My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To / FILM REVIEW [ENG – ESP]

It's exciting when I find little gems in this immense ocean of movies. The offer is so great and there are so many movies and series that I have on my to-watch list, that I find it hard to choose. This movie had something special, I could feel it. When I finished watching it, I gave thanks for following my instinct, because it is a wonderful movie. Why? Because behind the facade of the horror genre there is a deep drama, a devastating story.

Es emocionante cuando encuentro pequeñas joyas en este inmenso océano de películas. La oferta es tan grande y hay tantas películas y series que tengo en mi lista de pendientes, que me resulta difícil elegir. Esta película tenía algo especial, podía sentirlo. Cuando terminé de verla, di gracias por seguir mi instinto, porque es una película maravillosa. ¿Por qué? Porque detrás de la fachada del género de terror hay un drama profundo, una historia devastadora.

2021-07-05 at 19.26.44.jpg

Source - Edited in photoshop

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

Jonathan Cuartas is the filmmaker who directs and writes the screenplay for the film. I knew absolutely nothing about Cuartas. According to his IMDB profile, he has experience as a cameraman, screenwriter and editor of several short films. My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To is his debut, an excellent debut! It left me with a good taste in my mouth, as if I were a vampire and the film the blood that feeds me.

Why don't these projects have so much diffusion, why don't people talk about them more? I always ask myself the same questions when I find interesting films, made with a small budget but with a devastating message and story. What is people's fear of independent cinema? Are they afraid of what is different? This goes beyond the particular tastes of each person, when you love cinema, you have to appreciate the art.

The film is from last year, it was scheduled to be screened at the Tribeca Film Festival, but problems with Covid did not take place as planned, but it seems that the jury gave a special award to the filmmakers. In addition, it was awarded at the Sitges Film Festival as Best New Director for Cuartas and Best Film Noves Visiones. Fully deserved awards and the director's future looks promising. You can follow him on Twitter: Link

What is the film about? Is it horror? Is it a drama? This is where the magic happens. For me it turned out to be a painful family drama, wrapped in a horror story, both in its fantastic and real elements. That's my reading and I'll explain more about it later, first I'll tell you my own synopsis.

Español

Jonathan Cuartas es el cineasta que dirige y escribe el guión de la película. No sabía absolutamente nada de Cuartas. Según su perfil en IMDB, tiene experiencia como cámara, guionista y montador de varios cortometrajes. My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To es su debut, ¡un excelente debut! Me dejó con un buen sabor de boca, como si yo fuera un vampiro y la película la sangre que me alimenta.

¿Por qué estos proyectos no tienen tanta difusión, por qué no se habla más de ellos? Siempre me hago las mismas preguntas cuando encuentro películas interesantes, hechas con poco presupuesto pero con un mensaje y una historia demoledores. ¿Cuál es el miedo de la gente al cine independiente? ¿Tienen miedo a lo que es diferente? Esto va más allá de los gustos particulares de cada persona, cuando se ama el cine, hay que apreciar el arte.

La película es del año pasado, estaba previsto que se proyectara en el Festival de Cine de Tribeca, pero los problemas con el Covid no se llevaron a cabo como estaba previsto, pero parece que el jurado dio un premio especial a los realizadores. Además, fue premiada en el Festival de Sitges como Mejor Director Novel para Cuartas y Mejor Película Noves Visiones. Premios totalmente merecidos y el futuro del director parece prometedor. Puedes seguirle en Twitter: Enlace

¿De qué trata la película? ¿Es de terror? ¿Es un drama? Aquí es donde ocurre la magia. Para mí resultó ser un doloroso drama familiar, envuelto en una historia de terror, tanto en sus elementos fantásticos como reales. Esa es mi lectura y más adelante explicaré más sobre ella, primero les contaré mi propia sinopsis.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-05-at-19.33.gif

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of the movie?

Dwight and Jessie are two brothers who live in a house near a large forest , the house looks bad from the outside, most of the windows are sealed. He is lonely and seeks refuge in the arms of a prostitute in town. Jessie works as a waitress in a local restaurant. They both have a secret they must protect. They have to take care of their younger brother, Thomas, who stays at home without being able to go out, because exposing himself to the light would cause his death and his two older brothers must take care of him, getting the necessary food for him to live: human blood. How does this situation affect Dwight's life? Will Jessie let Dwight abandon them? Will Dwinght be condemned to sacrifice his happiness to take care of his younger brother? How many innocents must die? When one of the brothers shows signs of exhaustion and can no longer shed blood, trouble will begin.

¿Cuál es el argumento de la película?

Dwight y Jessie son dos hermanos que viven en una casa cerca de un gran bosque , la casa se ve mal desde el exterior, la mayoría de las ventanas están selladas. Él se siente solo y busca refugio en los brazos de una prostituta del pueblo. Jessie trabaja como camarera en un restaurante local. Ambos tienen un secreto que deben proteger. Tienen que cuidar de su hermano menor, Thomas, que se queda en casa sin poder salir, porque exponerse a la luz le causaría la muerte y sus dos hermanos mayores deben cuidar de él, consiguiendo el alimento necesario para que viva: sangre humana. ¿Cómo afecta esta situación a la vida de Dwight? ¿Dejará Jessie que Dwight los abandone? ¿Estará Dwinght condenado a sacrificar su felicidad para cuidar de su hermano menor? ¿Cuántos inocentes deben morir? Cuando uno de los hermanos muestre signos de agotamiento y no pueda seguir derramando sangre, comenzarán los problemas.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-05 at 19.33.06.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

My opinion

The genre of the film is horror. There is death, blood and disturbing scenes. But you have to go a little deeper and see the approach that the filmmaker makes us about the family and how having to constantly take care of one of its members, can cause physical and mental havoc in the people around them.

What Dwight's character feels, is something felt by many people who, by fate's misfortune, have had to devote a large part of their lives to caring for a sick family member. For those who have had a similar experience in their lives, it will be easy to identify with the anguish, sadness and loneliness that the character expresses.

Thomas is the younger brother and needs Dwight and Jessie's care to survive in this world. It is as if he is sick and, without proper care, it is impossible for him to survive. He is isolated from the world, locked up and weak inside that place they call home. He is also mentally affected, unable to go outside, to have friends, to feel freedom.

Thomas' fragility and innocence forces the two older brothers to sacrifice themselves for the one they love. Who wouldn't? We are all capable of forgetting our own happiness in case a person we love becomes ill and needs our care.

That's what Jessie's character is very clear about. She is the strongest of the family. She has accepted the sad existence she has had to live. You can see it in her face, the exhaustion, the frustration, the unhappiness, the bitterness. He lives only to take care of his little brother and will not let anyone or anything get in the way of the family dynamic to get the blood to feed Thomas.

Mi opinón

El género de la película es el terror. Hay muerte, sangre y escenas perturbadoras. Pero hay que profundizar un poco más y ver el enfoque que el cineasta nos hace sobre la familia y cómo el tener que cuidar constantemente de uno de sus miembros, puede causar estragos físicos y mentales en las personas que les rodean.

Lo que siente el personaje de Dwight, es algo que sienten muchas personas que por desgracias del destino, han tenido que dedicar gran parte de su vida al cuidado de un familiar enfermo. Para quienes hayan tenido una experiencia similar en sus vidas, será fácil identificarse con la angustia, la tristeza y la soledad que manifiesta el personaje.

Thomas es el hermano menor y necesita los cuidados de Dwight y Jessie para sobrevivir en este mundo. Es como si estuviera enfermo y, sin los cuidados adecuados, le resulta imposible sobrevivir. Está aislado del mundo, encerrado y débil dentro de ese lugar que llaman hogar. También está afectado mentalmente, incapaz de salir al exterior, de tener amigos, de sentir la libertad.

La fragilidad e inocencia de Thomas obliga a los dos hermanos mayores a sacrificarse por la persona que aman. ¿Quién no lo haría? Todos somos capaces de olvidarnos de nuestra propia felicidad en caso de que una persona a la que queremos enferme y necesite nuestros cuidados.

Eso es lo que el personaje de Jessie tiene muy claro. Es la más fuerte de la familia. Ha aceptado la triste existencia que le ha tocado vivir. Se puede ver en su rostro, el agotamiento, la frustración, la infelicidad, la amargura. Sólo vive para cuidar a su hermano pequeño y no dejará que nada ni nadie se interponga en la dinámica familiar para obtener la sangre que alimente a Thomas.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-05-at-19.57.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

It's a situation that affects every human being differently. In the film, Jessie is the one who accepts her role. She knows she has no hope of having a life of her own, a partner, a moment of happiness. That doesn't exist in her world. But for Dwight it's different, the years spent caring for his brother are taking their toll. He no longer seems capable of doing the horrible things he has to do. That's why he seeks to vent his sorrows with a prostitute in town, so as not to feel alone. That feeling of social isolation that seems to consume him.

This is the reading I get from the story, what it really tells us is an intense family drama, about how a disease not only eats away the life of the sufferer, but also destroys the lives of the people closest to him. What to do when you reach the limit? When you just want to escape and live your life? When you want the nightmare to end? A reflection that puts the characters in a dilemma, making them make mistakes that will lead them to a sad end, where sacrifice and pain will welcome redemption.

Inside the wrapping of a horror movie, it actually hides a drama that will make our skin crawl. The disease, the family sacrifice, the isolation, the loneliness that strikes the mental health of people and the search for a happiness that seems impossible to achieve. That's why this film is part, along with several reviewed by me in recent months, of the best I've seen this year.

Another small independent film that leaves in diapers other proposals that receive the support of the big studios. The cinematography of the film was in charge of Michael Cuartas, brother of the director. Both create an atmosphere of sadness and loneliness inside the house where most of the story takes place. Supported by the music composed by Andrew Rease Shaw, accentuating the moments of tension and captivating us with the emotional moments. One of the producers is Patrick Fugit, protagonist of the story that was acquired by Dark Sky Films for distribution.

Es una situación que afecta a cada ser humano de forma diferente. En la película, Jessie es la que acepta su papel. Sabe que no tiene esperanza de tener una vida propia, una pareja, un momento de felicidad. Eso no existe en su mundo. Pero para Dwight es diferente, los años dedicados a cuidar de su hermano le están pasando factura. Ya no parece capaz de seguir haciendo las cosas horribles que debe hacer. Por eso busca desahogar sus penas con una prostituta del pueblo, para no sentirse solo. Ese sentimiento de aislamiento social que parece consumirlo.

Esta es la lectura que saco del relato, lo que realmente nos cuenta es un intenso drama familiar, sobre cómo una enfermedad no sólo carcome la vida de quien la padece, sino que también destruye la de las personas más cercanas. ¿Qué hacer cuando se llega al límite? ¿Cuando sólo quieres escapar y vivir tu vida? ¿Cuando quieres que la pesadilla termine? Una reflexión que pone a los personajes en un dilema, haciéndoles cometer errores que les llevarán a un triste final, donde el sacrificio y el dolor acogerán la redención.

Dentro del envoltorio de una película de terror, se esconde en realidad un drama que nos erizará la piel. La enfermedad, el sacrificio familiar, el aislamiento, la soledad que golpea la salud mental de las personas y la búsqueda de una felicidad que parece imposible de alcanzar. Por eso, esta película forma parte, junto con varias reseñadas por mí en los últimos meses, de lo mejor que he visto este año.

Otra pequeña película independiente que deja en pañales a otras propuestas que reciben el apoyo de los grandes estudios. La fotografía de la película estuvo a cargo de Michael Cuartas, hermano del director. Ambos crean una atmósfera de tristeza y soledad en el interior de la casa donde transcurre la mayor parte de la historia. Apoyada por la música compuesta por Andrew Rease Shaw, acentuando los momentos de tensión y cautivándonos con los momentos emotivos. Uno de los productores es Patrick Fugit, protagonista de la historia que fue adquirida por Dark Sky Films para su distribución.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-05 at 20.01.23.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Characters / Personajes

linehivebyjc.jpg

Dwight is the older brother. He is in charge of looking for vagrants, illegal immigrants, people discarded by society, to trick them and take them to the supposed shelter, when in reality they will be Thomas' food. He is tired of killing, he needs to escape from the loneliness of being dedicated to his brother's care. He can't stand his situation any longer, but his sister will never let him abandon them. The character is excellently played by Patrick Fugit, who became known more than twenty years ago, in Cameron Crowe's film Almost Famous, of which I keep a fond memory, in that film worked Kate Hudson. Patrick Fugit has not stopped working during all these years, participating in films and television series

Dwight es el hermano mayor. Se encarga de buscar vagabundos, inmigrantes ilegales, gente desechada por la sociedad, para engañarlos y llevarlos al supuesto refugio, cuando en realidad serán el alimento de Thomas. Está cansado de matar, necesita escapar de la soledad de estar dedicado al cuidado de su hermano. No puede soportar más su situación, pero su hermana nunca le dejará abandonarlos. El personaje está excelentemente interpretado por Patrick Fugit, que se dio a conocer hace más de veinte años, en la película de Cameron Crowe Casi famosos, de la que guardo un grato recuerdo, en esa película trabajaba Kate Hudson. Patrick Fugit no ha dejado de trabajar durante todos estos años, participando en películas y series de televisión.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Jessie is the sister who knows that her destiny is to take care of her little brother. She has a strong character and is very confident when it comes to making decisions. When she sees that the stability of the family is in danger, she will do whatever it takes to keep it together. No matter how much blood has to be shed. She is a fascinating character, with a strange beauty and the one I liked the most. She is played by actress Ingrid Sophie Schram who I haven't seen any previous work from. Her IMD profile says she worked in a movie called Phanton Thread, some TV series and a bunch of short films. One of her first jobs seems to have been a brief appearance in The Devil Wears Prada. She strikes me as an actress with a lot of potential and you can follow her on her instagram: Link

Jessie es la hermana que sabe que su destino es cuidar de su hermano pequeño. Tiene un carácter fuerte y es muy segura a la hora de tomar decisiones. Cuando ve que la estabilidad de la familia está en peligro, hará lo que sea necesario para mantenerla unida. No importa cuánta sangre haya que derramar. Es un personaje fascinante, con una extraña belleza y el que más me ha gustado. Lo interpreta la actriz Ingrid Sophie Schram de la que no he visto ningún trabajo anterior. Su perfil de IMD dice que trabajó en una película llamada Phanton Thread, alguna serie de televisión y un montón de cortometrajes. Uno de sus primeros trabajos parece haber sido una breve aparición en El diablo viste de Prada. Me parece una actriz con mucho potencial

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Thomas is the youngest of the brothers. He is fragile, possesses a lot of innocence, he looks like a child, a product of the social isolation he has lived since birth. Although we could say that he is the monster of the story, he seems to be unaware of his condition. He just wants to be a normal person, but he cannot, he is eternally condemned. A subtle and touching performance by actor Owen Campbell . I recognized the actor from the TV series The Americans, but he has also worked in the series Bull. Among the most important films of his career are As You Are and Super Dark Times. I also saw him in Body Brokers , a film I reviewed a few months ago. The three leads in the story do an excellent job.

Thomas es el menor de los hermanos. Es frágil, posee mucha inocencia, parece un niño, producto del aislamiento social que ha vivido desde su nacimiento. Aunque podríamos decir que es el monstruo de la historia, parece no ser consciente de su condición. Sólo quiere ser una persona normal, pero no puede, está eternamente condenado. Una interpretación sutil y conmovedora del actor Owen Campbell . Reconocí al actor por la serie de televisión The Americans, pero también ha trabajado en la serie Bull. Entre las películas más importantes de su carrera se encuentran As You Are y Super Dark Times. También lo vi en Body Brokers , una película que reseñé hace unos meses. Los tres protagonistas de la historia hacen un excelente trabajo.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-05 at 19.55.51.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To is much more than a horror story, it's a story that if you take away its lurid scenes, it will make you reflect on loneliness and the sacrifice we are willing to make for our loved ones. It is about family ties and how they are deteriorating because of a disease, where not only the carrier is the one who suffers, the people around him will also live their own hell.

I hope you have the opportunity to see it and remember to leave me your opinion in the comments.

My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To es mucho más que una historia de terror, es una historia que si le quitas sus escabrosas escenas, te hará reflexionar sobre la soledad y el sacrificio que estamos dispuestos a hacer por nuestros seres queridos. Trata sobre los lazos familiares y cómo se van deteriorando a causa de una enfermedad, donde no sólo el portador es el que sufre, las personas que le rodean también vivirán su propio infierno.

Espero que tengas la oportunidad de verla y recuerda dejarme tu opinión en los comentarios.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


4/5

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-07-05 at 19.27.42.jpg

2021-07-05 at 19.28.26.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Last Matinee (Al morir la matinée ) / FILM REVIEWNo Sudden Move & The Tomorrow War / TWO FILM REVIEW Black Space / TV SERIE REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments