Black Space / TV SERIE REVIEW [Eng –Esp]

Among the Israeli productions I have seen, I liked Tehran and Fauda. But the one that really struck me some time ago was the miniseries Our Boys. This time, Black Space seems to me a more conventional series, getting closer to the style of American police series, with an investigation in which there are many suspects.

Entre las producciones israelíes que he visto, me gustaron Teherán y Fauda. Pero la que realmente me impactó hace tiempo fue la miniserie Our Boys. Esta vez, Black Space me parece una serie más convencional, acercándose más al estilo de las series policiales americanas, con una investigación en la que hay muchos sospechosos.

2021-06-29 at 17.46.29.jpg

Source - Edited in photoshop

lineahive.jpg

English

The Israeli series deals with a thorny issue. Nowadays, violence inside schools is a sad reality in any country in the world. Of course, the worst school massacres occur in first world countries. For example, in the United States is where most of these attacks occur, mourning families, showing the darkest side of the human being.

The pain is more intense when it is revealed that the perpetrators of these attacks are young people, almost children. Victims of the social decomposition of our society.

The story told in the Black Space series takes place in Israel, a country in an area where political, religious and racial conflicts have been going on for decades. This brings into play in the plot other factors that we are not used to seeing in most of the series or movies we see in the West.

You have to understand some of the situations, behaviors of the characters, with customs of their own culture. Although compared to other series I have seen, this is the most conventional. It is adapted to be to everyone's taste and that is why Netflix distributes it.

There is a big difference with the miniseries Our Boys, which was from HBO and did delve into the two cultures at odds since ancient times. Black Space is a police thriller with the typical topics of the genre. It is still a good production of which I will tell you about its plot and my general opinion about the story.

Español

La serie israelí trata un tema espinoso. Hoy en día, la violencia dentro de las escuelas es una triste realidad en cualquier país del mundo. Por supuesto, las peores masacres escolares se dan en los países del primer mundo. Por ejemplo, en Estados Unidos es donde se producen la mayoría de este tipo de ataques, que enlutan a las familias, mostrando el lado más oscuro del ser humano.

El dolor es más intenso cuando se revela que los autores de estos ataques son jóvenes, casi niños. Víctimas de la descomposición social de nuestra sociedad.

La historia que se nos cuenta en la serie Black Space se desarrolla en Israel, un país en una zona donde los conflictos políticos, religiosos y raciales ocurren desde hace décadas. Esto hace que en la trama entren en juego otros factores que no estamos acostumbrados a ver en la mayoría de las series o películas que vemos en Occidente.

Hay que entender algunas de las situaciones, comportamientos de los personajes, costumbres de su propia cultura. Aunque en comparación con otras series que he visto, esta es la más convencional. Está adaptada para que sea del gusto de todos y quizás por eso la distribuye Netflix.

Hay una gran diferencia con la miniserie Our Boys, que era de HBOla cual sí profundizaba en las dos culturas enfrentadas desde la antigüedad. Black Space es un thriller policial con los tópicos propios del género. No deja de ser una buena producción de la que hablaré de su argumento y de mi opinión general sobre la historia.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-06-29-at-17.52.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What is the plot of Black Space?

At the respected Heritage High School, where even the mayor's son studies, a Memorial Day celebration is taking place. A whole section of students is listening to the speech and chanting. In the middle of the celebration, four people dressed in blue-collar costumes and unicorn masks show up by surprise and start shooting. The result is a lot of wounded and four dead students. The police cordon off the scene and Detective Rami Davidi, coming from a consultation with an ophthalmologist, arrives on the scene. While his pregnant wife, tries to communicate with him. Davidi has a reputation for using unorthodox techniques in his work, but he is an excellent cop and is one of the first to study the crime scene. He is also a former student of Heritage and has his own personal story that still haunts him. He has lost an eye, something that always reminds him of his past. At first they arrest some workers of Arab origin who were doing maintenance on the roof. But Rami Davidi, a tenacious detective, quickly deduces that the culprits of the attack are other students at the institute. The investigation to find the culprits begins. Who planned the attack? Who was involved? What is the motive? What is the student section hiding? What is this app called Black Space? Can Davidi handle the investigation? Will his personal problems affect him? Will the culprits be caught or will it all go unpunished?

¿Cuál es el argumento de Black Space?

En el respetado Heritage High School, donde estudia incluso el hijo del alcalde, tiene lugar una celebración del Día de los Caídos. Toda una sección de estudiantes está escuchando el discurso y los cánticos. En medio de la celebración, cuatro personas disfrazadas con trajes de obreros y máscaras de unicornio aparecen por sorpresa y comienzan a disparar. El resultado será un montón de heridos y cuatro estudiantes muertos. La policía acordona el lugar de los hechos y el detective Rami Davidi, que viene de una consulta con un oftalmólogo llega al lugar. Mientras su mujer embarazada, intenta comunicarse con él. Davidi tiene fama de utilizar técnicas poco ortodoxas en su trabajo, pero es un excelente policía y es uno de los primeros en estudiar la escena del crimen. Además, fue alumno de Heritage y tiene su propia historia personal que aún le persigue. Ha perdido un ojo, algo que siempre le recuerda su pasado. Al principio detienen a unos trabajadores de origen árabe que estaban haciendo el mantenimiento en la azotea. Pero Rami Davidi, un detective tenaz, deduce rápidamente que los culpables del ataque son otros estudiantes del instituto. Comienza la investigación para encontrar a los culpables. ¿Quién planeó el atentado? ¿Quién ha participado? ¿Cuál es el motivo? ¿Qué esconde la sección de estudiantes? ¿Qué es esa aplicación llamada Black Space? ¿Puede Davidi encargarse de la investigación? ¿Le afectarán sus problemas personales? ¿Se detendrá a los culpables o todo quedará impune?

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-29 at 17.53.10.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

My opinion

The first episode causes the effect of impact on the viewer. It is where the attack takes place, we see four people, we do not know if only men or there are women, with unicorn masks, perpetrating a brutal attack against a group of young students who are going to flee, trying to hide from what seems to be a tragic end for all.

The tension in those moments is perfectly captured on screen. I'm a fan of horror movies, but these don't scare me. On the other hand, these types of productions, in which we are shown events that we have seen news of in real life, do provoke a kind of terror in me. Nothing more terrifying than the reality we live every day, with so much evil in the minds of many.

The first episode grabs you, not only because of how well done the staging is, the protagonist Rami Davidi has enough magnetism to get us on his side. He's a cop going through a rough patch. His wife Miri is pregnant. The bombing at the high school he attended as a young man reminds him of events in his past that mark him and could make him lose control.

When he states that he believes that the attackers are students of the institute and not the Arabs arrested, the whole community of parents and the police will doubt his words. The series superficially shows us how the police can condemn innocent people, just because they are of Arab origin and do not believe that members of their own culture/religion can attack fellow students.

In the following episodes the series becomes more traditional. With the investigation led by Davidi to find the culprit. As always, one detective is not enough. The character of Morag Shmuel is introduced, a beautiful detective from the juvenile department, necessary because all the suspects are minors. Davidi will accept in a bad way, having to work together with Morag. Their relationship is typical of this kind of series, they start badly, but end up getting along very well, there will even be sexual attraction between them, creating another problem for Davidi.

Mi opinón

El primer episodio causa el efecto de impacto en el espectador. Es donde se produce el atentado, vemos a cuatro personas, no sabemos si sólo hombres o hay mujeres, con máscaras de unicornio, perpetrando un brutal ataque contra un grupo de jóvenes estudiantes que van a huir, intentando esconderse de lo que parece ser un trágico final para todos.

La tensión en esos momentos está perfectamente plasmada en la pantalla. Soy fan de las películas de terror, pero éstas no me dan miedo. En cambio, este tipo de producciones, en las que se nos muestran sucesos de los que hemos visto noticias en la vida real, sí me provocan una especie de terror. Nada más terrorífico que la realidad que vivimos a diario, con tanta maldad en la mente de muchos.

El primer episodio te atrapa, no sólo por lo bien realizada que está la puesta en escena, el protagonista Rami Davidi tiene el suficiente magnetismo para ponernos de su lado. Es un policía que pasa por una mala racha. Su mujer Miri está embarazada. El atentado en el instituto al que asistió de joven le recuerda hechos de su pasado que le marcan y podrían hacerle perder el control.

Cuando afirma que cree que los atacantes son alumnos del instituto y no los árabes detenidos, toda la comunidad de padres y la policía dudarán de sus palabras. La serie nos muestra superficialmente cómo la policía puede condenar a personas inocentes, sólo porque son de origen árabe y no creen que miembros de su propia cultura/religión puedan atacar a otros compañeros.

En los siguientes episodios la serie se vuelve más tradicional. Con la investigación dirigida por Davidi para encontrar al culpable. Como siempre, un detective no es suficiente. Se introduce el personaje de Morag Shmuel, una bella detective del departamento de menores, necesaria porque todos los sospechosos son menores. Davidi aceptará de mala manera, tener que trabajar junto a Morag. Su relación es la típica de este tipo de series, empiezan mal, pero acaban llevándose muy bien, incluso habrá atracción sexual entre ellos, creando otro problema para Davidi.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-06-29-at-17.54.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

There are many suspects and the viewers will receive clues in each episode, all the surviving students of the bombing seem to be hiding something. We won't know which ones are involved, each episode focuses on several suspects, thrilling us with each new discovery Davidi makes.

There is nothing groundbreaking in the series, the investigation unfolds and the screenwriters make us believe that a certain character is the culprit, only to let us know later that it is not him. If you like police investigations with several suspects, you will enjoy making your own theories. Could this be the one? But is this one acting strangely? What could be the motive? Why would they do this? It was entertaining to ask all those questions, but there also comes a point when I felt they were stretching the story. Especially when they spent time on the problems and personal lives of the young students. I wanted to see the police investigation and less of the kids' lives.

There are a lot of plot twists, in each episode, but they are also not of great impact. It is in the series finale that the biggest revelations occur. We learn how many young people were involved, and it won't be until the last episode that we fully discover what their plan is and who one of the people involved is, who until now seemed to have nothing to do with the whole thing.

The series addresses other issues, such as the school abuse suffered by a group of young people by others. It is also a criticism of the prevailing system, where the powerful get everything they want. The motivations of the aggressors may have a personal origin but then it is taken to another level, more political and social.

Being set in the present day, technology is an important factor in the story. The name of the series comes from the Black Space application used by all the students at the school to communicate with each other. An open source app designed to detect if they are being spied on by the police, although the police force's technology expert will give Davidi the keys so that the youngsters cannot detect that he is reading them by installing the app on his phone.

Black Space does not have the level of excellence of Our Boys, but it is an entertaining series and fans of police thrillers will enjoy it.

Son muchos sospechosos y los espectadores recibirán pistas en cada episodio, todos los alumnos supervivientes del atentado parecen ocultar algo. No sabremos cuáles son los implicados, cada episodio se centra en varios sospechosos, emocionándonos con cada nuevo descubrimiento que hace Davidi.

No hay nada rompedor en la serie, la investigación se desarrolla y los guionistas nos hacen creer que un determinado personaje es el culpable, para luego hacernos saber que no es él. Si te gustan las investigaciones policiales con varios sospechosos, disfrutarás haciendo tus propias teorías. ¿Podría ser éste? ¿Pero éste actúa de forma extraña? ¿Cuál podría ser el motivo? ¿Por qué lo harían? Fue entretenido hacerse todas esas preguntas, pero también llega un momento en que sentí que estaban estirando la historia. Especialmente cuando dedicaron tiempo a los problemas y la vida personal de los jóvenes estudiantes. Quería ver la investigación policial y menos la vida de los chicos.

Hay muchos giros argumentales, en cada episodio, pero tampoco son de gran impacto. Es en el final de la serie cuando se producen las mayores revelaciones. Nos enteramos de cuántos jóvenes estaban implicados, y no será hasta el último episodio cuando descubramos por completo el plan que tienen y quién es uno de los implicados que hasta ahora parecía no tener nada que ver con todo el asunto.

La serie aborda otros temas, como el abuso escolar que sufre un grupo de jóvenes por parte de otros. También es una crítica al sistema imperante, donde los poderosos consiguen todo lo que quieren. Las motivaciones de los agresores pueden tener un origen personal pero luego se lleva a otro nivel, más político y social.

Al estar ambientada en la actualidad, la tecnología es un factor importante en la historia. El nombre de la serie proviene de la aplicación Black Space que utilizan todos los alumnos del colegio para comunicarse entre sí. Una aplicación de código abierto diseñada para detectar si están siendo espiados por la policía, aunque el experto en tecnología del cuerpo policial le dará a Davidi las claves para que los jóvenes no puedan detectar que les está leyendo al instalar la aplicación en su teléfono.

Black Space no tiene el nivel de excelencia de Our Boys, pero es una serie entretenida y los aficionados al thriller policial la disfrutarán.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-29 at 17.50.35.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Characters / Personajes

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

The actors are unknown to me. They are famous people in Israel, where they have a history of working in film and television. There are a lot of young actors, because the story takes place in an educational institute. They all did well, I haven't seen any of their previous work, but since they are faces I don't know, that helps make their characters believable to me. The one who stands out the most is Davidi's character.

Los actores son desconocidos para mí. Son gente famosa en Israel, donde tienen una trayectoria de trabajo en el cine y la televisión. Hay muchos actores jóvenes, porque la historia se desarrolla en un instituto educativo. Todos lo hicieron bien, no he visto ninguno de sus trabajos anteriores, pero como son rostros que no conozco, eso ayuda a que sus personajes me resulten creíbles. Quien más destaca es el personaje de Davidi.

Actor Guri Alfi plays Rami Davidi. An excellent interpretation and physical change of the actor, which make the character attracts attention. The detail that he wears a glass eye, gives more character to the character. A stubborn and intelligent policeman who does not mind going against the orders of his boss, because he is willing to discover and catch the culprits of the terrible attack. His lack of discipline will get him into trouble. He is also haunted by memories of the past, when he was a high school student. At one point in the series his character will reach his limit, attraction to his new partner and not paying attention to his pregnant wife because of his obsession to solve the case. I think this character may appear in a new season, trying to solve another crime, if they decide to continue telling his story.

El actor Guri Alfi interpreta a Rami Davidi. Una excelente interpretación y cambio físico del actor, que hacen que el personaje llame la atención. El detalle de que lleve un ojo de cristal, le da más carácter al personaje. Un policía testarudo e inteligente al que no le importa ir en contra de las órdenes de su jefe, porque está dispuesto a descubrir y atrapar a los culpables del terrible atentado. Su falta de disciplina le traerá problemas. También le persiguen recuerdos del pasado, cuando era un estudiante de secundaria. En un momento de la serie su carácter llegará a su límite, la atracción por su nueva compañera y el hecho de no prestar atención a su mujer embarazada por su obsesión por resolver el caso. Creo que este personaje puede aparecer en una nueva temporada, tratando de resolver otro crimen, si deciden seguir contando su historia.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Reut Alush plays Murag Shmuel, the policewoman in charge of juveniles who will work alongside Davidi. At first the relationship will be strained, but then they will work as a team to solve the crime. There will be a little attraction between them that could jeopardize Davidi's marriage. The actress looks very pretty to me and I have seen absolutely nothing of her. All of her work is for Israeli film and television. She gives a perfect performance, acting as a support for the main character.

Reut Alush interpreta a Murag Shmuel, la policía encargada de los menores que trabajará junto a Davidi. Al principio la relación será tensa, pero luego trabajarán en equipo para resolver el crimen. Habrá una pequeña atracción entre ellos que podría poner en peligro el matrimonio de Davidi. La actriz me parece muy guapa y no he visto absolutamente nada de ella. Todos sus trabajos son para el cine y la televisión israelíes. Hace una interpretación perfecta, fungiendo de apoyo del personaje principal.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

There are more than 12 important characters, among policemen, high school teacher and students. Their names are difficult to learn and pronounce, I won't name them, if you want to know about each of them visit the series on IMDB. Perhaps among this group of young actresses is a future international star, remember that the current actress who plays Wonder Woman is from Israel.

Black Space is an excellent choice to watch a police thriller from a culture that seems so far away for those of us who live in the West. The language, the customs, all that makes the series more appealing. In my case because I am fascinated by learning and discovering other cultures through movies and television.

Like any good police story, there will be plot twists, suspects and a great mystery to solve. Who were the attackers and what was the motive? Each episode gives us clues as to the possible culprits, until we reach the grand finale, where a great tragedy may occur. What do you think will happen? You have to watch the series and then come tell me your opinion in the comments.

I hope you enjoy the series

Hay más de 12 personajes importantes, entre policías, profesor de instituto y estudiantes. Sus nombres son difíciles de aprender y pronunciar, no los nombraré, si quieres saber de cada uno de ellos visita la serie en IMDB. Quizás entre este grupo de jóvenes actrices se encuentre una futura estrella internacional, recordemos que la actual actriz que interpreta a la Mujer Maravilla es de Israel.

Black Space es una excelente opción para ver un thriller policial de una cultura que parece tan lejana para los que vivimos en Occidente. El idioma, las costumbres, todo eso hace que la serie sea más atractiva. En mi caso porque me fascina aprender y descubrir otras culturas a través del cine y la televisión.

Como toda buena historia policial, habrá giros argumentales, sospechosos y un gran misterio por resolver. ¿Quiénes fueron los atacantes y cuál fue el motivo? Cada episodio nos da pistas sobre los posibles culpables, hasta llegar al gran final, donde puede ocurrir una gran tragedia. ¿Qué crees que pasará? Tienes que ver la serie y luego venir a contarme tu opinión en los comentarios.

Disfruten de la serie

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.5/5

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-06-29 at 17.49.09.jpg

Source


lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Beast Must Die / TV SERIES REVIEWA Quiet Place 1 & 2 / TWO FILM REVIEWKød & Blod ( Wildland) / FILM REVIEW

lineahive.jpg

Join the community

lineahive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments