A Quiet Place 1 & 2 / TWO FILM REVIEW [Eng – Esp]

Two days ago I decided to watch the second part of the excellent "A Quiet Place". It's been three years since I saw the first movie, so I decided to refresh my memory and re-watch the first part and then the sequel. It was a wise decision, to have a clearer opinion of this story.

Hace dos días me decidí a ver la segunda parte de la excelente "A Quiet Place". Han pasado tres años desde que vi la primera película, así que decidí refrescar la memoria y volver a ver la primera parte y luego la secuela. Ha sido una decisión acertada, para tener una impresión más clara de la historia.

2021-06-26 at 16.37.png

Source 1 - Edited in photoshop - Source 2 - Source 3

lineahive.jpg

English


Before explaining the plot of each and my opinion, I want to point out two things.

First: if you haven't seen any of the movies yet, you might find some small spoilers, I will try not to, but at your own risk keep reading, I might miss them.

Second: To enjoy these movies, you must accept some rules of the universe created by John Krasinski, Scott Beck and Bryan Woods. There are things that might make you think: How is it possible that the mighty armies of the world didn't wipe out these creatures? How is it possible that a scientist can't find a way to fight the creatures and an ordinary citizen can do it from his hut? Can't they swim? But the creatures are aliens, no island can be safe, why isn't the house full of these creatures as the end of the first movie hinted at? Don't ask yourself too many questions, these are details that if we forget them, we will enjoy both films very much.

On the internet there is information, which many have taken from stills from the movie where newspaper clippings, news, etc are collected putting in context how these creatures came to earth and could not be stopped by the military. I'm not particularly interested in this information, because the less I know about the origins of these creatures, the better. There are things that don't need to be told.

The filmmaker seems very aware of this, even though these are absolutely commercial films, to be consumed by mass audiences, he doesn't make the mistake of leading us by the hand or spoon feeding us food to our mouths, as if we were babies who have to explain everything. I think this is the magic of what will make up the trilogy. Despite the details that need a little more logic, the director treats the viewer with respect, showing in images, without the need for a narrator explaining everything, as happens in other films.

Krasinski (director, screenwriter and actor of the film) manages to make a commercial product, where several genres converge, horror, science fiction, suspense, survival, post-apocalyptic world. The best thing is that he manages to make it all work very well. I was afraid that with the second film the story would lose steam, but that's not the case. Maybe the fact that three years have passed has an influence.

Does the formula repeat itself? Yes, it does, but seeing the two films one after the other made me admire it from a global perspective. Now it's clear to me that the plan is to close the story with a third part. When the future third installment is released, it will be like watching a single film divided into three acts.

At times, I liked the second film better, in which a couple of characters evolve naturally and with narrative arcs told in parallel more exciting than in the first.

Español

Antes de explicar la trama de cada una y mi opinión, quiero apuntar dos cosas.

Primero: si aún no has visto ninguna de las películas, puede que encuentres algún pequeño spoiler, intentaré no hacerlo, pero bajo tu propio riesgo sigue leyendo, puede que se me escape.

Segundo: Para disfrutar de estas películas, debes aceptar algunas reglas del universo creado por John Krasinski, Scott Beck y Bryan Woods. Hay cosas que pueden hacerte pensar: ¿Cómo es posible que los poderosos ejércitos del mundo no acabaron con estas criaturas? ¿Cómo es posible que un científico no encuentre la forma de luchar contra las criaturas y que un ciudadano de a pie lo haga desde su cabaña? ¿No pueden nadar? Pero las criaturas son extraterrestres, ninguna isla puede estar a salvo, ¿por qué la casa no está llena de estas criaturas como lo dejo entrever el final de la primera película? No te hagas muchas preguntas, son detalles que si los olvidamos, disfrutaremos mucho de ambos films.

En internet hay información, que muchos han sacado de los fotogramas de la película donde se recogen recortes de periódicos, noticias, etc poniendo en contexto como estas criaturas llegaron a la tierra y no pudieron ser detenidas por el ejército. No me interesa especialmente esta información, porque cuanto menos sepa sobre los orígenes de estas criaturas, mejor. Hay cosas que no necesitan ser contadas.

El cineasta parece muy consciente de ello, aunque son películas absolutamente comerciales, para ser consumidas por el público masivo, no comete el error de llevarnos de la mano o darnos la comida con una cuchara a la boca, como si fuéramos bebés que tienen que explicarlo todo. Creo que esta es la magia de lo que conformará la trilogía. A pesar de los detalles que necesitan un poco más de lógica, el director trata al espectador con respeto, mostrando en imágenes, sin necesidad de un narrador explicando todo, como ocurre en otros films.

Krasinski (director, guionista y actor de la película) consigue hacer un producto comercial, donde confluyen varios géneros, terror, ciencia ficción, suspense, supervivencia, mundo postapocalíptico. Lo mejor es que consigue que todo funcione muy bien. Temía que con la segunda película la historia perdiera fuelle, pero no es así. Quizá influya el hecho de que hayan pasado tres años.

¿Se repite la fórmula? Sí, lo hace, pero ver las dos películas una detrás de otra me hizo admirarla desde una perspectiva global. Ahora tengo claro que el plan y cerrar la historia con una tercera parte. Cuando se estrene la futura tercera entrega, será como ver una sola película dividida en tres actos.

Por momentos, me gusto más la segunda película, en la que un par de personajes evolucionan de forma natural y con arcos narrativos contados en paralelo más emocionantes que en la primera.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

A QUIET PLACE 1

2021-06-26-at-16.21.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What is the plot of A Quiet Place 1?

We meet the Abbout family, formed by Lee Abbout (played by the director, John Krasinski) his wife Evelyn (played by his wife in real life, the great actress Emily Blunt) and their three children: Regan, who is deaf. Marcus, the middle brother, and Beau, the Abbouts' youngest son. The story is set in the year 2020 , three years have passed since the creatures arrived on earth. These aliens are horrible, they are blind, but they have the power to hear the slightest noise. So the survivors, like the Abbout, have had to adapt to living in complete silence. For them it seems to have been easier since they knew sign language because Regan is deaf. During one of the searches for medicine and food, a tragedy occurs from which it will be difficult to recover, which erodes the relationship between Regan and her father, because she believes it was her fault and that her father does not love her. After a year they have a problem to solve, Evelyn is pregnant and they must retrofit their house so that when she delivers the baby, the crying will not be heard by the creatures. Will they manage to retrofit the basement and the box they have designed for when the baby is born? What are all those notes and research Lee has in the basement? Will Lee manage to rebuild the hearing implant for Regan? Will she be able to radio contact with other survivors? Will they manage to survive when they are attacked by the creatures?

¿Cuál es el argumento de A Quiet Place 1?

Conocemos a la familia Abbout, formada por Lee Abbout (interpretado por el director, John Krasinski) su esposa Evelyn (interpretada por su mujer en la vida real, la gran actriz Emily Blunt) y sus tres hijos: Regan, que es sorda. Marcus, el hermano mediano y Beau el hijo menor de los Abbout. La historia está ambientada en el año 2020 , han pasado tres años desde que las criaturas llegaron a la tierra. Estos alienígenas son horribles, son ciegos, pero tienen el poder de escuchar el más mínimo ruido. Por eso los supervivientes, como los Abbout, han tenido que adaptarse a vivir en completo silencio. Para ellos parece haber sido más fácil ya que conocían el lenguaje de signos porque Regan es sorda. Durante una de las búsquedas de medicinas y alimentos, ocurre una tragedia de la que será difícil recuperarse, lo que erosiona la relación entre Regan y su padre, porque ella cree que fue su culpa y que su padre no la quiere. Después de un año tienen un problema que resolver, Evelyn está embarazada y deben acondicionar su casa para que cuando dé a luz al bebé, el llanto no sea escuchado por las criaturas. ¿Conseguirán acondicionar el sótano y la caja que han diseñado para cuando nazca el bebé? ¿Qué son todas esas notas e investigaciones que Lee tiene en el sótano? ¿Conseguirá Lee reconstruir el implante auditivo para Regan? ¿Podrá contactar por radio con otros supervivientes? ¿Conseguirán sobrevivir cuando sean atacados por las criaturas?

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-26-at-16.20.gif

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

It was the movie that immersed us in this universe, an immediate success worldwide. The film was well received not only by the public, expert critics praised it. It was certain to have a sequel, besides, the ending was very open. What we didn't know was that it would take so long to see the sequel.

A Quiet Place balances the story very well, with a prologue that shows us the tragedy suffered by the family and without the need for anyone to explain anything, we quickly understand that there are some creatures that have the power of auditory hypersensitivity, they are horrible, it seems that they are protected by a kind of armor that is part of their body. At the slightest noise, you have to run, because they are fast, strong and they gut you.

I was surprised that the film worked so well, having so little dialogue and long scenes of complete silence. But Krasinski is a very skilled filmmaker at creating suspense, visually narrating the dangers each of the family members must face to survive.

La película que nos sumergió en este universo, un éxito inmediato en todo el mundo. La película fue bien recibida no sólo por el público, los críticos expertos la alabaron. Era seguro que tendría una secuela, además, el final era muy abierto. Lo que no sabíamos es que se tardaría tanto en ver la secuela.

A Quiet Place equilibra muy bien la historia, con un prólogo que nos muestra la tragedia que sufre la familia y sin necesidad de que nadie nos explique nada, rápidamente entendemos que hay unas criaturas que tienen el poder de la hipersensibilidad auditiva, son horribles, parece que están protegidos por una especie de armadura que forma parte de su cuerpo. Al menor ruido, hay que correr, porque son rápidos, fuertes y te destripan.

Me sorprendió que la película funcionara tan bien, teniendo tan pocos diálogos y largas escenas de completo silencio. Pero Krasinski es un cineasta muy hábil para crear suspense, narrando visualmente los peligros a los que debe enfrentarse cada uno de los miembros de la familia para sobrevivir.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-26-at-16.25.gif

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

There are few moments of peace in the story, because they must act very carefully to keep quiet. They cannot use metal cutlery to eat, they must walk barefoot, watch where they step. Living like this is a real nightmare. Marcus is the one who seems to be the most afraid. Regan is more reckless and will make some decisions that will put her in danger. Evelyn loves her children and like Lee, they are willing to do anything to protect them.

I loved the movie, the story, all the character development and the dangers they have to face will keep you glued to your seat. You will bite your nails in despair and one of the most emotional scenes will break your heart. I never thought an I love you in a movie like this would make me feel so bad.

As a beginning of the story, centered around the Abbout family and how they survive in a post apocalyptic world, it's really a very good movie. The ending left us with big questions and a desire to see a sequel. I wondered, can they make something as good, will they repeat the success? To see it, we had to wait three years?

Hay pocos momentos de paz en la historia, porque deben actuar con mucho cuidado para no hacer ruido. No pueden utilizar cubiertos de metal para comer, deben caminar descalzos, mirar por dónde pisan. Vivir así es una auténtica pesadilla. Marcus es el que parece tener más miedo. Regan es más imprudente y tomará algunas decisiones que la pondrán en peligro. Evelyn ama a sus hijos y al igual que Lee, están dispuestos a hacer cualquier cosa para protegerlos.

Me ha encantado la película, la historia, todo el desarrollo de los personajes y los peligros a los que se tienen que enfrentar te mantendrán pegado al asiento. Te morderás las uñas de la desesperación y una de las escenas más emotivas te romperá el corazón. Nunca pensé que un te quiero en una película como esta me haría sentir tan mal.

Como inicio de la historia, centrada en la familia Abbout y cómo sobreviven en un mundo post apocalíptico, es realmente una muy buena película. El final nos dejó con grandes interrogantes y el deseo de ver una secuela. Me preguntaba, ¿podrán hacer algo tan bueno, repetirán el éxito? Para verlo, tuvimos que esperar tres años...

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.10.59.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.19.52.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.06.21.jpg

Sources

linehive400normal.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahive.jpg

A QUIET PLACE 2

2021-06-26-at-16.38.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What is the plot of A Quiet Place 2?

Before we see what happened to the Abbouts, there is a prologue that places us in day 1 of this apocalypse, we observe how the family's life was, happy and normal in the village. We meet Emmet, a friend of the family and witness the moment when everything goes to hell. Then we move on to the moment where the end of the first one left us. It is dawn and what looked like a ferocious attack on the house by the creatures, the creatures have moved away. The home has been destroyed and the family must find a new place, Regan will take the initiative, with the notes left by his father and head to a place where there seem to be other survivors. At the end of this dangerous journey they meet Emmet, who lives in isolation after losing his entire family. After hearing a radio broadcast, Regan goes out to find the place where it is broadcast to fight the creatures with her device. Emmet sets out on a journey to return her to the shelter. Evelyn, must leave to get oxygen and medical supplies. Marcus and the baby will stay in the shelter. All scattered they will have to survive the ferocious creatures. Will Emmet be able to save Regan? What new dangers will they encounter along the way? Will they find the place where they broadcast the radio signal? Will Evelyn be able to save her children or will she have to endure another great loss? Will it be the end of the Abbout family?

¿Cuál es el argumento de A Quiet Place 2?

Antes de ver lo que les pasó a los Abbouts , hay un prólogo que no sitúa en el día 1 de este apocalipsis, observamos como era la vida de la familia , feliz y normal en el pueblo. Conocemos a Emmet, un amigo de la familia y somos testigos del momento en que todo se va al infierno. Luego pasamos al momento en el que nos dejó el final de la primera. Está amaneciendo y lo que parecía un feroz ataque a la casa por parte de las criaturas, estas de han alejado. El hogar ha sido destruido y la familia debe buscar un nuevo lugar, Regan tomará la iniciativa, con las notas dejadas por su padre y se dirigirá a un lugar donde parece hay otros sobrevivientes. Al final de este peligroso viaje conocen a Emmet, que vive aislado tras haber perdido a toda su familia. Tras escuchar una emisión de radio, Regan sale a buscar el lugar donde se emite para combatir a las criaturas con su aparato. Emmet emprende un viaje para regresarla al refugio. Evelyn, debe salir a buscar oxígeno y suministros médicos. Marcus y el bebé se quedarán en el refugio. Todos dispersos tendrán que sobrevivir a las feroces criaturas. ¿Podrá Emmet salvar a Regan? ¿Qué nuevos peligros encontrarán en el camino? ¿Encontrarán el lugar donde emiten la señal de radio? ¿Podrá Evelyn salvar a sus hijos o tendrá que soportar otra gran pérdida? ¿Será el fin de la familia Abbout?

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.43.42.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

If you thought you were going to see something of lesser intensity, you're wrong! Krasinski puts all his arsenal and returns to thrill us as in the first film, keeping the style and form, with exciting parallel montages, where we see the struggle for survival of each of the characters.

Evelyn is now more sure of herself, she has lost too much and will do the impossible not to suffer a new tragedy. Emily Blunt is an amazing actress and takes on her character with determination. Never underestimate a mother who is capable of doing the impossible to keep her children alive.

What I liked most about the sequel is the evolution of Regan and Marcus. The young actress Millicent Simmonds and Noha Jupe become more prominent and their characters get stronger in the final part of the film. She is the one who stands out the most, making a great team with Emmet, played by Cillian Murphy, an excellent addition to the cast and who we hope to know more about in the third film, because Marcus discovers something disturbing in Emmet's shelter.

Marcus, the most fearful character of the whole family, who in the first film trembled with fear at the possibility of making noise and the creatures arriving. He will have to overcome all his fears, assume that he is the man of the family and behave bravely as his father would have done, protecting his mother and little brother. A change and a progress that we will surely see in greater depth in the third film that will seal the end of the story.

Si pensabas que ibas a ver algo de menor intensidad, ¡te equivocas! Krasinski pone todo su arsenal y vuelve a emocionarnos como en la primera película, manteniendo el estilo y la forma, con emocionantes montajes paralelos, donde vemos la lucha por la supervivencia de cada uno de los personajes.

Evelyn está ahora más segura de sí misma, ha perdido demasiado y hará lo imposible por no sufrir una nueva tragedia. Emily Blunt es una actriz increíble y retoma su personaje con determinación. Nunca hay que subestimar a una madre que es capaz de hacer lo imposible por mantener a sus hijos con vida.

Lo que más me ha gustado de la secuela es la evolución de Regan y Marcus. La joven actriz Millicent Simmonds y Noha Jupe adquieren más protagonismo y sus personajes se fortalecen en la parte final de la película. Ella es la que más destaca, haciendo un gran equipo con Emmet, interpretado por Cillian Murphy, una excelente incorporación al reparto y del que esperamos saber más en la tercera película, porque Marcus descubre algo inquietante en el refugio de Emmet.

Marcus, el personaje más temeroso de toda la familia, que en la primera película temblaba de miedo ante la posibilidad de hacer ruido y que llegaran las criaturas. Tendrá que superar todos sus miedos, asumir que es el hombre de la familia y comportarse con valentía como lo hubiera hecho su padre, protegiendo a su madre y a su hermano pequeño. Un cambio y un progreso que seguramente veremos con mayor profundidad en la tercera película que sellara el final de la historia.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-06-26-at-16.40.gif

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

Those who saw the first part may not notice much a great detail. The physical change in Regan and Marcus. But if you do as I did, re-watch the first and then the second part, it is impossible not to notice the features and the height of the characters, since the filming of the second part took place in 2019, a year after the release of the first. Both of them are two teenagers and don't look so childish. But it's something that only caused me noise in the first scenes, then I downplayed it.

A Quiet Place 2 was supposed to be released last year, but as we all know, the Covid crisis delayed all releases. The age difference of the two young men I think will be even more noticeable in the final installment. I don't know if they are already working on it, I haven't looked for information about it, but I hope they hurry to shoot it, never mind that it will be released in 2023.

The ending is also open ended, to make way for the final third act of the Abbout family saga. I have a lot of faith that they will make a great closure. Krasinski has my full confidence, he has won me over with his talent to tell this story. I don't want him to go crazy and try to do something different. No. He just has to give a decent ending, but with the same dose of adventure, danger and excitement.

I also want it to be the ultimate closure to the story. But because of the success, the Hollywood studio will surely want to squeeze every last drop out of it. They will surely bring out prequels, spin offs, etc, anything to expand this universe. I don't care if they do it later, with other directors at the helm of those projects. I'll settle for Krasinski giving the Abbout family a good ending in the third film.

Los que vieron la primera parte hace años quizás no noten mucho un gran detalle. El cambio físico de Regan y Marcus. Pero si se hace como yo, volver a ver la primera y luego la segunda parte, es imposible no notar los rasgos y la altura de los personajes, ya que el rodaje de la segunda parte se realizó en 2019, un año después del estreno de la primera. Ambos son dos adolescentes y no parecen tan infantiles. Pero es algo que sólo me causó ruido en las primeras escenas, luego le resté importancia.

A Quiet Place 2 debía estrenarse el año pasado, pero como todos sabemos, la crisis de Covid retrasó todos los estrenos. La diferencia de edad de los dos jóvenes creo que se notará aún más en la última entrega. No sé si ya están trabajando en ella, no he buscado información al respecto, pero espero que se den prisa en rodarla, no importa que se estrene en 2023.

El final también es abierto, para dar paso al tercer acto final de la saga de la familia Abbout. Tengo mucha fe en que harán un gran cierre. Krasinski tiene toda mi confianza, me ha convencido con su talento para contar esta historia. No quiero que se vuelva loco e intente hacer algo diferente. No. Sólo tiene que dar un final digno, pero con la misma dosis de aventura, peligro y emoción.

También quiero que sea el cierre definitivo de la historia. Pero debido al éxito, el estudio de Hollywood seguramente querrá exprimir hasta la última gota. Seguramente sacarán precuelas, spin offs, etc, cualquier cosa para expandir este universo. Me da igual que lo hagan después, con otros directores al frente de esos proyectos. Me conformaré con que Krasinski le dé un buen final a la familia Abbout en la tercera película.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.38.59.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.41.50.jpg

2021-06-26 at 16.37.47.jpg

Sources

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

A Quiet Place is a sample of good commercial cinema, that if you want to do things right, you can do it, keeping the same style of the first film, expanding a little that world with the appearance of other dangers, in addition to the creatures and the hope of a possible happy ending.

How long will we wait? I don't know, but I hope it won't be that long. Have you seen the second part yet? Are you one of those who haven't even seen the first one? Did you like it? A Quiet Place 1 and 2 is my double recommendation for the weekend. Enjoy both movies and then let me know what you think in the comments.

A Quiet Place es una muestra de buen cine comercial, de que si se quieren hacer las cosas bien, se pueden hacer, manteniendo el mismo estilo de la primera película, ampliando un poco ese mundo con la aparición de otros peligros, además de las criaturas y la esperanza de un posible final feliz.

¿Cuánto tiempo esperaremos? No lo sé, pero espero que no sea tanto. ¿Has visto ya la segunda parte? ¿Eres de los que ni siquiera han visto la primera? ¿Te ha gustado? A Quiet Place 1 y 2 es mi doble recomendación para el fin de semana. Disfruta de ambas películas y luego déjame saber tu opinión en los comentarios.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

POSTERS

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Beast Must Die / TV SERIES REVIEWCensor / FILM REVIEWKød & Blod ( Wildland) / FILM REVIEW

lineahive.jpg

Join the community

lineahive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments