally. With a life calendar in weeks, you can set your weekly goals and if you happen to have a bad week, no problem! you have a fresh new week ahead of you to try again. Cool right?

I know I'm definitely going to map out my journey in the HIVE ecosystem to see how far I've come and also to keep track of my progress towards my 2030 goal of accumulating 200k Hive Power.

I tend to write an update on my Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) "every sometimes" lol. But I do keep track of it every week and update my spreadsheet regularly. I'd originally set my goal to 100,000 HP by 2026, I just extended the timeline to 2030 so my target HP is higher:

@alex-rourke/my-5-year-jive-too-100k-hp-jan-9th-update

I kind of like having a bird's eye view of my life to see where I've been and where I'm going, and breaking down my life into weeks seems more manageable and helps me focus more on my habits, exercise, eating, saving/investing and business projects and thus become a better leader, businessman and human being.


Cover image created using Mid Journey
All charts from Tim Urban on waitbutwhy.com


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center