No Sudden Move & The Tomorrow War / TWO FILM REVIEW [Eng - Esp]

Two movies. One good and one bad. One is from HBO and the other from Amazon Prime. Two different genres. The first is a crime thriller set in 1950s America and the second is a sci-fi/action story with aliens who want to eat us. Which one is good and which one is bad? The answer depends on your criteria and tastes. Although you can imagine which one I liked.

Dos películas. Una buena y otra mala. Una es de HBO y la otra de Amazon Prime. Dos géneros diferentes. La primera es un thriller policíaco ambientado en la América de los años 50 y la segunda es una historia de ciencia ficción y acción con alienas que quieren comernos. Cuál es buena y cuál es mala? La respuesta depende de tu criterio y gustos. Aunque ya te puedes imaginar cuál me ha gustado a mí.

2021-07-03 at 18.05.png

Source 1 - Edited in photoshop - Source 2 - Source 3 - Avatar made in Bitmoji


linehivebyjc.jpg

English


I saw them last night, one right after the other. One of them was a great experience, I am a fan of the director and with great movie stars in his cast, I was able to enjoy his crime story. On the other hand the other was a torture to watch, it bored me, it has a great actor famous for being part of the Marvel universe, but neither the story, nor the way it was narrated left me satisfied. I make the two mini review and I recommend them to you, you decide which one is your favorite.

Español

Las vi anoche, una seguida de la otra. Una de ellas fue una gran experiencia, soy seguidor del director y con grandes estrellas del cine en su elenco, pude disfrutar de su historia criminal. En cambio la otra fue un suplicio verla, me aburrió, cuenta con un gran actor famoso por ser parte del universo Marvel, pero ni la historia, ni la forma en que fue narrada me dejaron satisfecho. hago las dos mini review y te las recomiendo, tu decides cual es tu favorita.


lineahivedelgada.jpg

NO SUDDEN MOVE

2021-07-03 at 17.35.56.jpg

Source


lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of "No Sudden Move"?

Curt Goynes is an African-American criminal who is in trouble with several mob bosses and criminals who want to kill him, including Frank Capelli. One day he is hired by a mysterious man who claims to represent a crime syndicate that is about to enter Detroit. He will have to work with Ronald Russo, another criminal in trouble with Capelli and Charley, the youngest of the three and volatile character. The mission is very simple, kidnap Matt wertz and his family, to force him to remove some important documents from the automotive company where he works. As usual, things get out of control. Curt and Ronald must work together to find out who is behind the whole thing, win a large amount of money and stay alive. Will they succeed? Who is behind the whole plot? Why are these secret documents so important? What does the automobile industry have to do with it all? Who will get all the money? Who will be left alive in this contemporary noir?

¿Cuál es el argumento de "No Sudden Move"?

Curt Goynes es un delincuente afroamericano que tiene problemas con varios jefes de la mafia y criminales que quieren matarlo, entre ellos Frank Capelli. Un día es contratado por un misterioso hombre que dice representar a un sindicato del crimen que va a entrar en Detroit. Tendrá que trabajar con Ronald Russo, otro criminal en problemas con Capelli y Charley, el más joven de los tres y de carácter volátil. La misión es muy sencilla, secuestrar a Matt wertz y a su familia, para obligarle a retirar unos documentos importantes de la empresa de automoción donde trabaja. Como siempre, las cosas se salen de control. Curt y Ronald deben trabajar juntos para descubrir quién está detrás de todo el asunto, ganar una gran cantidad de dinero y seguir con vida. ¿Tendrán éxito? ¿Quién está detrás de toda la trama? ¿Por qué son tan importantes estos documentos secretos? ¿Qué tiene que ver la industria del automóvil con todo esto? ¿Quién se llevará todo el dinero? ¿Quién quedará vivo en este noir contemporáneo?


linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.44.gif

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

Opinion

Released on HBOmax, it is the new film by the great Steven Soderbergh who brings to the screen a script by Ed Solomon, screenwriter of excellent films like Now You See Me, the 2000 adaptation of Charlie's Angels and the Bill & Ted trilogy.

I was really looking forward to seeing Soderbergh's latest, because he's accompanied by an all-star cast: Don Cheadle, Benicio del Toro; Matt Damon, John Hamm, Brendan Fraser, Ray Liotta, Kieran Culkin and the guy from A Quiet Place, Noah Jupe. Fuck, with all these names and knowing it was a crime story, I couldn't wait any longer and saw it as soon as it was released. I refrained from watching the trailer, I went straight to the movie.

You can already tell that this was the one I liked and the one I consider good. I like to start with the good, later I will tell you why I found the other movie a fiasco.

Soderbergh takes us back to the 50's, with a story that handles all the elements of American film noir, which had its greatest boom between the 40's and 50's. Not only gets a beautiful setting of the time, but uses characters characteristic of the genre, antiheroes, corrupt cops and femme fatale.

Opinión

Estrenada en HBOmax, es la nueva película del gran Steven Soderbergh que lleva a la pantalla un guión de Ed Solomon, guionista de excelentes películas como Now You See Me, la adaptación de 2000 de Los Ángeles de Charlie y la trilogía Bill & Ted.

Tenía muchas ganas de ver lo último de Soderbergh, porque le acompaña un reparto de lujo: Don Cheadle, Benicio del Toro; Matt Damon, John Hamm, Brendan Fraser, Ray Liotta, Kieran Culkin y el chico de Un lugar tranquilo, Noah Jupe. Joder, con todos estos nombres y sabiendo que era una historia de crímenes, no pude esperar más y la vi en cuanto se estrenó. Me abstuve de ver el tráiler, fui directamente a la película.

Esta fue la que me gustó y la que considero buena. Me gusta empezar por lo bueno, más adelante contaré por qué la otra película me pareció un fiasco.

Soderbergh nos traslada a los años 50, con una historia que maneja todos los elementos del cine negro americano, que tuvo su mayor auge entre los años 40 y 50. No sólo consigue una bella ambientación de la época, sino que utiliza personajes característicos del género, antihéroes, policías corruptos y femme fatale.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.43.gif

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

The main names are male actors, but there is no lack of the typical femme fatale that was always part of these criminal stories. Although the three important female characters in the story have less footage, they are fundamental to close all the plot arcs.

The great success of the filmmaker is that he knew how to mix the classic atmosphere of the old movies of the fifties, with his modern style and a touch of black humor present in almost all the characters. Especially Benicio del Toro, who was my favorite, forming with Don Cheadle a pair of criminals who will be forced to work together, but with a mutual distrust, because at any moment a betrayal can come.

The story introduces a critique of the business sector, specifically the automobile area of the 50's, where the main American industries that produced automobiles had made a secret pact and hid information about the negative factors that the vehicles they manufactured produced produced on health and the environment.

With all this real historical context, we are told this excellent fictional story, where a couple of criminals are involved in an affair where the powerful hands of businessmen.

Like all good noir, the ending is bittersweet. Not everyone will come out unscathed, blood will have to be spilled and old debts will have to be settled with the crime bosses. Will our protagonists be able to win or will their bodies be left lying on the asphalt?

Fans of crime stories will enjoy a work that seems to be taken from the past, but the director's style makes it more interesting and very nice to watch. Of the two films I review, this is the one I recommend 100%.

Los nombres principales son actores masculinos, pero no falta la presencia de la típica femme fatale que siempre formó parte de estas historias criminales. Aunque los tres personajes femeninos importantes de la historia tienen menos metraje, son fundamentales para cerrar todos los arcos argumentales.

El gran acierto del cineasta es que supo mezclar el ambiente clásico de las viejas películas de los cincuenta, con su estilo moderno y un toque de humor negro presente en casi todos los personajes. Especialmente Benicio del Toro, que fue mi favorito , conformando con Don Cheadle una pareja de delincuentes que se verán obligados a trabajar juntos, pero con una desconfianza mutua, pues en cualquier momento puede llegar una traición.

La historia introduce una crítica al sector empresarial, concretamente al área de la automóviles de los años 50, donde las principales industrias americanas que producían automóviles habían hecho un pacto secreto y ocultaban información sobre los factores negativos que los vehículos que fabricaban producían sobre la salud y el medio ambiente.

Con todo este contexto histórico real, se nos cuenta esta excelente historia de ficción, donde un par de delincuentes se ven envueltos en un asunto donde las poderosas manos de los empresarios.

Como todo buen noir, el final es agridulce. No todos saldrán indemnes, habrá que derramar sangre y saldar viejas deudas con los jefes del crimen. ¿Serán capaces de ganar nuestros protagonistas o sus cuerpos quedarán tendidos en el asfalto?

Los aficionados a las historias policíacas disfrutarán de una obra que parece sacada del pasado, pero el estilo del director la hace más interesante y muy bonita de ver. De las dos películas que reseño, ésta es la que recomiendo al 100%.


linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.45.gif

2021-07-03 at 17.46.23.jpg

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

Trailer

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

THE TOMORROW WAR

2021-07-03 at 17.35.06.jpg

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

What is the plot of The Tomorrow War?

Dan Forester is a man of science, very smart, when he was in the army he was sent to Iraq. Now he has a beautiful wife named Emmy and a little nine-year-old daughter, Muri. The daughter is fascinated by science, like her father. Dan has a bad relationship with his father and is not accepted for a job he was hoping to get. But his life and everyone else's will change, when a time portal opens and soldiers arrive from the future warning that in 30 years there will be an invasion of horrible Aliens that will exterminate the human race. To prevent this, they come from the future to recruit as many people as possible to go and fight the war against the aliens in the future. Dan will be compulsorily recruited and selected to go to the future. He will try to escape, but then, because of problems with his father and because he is also a patriot who wants to protect his daughter's future, he embarks on this dangerous war. What will happen in the future? What are these creatures like? Where do they come from? Will humanity be exterminated? Will no one be able to save the world? Will there be no future?

¿Cuál es la trama de The Tomorrow War?

Dan Forester es un hombre de ciencia, muy inteligente, cuando estaba en el ejército fue enviado a Irak. Ahora tiene una hermosa esposa llamada Emmy y una pequeña hija de nueve años: Muri. La hija está fascinada por la ciencia, como su padre. Dan tiene una mala relación con su padre y no es aceptado en un trabajo que esperaba conseguir. Pero su vida y la de todo el mundo cambiará, cuando se abra un portal del tiempo y lleguen soldados del futuro advirtiendo que en 30 años habrá una invasión de horribles Aliens que exterminarán a la raza humana. Para evitarlo, vienen del futuro para reclutar al mayor número posible de personas para que vayan a luchar la guerra contra los alienígenas en el futuro. Dan será reclutado obligatoriamente y seleccionado para ir al futuro. Intentará escapar, pero entonces, por los problemas con su padre y porque también es un patriota que quiere proteger el futuro de su hija, se embarca en esa peligrosa guerra. ¿Qué ocurrirá en el futuro? ¿Cómo son estas criaturas? ¿De dónde vienen? ¿Será exterminada la humanidad? ¿Nadie podrá salvar el mundo? ¿No habrá futuro?


linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.50.gif

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

Opinion

It is a film distributed by Amazon Prime and directed by Chris McKay, a filmmaker who has had more success with animated productions for film and television. The Lego Movie, The Lego Batman Movie and Robot Chicken are some of his best works. He also has experience as a producer and in special effects.

He moves away from animated productions to direct this film which I thought would be a good science fiction story. Written by Zach Dean, it probably looked very good on paper, but the result, for me, was lousy.

To explain all the negatives and why I consider it a bad movie, I may miss some spoilers, having to describe some scenes that I found too absurd.

It's a popcorn movie. Just like Army of the Dead was. But if all the Snyder haters criticized his movie, I can't imagine what they'll think of this movie, which is a total waste of time as an entertainment product.Why? Because everything fails, both its story and its weak characters and ridiculous moments, devoid of emotion.

Something I found absurd is that in the first scenes (Spoiler Alert) there is a party at Dan Forester's house and also those present are attentive to a soccer match. It looks like it's the final of a World Cup. I don't know where the scriptwriter got it from, being American, that we are going to believe that all those people are fans of the Brazilian soccer team. Here I realized that the thing was wrong. The sports of that country are American soccer and baseball. That scene loses all credibility. It made me laugh. When you see it you will understand.

The worst was yet to come, the arrival of the people from the future when Brazil is going to score the winning goal. Hahaha. From here on, I decided that I wasn't going to take the movie seriously, which is fine, for example in my review of days gone by, it was a movie from Uruguay that was not to be taken seriously. The problem comes when the director of The Tomorrow War wants you to take it seriously. Because of that, it all ends in disaster.

Opinión

Es una película distribuida por Amazon Prime y dirigida por Chris McKay, un cineasta que ha tenido más éxito con las producciones de animación para cine y televisión. La Lego Película, La Lego Película de Batman y Robot Chicken son algunos de sus mejores trabajos. Además, tiene experiencia como productor y en efectos especiales.

Se aleja de las producciones de animación para dirigir esta película que pense seria una buena historia de ciencia ficción. Escrita por Zach Dean, seguramente tenía muy buena pinta sobre el papel, pero el resultado, para mí, ha sido pésimo.

Para explicar todo lo negativo y por qué la considero una mala película, puede que se me escape algún spoiler, al tener que describir algunas escenas que me han parecido demasiado absurdas.

Es una película palomitera. Al igual que lo fue El Ejército de los Muertos. Pero si todos los haters de Snyder criticaron su película, no puedo imaginar lo que pensarán de esta película, que es una total pérdida de tiempo como producto de entretenimiento. ¿Por qué? Porque todo falla, tanto su historia como sus débiles personajes y momentos ridículos, carentes de emoción.

Algo que me pareció absurdo es que en las primeras escenas (Spoiler Alert) hay una fiesta en la casa de Dan Forester y además los presentes están atentos a un partido de fútbol. Parece que es la final de un mundial de fútbol. No sé de dónde sacó el guionista, siendo americano, que vamos a creer que toda esa gente es hincha de la selección brasileña de fútbol. Aquí me di cuenta de que la cosa estaba mal. Los deportes de ese país son el fútbol americano y el béisbol. Esa escena pierde toda credibilidad. Me hizo reír. Cuando lo veas lo entenderás.

Lo peor estaba por llegar, la llegada de la gente del futuro cuando Brasil va a marcar el gol de la victoria. Jajaja. A partir de aquí, decidí que no me iba a tomar la película en serio, lo cual está bien, por ejemplo en mi crítica de días pasados, se trataba de una película de Uruguay que no había que tomar en serio. El problema viene cuando el director de The Tomorrow War quiere que te la tomes en serio. Por eso, todo termina en un desastre.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.48.gif

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

They missed the opportunity to make a critique against an oppressive recruitment system. Of course, ye don't rule the blond ex-president, No more Hollywood criticism. In the movie people are forced to fight in a war in the future, if they refuse they will imprison their family members. In other words, a dictatorship, but the script does not go into those deep waters.

Those selected are people of any sex and race, it only matters that they are over 40 years old, because they select those who will already be dead in 30 years. The group of those selected along with our protagonist handle the typical stereotypes, the tough, the fearful that causes laughter, those who will sacrifice themselves for their country, etc. But none of them have enough ability to make us feel emotion or care about their fate.

The choice of Chris Pratt and his performance were not to my liking. The scenes with his family, wife, father and daughter, although the director tries to make them emotional, had the opposite effect on me. Slow motion, surprised faces, hugs, tears, embellished with epic music, none of it works.

The predictability of the story is another issue that bothered me. Too predictable everything. When Forester travels to the future, I guessed right away the identity of a character he will meet at that time. I say no more, because I think many without seeing it, guessed it.

Movies with time travel will always have holes in the plot because of the effects that the change of events can have. What in other productions, I can let pass and not look for scientific explanation, in this one is different, because it is made with that epic style, but that have no logic whatsoever. Just the fact of making people travel from the past to the future, creates a butterfly effect that would change the whole story, but this is more fiction than science.

The Tomorrow War was a disappointment. I recommend it because for some it may be the new sci-fi masterpiece (sarcasm) and they may like it.

Perdieron la oportunidad de hacer una crítica contra un sistema de reclutamiento opresivo. Por supuesto, ye no gobierna el ex presidente rubio, No más críticas de Hollywood. En la película se obliga a la gente a luchar en una guerra en el futuro, si se niegan encarcelarán a sus familiares. Es decir, una dictadura, pero el guión no entra en esas aguas profundas.

Los seleccionados son personas de cualquier sexo y raza, sólo importa que tengan más de 40 años, porque seleccionan a los que ya estarán muertos en 30 años. El grupo de seleccionados junto con nuestro protagonista manejan los típicos estereotipos, el duro, el miedoso que causa risa, los que se sacrificarán por su país, etc. Pero ninguno de ellos tiene la suficiente capacidad para hacernos sentir emoción o preocuparnos por su destino.

La elección de Chris Pratt y su actuación no fueron de mi agrado. Las escenas con su familia, esposa, padre e hija, aunque el director intenta que sean emotivas, me causaron el efecto contrario. Cámara lenta, caras de sorpresa, abrazos, lágrimas, adornadas con música épica, nada de eso funciona.

La previsibilidad de la historia es otra cuestión que me molestó. Demasiado predecible todo. Cuando Forester viaja al futuro, yo adivine enseguida la identidad de un personaje que se encontrará en esa época. No digo más, porque creo que muchos sin verlo, lo adivinaron.

Las películas con viajes en el tiempo siempre tendrán agujeros en la trama por los efectos que puede tener el cambio de los hechos. Lo que en otras producciones puedo dejar pasar y no buscarle explicación científica, en esta es diferente, porque el director se empña en querer darle toques épicos. Sólo el hecho de hacer viajar a personas del pasado al futuro, crea un efecto mariposa que cambiaría toda la historia, pero esto es más ficción que ciencia.

The Tomorrow War fue una decepción. La recomiendo porque para algunos puede ser la nueva obra maestra de la ciencia ficción (sarcasmo) y les puede gustar.


linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-03-at-17.48w.gif

2021-07-03 at 17.50.00.jpg

Source


linehivebyjc.jpg

Trailer

Source


lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

No Sudden Move and The Tomorrow War are my two recommendations to watch this weekend. I watched them back to back. One I liked, the other I didn't. The first I thought was excellent, the second a lousy movie. But you may think otherwise. For you the first one can be bad and the second one good. Haha it depends on your taste, your mood and the kind of movie you want to spend your time with. Have you seen both? Just one? Tell me your opinion in the comments.

See you next review!

No Sudden Move y The Tomorrow War son mis dos recomendaciones para ver este fin de semana. Las vi una detrás de la otra. Una me gustó, la otra no. La primera me pareció excelente, la segunda una película pésima. Pero tú puedes pensar lo contrario. Para ti la primera puede ser la mala y la segunda buena . Jaja depende de tus gustos, tu estado de ánimo y el tipo de película con la que quieras pasar tu tiempo. ¿Has visto las dos? ¿Sólo una? Cuéntame tu opinión en los comentarios.

¡Hasta la próxima crítica!


lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Last Matinee (Al morir la matinée ) / FILM REVIEWA Quiet Place 1 & 2 / TWO FILM REVIEW Black Space / TV SERIE REVIEW


linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community


linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments