The Last Matinee (Al morir la matinée ) / FILM REVIEW [Eng - ESp]

A Uruguayan slasher that was recommended to me that I had been waiting to see for days. It was a complete pleasure, I had a lot of fun watching the movie last night. A mysterious killer will cause terror among the attendees of an old movie theater, in this story that takes place in the city of Montevideo during the nineties.

Un slasher uruguayo que me recomendaron tenia días esperando ver. Fue un completo placer, me divertí mucho viendo la película anoche. Un misterioso asesino causará el terror entre los asistentes a un viejo cine, en esta historia que se desarrolla en la ciudad de Montevideo durante los años noventa.

2021-07-01 at 20.57.00.jpg

Source - Edited in photoshop

lineahive.jpg

English

Maximiliano Contenti is a Uruguayan filmmaker whose work is unknown to me. I have not seen any of his previous works. It is paradoxical that being an author from a country so close to mine, I did not know him. Contenti has in his filmography, short films, documentaries and a couple of films where he partly tackled the horror genre: Muñeco Viviente V and Neptunia, the latter co-directed with other talented filmmakers. Sadly I have not seen either, but hope to do so someday.

During the last few years nostalgia has been used to create productions that connect both with the audience that lived a certain era and to captivate new generations, we have as a maximum example the Netflix series Stranger Things, which uses that resource as a main base to capture the audience.

I don't know if it was the filmmaker's intention, but the nostalgia for the nineties (the film is set at the beginning of that decade) and the influence of the horror that was produced in those years, is noticeable from the beginning of the film. You can feel that the director liked the slasher film subgenre, where a killer, who many times we don't even see his face, is in charge of killing as many characters, preferably young and always having a girl as the main character.

One of the first images, in which a man in a trench coat enters the movie theater where the plot unfolds, with music that reminded me of the genre that preceded the popular American slasher. I am referring to the Italian giallo. Surely the filmmaker took the opportunity to pay tribute to both horror subgenres that marked different eras of the seventh art.

I enjoyed as the character of the child when, hidden in the cinema, he sees the horror film and eats a candy bar. Each death together with the crazy and exaggerated final scenes were extremely pleasurable for me.

Español

Maximiliano Contenti es un cineasta uruguayo cuya obra me es desconocida. No he visto ninguna de sus trabajos anteriores. Es paradójico que siendo un autor de un país tan cercano al mío, no lo conociera. Contenti tiene en su filmografía, cortometrajes, documentales y un par de películas donde abordó en parte el género de terror: Muñeco Viviente V y Neptunia, esta última codirigida con otros talentosos cineastas. Lamentablemente no he visto ninguna de las dos, pero espero hacerlo algún día.

Durante los últimos años se ha utilizado la nostalgia para crear producciones que conecten tanto con el público que vivió una determinada época como para cautivar a las nuevas generaciones, tenemos como máximo ejemplo la serie de Netflix Stranger Things, que utiliza ese recurso como base principal para captar al público.

No sé si era la intención del cineasta, pero la nostalgia por los noventa (la película está ambientada a principios de esa década) y la influencia del terror que se producía en esos años, se nota desde el principio de la película. Se siente que al director le gustaba el subgénero del cine slasher, donde un asesino, al que muchas veces ni siquiera le vemos la cara, se encarga de matar a otros tantos personajes, preferentemente jóvenes y teniendo siempre como protagonista a una chica.

Una de las primeras imágenes, en la que un hombre con gabardina entra en la sala de cine donde se desarrolla la trama, con una música que me recordó al género que precedió al popular slasher americano. Me refiero al giallo italiano. Seguramente el cineasta aprovechó para rendir homenaje a ambos subgéneros de terror que marcaron diferentes épocas del séptimo arte.

Disfruté como el personaje del niño cuando, escondido en el cine, ve el fil de horror y se come una chocolatina. Cada muerte junto a las locas y exageradas escenas finales me resultaron sumamente placenteras.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-07-01-at-20.58.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What is the plot of the film?

Ana goes to the Ópera cinema in Montevideo, where her father is in charge and projectionist. She has learned to operate the projector. It is a rainy night, the audience is scarce for the horror movie to be screened. A shy young man accompanied by a beautiful woman who desires a more intense thrill than watching a movie. Two old men who seem to be regular visitors to the cinema, one of them seems to be crazy. Three young men who are tired of waiting for a friend and, after drinking a flask of alcohol, enter the show. A pretty young woman who has been left alone and a boy who hides in the big seats to watch the horror movie. Also in the theater is the usher, but what neither knows is that a ruthless killer has bought a ticket to see the movie. Among his plans is to kill them all and gouge out their eyes. Will they be able to save themselves from the mysterious killer's evil plans? Who will be the first to die? Who is the mad killer? Will anyone be left alive or will they all live their last performance?

¿Cuál es el argumento de la película?

Ana va al cine Ópera de Montevideo, del que su padre es encargado y proyeccionista. Ella ha aprendido a manejar el proyector. Es una noche lluviosa, el público es escaso para la película de terror que se va a proyectar. Un joven tímido acompañado de una bella mujer que desea una emoción más intensa que ver una película. Dos hombres viejos que parecen ser visitantes habituales del cine, uno de ellos parece estar loco. Tres jóvenes que se han cansado de esperar a un amigo y, tras beber una petaca de alcohol, entran en la función. Una bonita joven que se ha quedado sola y un chico que se esconde en las butacas grandes para ver la película de terror. En el cine también está el acomodador, pero lo que ninguno sabe es que un despiadado asesino ha comprado una entrada para ver la película. Entre sus planes está matarlos a todos y extraerles los ojos. ¿Podrán salvarse de los perversos planes del misterioso asesino? ¿Quién será el primero en morir? ¿Quién es el loco asesino? ¿Quedará alguien vivo o para todos sera la última función?

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-07-01 at 20.57.52.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

Opinion

One recommendation for enjoying the film is not to take it too seriously. It is a full-fledged slasher, which handles the elements of this subgenre. There are young characters a bit silly, others very shy, the girl who wants sex, the hero is a pretty and studious young woman. As the deaths occur they are more explicit and in the last third the gore is present to give us one of the scenes that for me was one of the funniest.

I understand that there are viewers who don't like movies that show blood scenes at all, therefore, this movie is not for that type of viewer. There are scenes that are clearly seen to be special effects done on a modest budget, but it can still be disturbing to sensitive minds.

Those who follow my reviews know that I am an unhinged person who delights in these films. On this occasion the pleasure is double, because as I explained at the beginning of the post, there is a touch of nostalgia and homage to a subgenre that was screened in the movie theaters of the time, where young people went to see those gory and funny images.

Set in a cinema of those that almost do not exist. For example, in my country almost all of them closed down when the multiplex boom took place, completely changing what used to be a wonderful experience.

In those days, a girl would be invited to the movies, they would choose a horror movie, so that she would be scared and hug her companion. In the movie there is a couple, only the guy turns out to be a bit of a dork and she is the one who takes the initiative.

The group of friends who enter the show only to make noise, annoy and make jokes typical of their age. In the film they are represented by three friends, two boys and a girl. When they enter, she will be a little drunk, but when the blood starts to flow, the effect of the alcohol quickly disappears.

Opinión

Una recomendación para disfrutar de la película es no tomarla demasiado en serio. Es un slasher en toda regla, que maneja los elementos de este subgénero. Hay personajes jóvenes un poco tontos, otros muy tímidos, la chica que quiere sexo, el héroe es una joven bonita y estudiosa. A medida que se producen las muertes son más explícitas y en el último tercio el gore se hace presente para darnos una de las escenas que para mí fue de las más divertidas.

Entiendo que hay espectadores a los que no les gustan para nada las películas que muestran escenas de sangre, por lo tanto, esta película no es para ese tipo de espectador. Hay escenas que se ven claramente que son efectos especiales hechos con un presupuesto modesto, pero aun así puede ser perturbador para las mentes sensibles.

Los que siguen mis críticas saben que soy una persona desquiciada que se deleita con estas películas. En esta ocasión el placer es doble, porque como he explicado al principio del post, hay un toque de nostalgia y homenaje a un subgénero que se proyectaba en las salas de cine de la época, donde los jóvenes acudían a ver esas imágenes sangrientas y divertidas.

Ambientado en un cine de esos que casi no existen. Por ejemplo, en mi país casi todos cerraron cuando se produjo el boom de los multicines, cambiando por completo lo que antes era una experiencia maravillosa.

En aquellos tiempos, una chica era invitada al cine, elegían una película de terror, para que se asustara y abrazara a su acompañante. En la película hay una pareja, sólo que el chico resulta ser un poco tonto y ella es la que toma la iniciativa.

El grupo de amigos que entra en la función sólo para hacer ruido, molestar y hacer bromas propias de su edad. En la película están representados por tres amigos, dos chicos y una chica. Cuando entran, ella estará un poco borracha, pero cuando la sangre empieza a fluir, el efecto del alcohol desaparece rápidamente.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

5-scaled.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

The deaths are exaggerated, even some are not very believable if we focus on reality, but I told you not to take it seriously. Every time the deaths are more and more far-fetched, but it's part of the game that these movies propose and you just have to enjoy them.

The character I liked the most is the child, who sneaks into the cinema and hides between the seats, silently watching the horror movie that is going to be screened, which is going to cause him real fear and he does not know that soon he will witness something that will traumatize him for the rest of his life, I dare say that he will be a serial killer. But for that you have to pay attention to the staircase scene at the beginning and the whole final part of the movie.

I could notice a flaw in the pace of the narration, the film lasts about an hour and 28 minutes, but there are scenes that drag on longer than they should, but if we overlook that detail, we will be rewarded with a totally insane final part, with one of the best scenes that for some will be terrifying, but for others it will be very funny. In my case, I was dying laughing. Attention, it was a laugh for good, because I liked the scene.

The performances, some actors did better than others, but it's not a dramatic film looking for big acting awards. Ana's father, the main character, I thought he did excellent, despite his limited screen time. The crazy old man who doesn't want to leave the theater also, the boy and the girl who accompany the shy young man seemed to me to be correct performances.

Do I recommend it? Yes, I recommend it, although I know that few people will decide to see it. Did I like it? Yes, I loved the film, for everything I explained and also for being a production of a Latin American country, where not so many films are produced and that they dared to make a horror genre film, in a continent where we are more accustomed to social political cinema. I was fascinated with the director, with his daring proposal and according to an interview he gave to the media, it was an idea he had been developing since 2010. Produced by his own company Yukoh Films and with a script written by his friend Manuel Facal. The result is Al morir la Matinee, which was screened at the Mar del Plata Festival: official selection of the Ibero-American competition last year and has been recommended by followers of the genre. I think it has also received some awards, but I didn't have time to look it up. You can do your own search on the internet if you are interested in this information.

Las muertes son exageradas, incluso algunas no son muy creíbles si nos centramos en la realidad, pero ya te dije que no te lo tomaras en serio. Cada vez las muertes son más rebuscadas, pero es parte del juego que proponen estas películas y sólo hay que disfrutarlas.

El personaje que más me ha gustado es el del niño, que se cuela en el cine y se esconde entre las butacas, observando en silencio la película de terror que se va a proyectar, lo que le va a causar verdadero miedo y no sabe que pronto va a presenciar algo que le va a traumatizar para el resto de su vida, me atrevo a decir que será un asesino en serie. Pero para eso hay que prestar atención a la escena de las escaleras del principio y a toda la parte final de la película.

Pude notar un fallo en el ritmo de la narración, la película dura aproximadamente una hora y 28 minutos, pero hay escenas que se alargan más de lo debido, pero si pasamos por alto ese detalle, nos veremos recompensados con una parte final totalmente demencial, con una de las mejores escenas que para algunos será terrorífica, pero para otros será muy divertida. En mi caso, me moría de risa. Atención, fue una risa para bien, porque la escena me gustó.

Las actuaciones, algunos actores lo hicieron mejor que otros, pero no es una película dramática que busque grandes premios de actuación. El padre de Ana, el protagonista, me pareció que lo hizo excelente, a pesar de su escaso tiempo en pantalla. El viejo loco que no quiere salir del teatro también, el chico y la chica que acompañan al joven tímido me parecieron actuaciones correctas.

¿La recomiendo? Sí la recomiendo, aunque sé que poca gente se decidirá a verla. ¿Me ha gustado? Sí, me encantó la película, por todo lo que expliqué y también por ser una producción de un país latinoamericano, donde no se producen tantas películas y que se atrevieron a hacer una película de género de terror, en un continente donde estamos más acostumbrados al cine político social. Quedé fascinada con el director, con su atrevida propuesta y que según una entrevista que dio a los medios, era una idea que venía desarrollando desde el 2010. Producida por su propia empresa Yukoh Films y con un guión escrito por su amigo Manuel Facal. El resultado es Al morir la Matinee, que fue proyectada en el Festival de Mar del Plata: selección oficial del concurso iberoamericano el año pasado y ha sido recomendada por los seguidores del género. Creo que también ha recibido algún premio, peor no me dio tiempo de indagar. Puedes hacer tu propia búsqueda en internet si te interesan esos datos.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-07-01 at 21.11.52.jpg

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Luciana Grasso plays Ana, the girl who is left in charge of the screening of the film, unaware that she must face great danger. She is an Argentine actress, she is well known in her country of origin. Julieta Spinelli plays Ángela, the girl who accompanies her two friends to the movies. Franco Durán plays Tomás, the boy who hides in the cinema to watch the horror movie and the famous Francisco Islas, a renowned Uruguayan horror filmmaker, is in charge of playing the killer. There are other little known actors, you can see the film's file on IMDB to see the complete cast: link

Luciana Grasso interpreta a Ana, la chica que queda a cargo de la proyección de la película, sin saber que debe enfrentar un gran peligro. Es una actriz argentina, muy conocida en su país de origen. Julieta Spinelli interpreta a Ángela, la chica que acompaña a sus dos amigos al cine. Franco Durán interpreta a Tomás, el chico que se esconde en el cine para ver la película de terror y el famoso Francisco Islas, reconocido cineasta de terror uruguayo, es el encargado de interpretar al asesino. Hay otros actores poco conocidos, puedes ver la ficha de la película en IMDB para ver el reparto completo: link

Character gallery / Galería de personajes

 
Imagen Gallery - scroll to view all images

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Al morir la matinée is perfect for slasher fans. Some will remember all those movies they saw at the cinema, others the bunch of slasher, between good and bad, that they rented at the video store, with a multitude of deaths, each one more incredible than the previous one and with a final third where the killer will give free rein to all his madness. Another member of the community already saw it, I hope to see his review soon, when you see it, remember to tell me what you thought of the movie in the comments. I hope you like it a lot.

Al morir la matinée es perfecta para los fans del slasher. Algunos recordarán todas aquellas películas que vieron en el cine, otros el montón de slasher, entre buenos y malos, que alquilaron en el videoclub, con multitud de muertes, cada una más increíble que la anterior y con un tercio final donde el asesino dará rienda suelta a toda su locura. Otro miembro de la comunidad ya la vio, espero ver su crítica pronto, cuando la veas, recuerda decirme qué te pareció la película en los comentarios. Espero que les guste mucho.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.6/5

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

POSTER

WhatsApp-Image-2020-07-24-at-20.45.19-717x1024.jpeg

Source


lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Beast Must Die / TV SERIES REVIEWA Quiet Place 1 & 2 / TWO FILM REVIEW Black Space / TV SERIE REVIEW

lineahive.jpg

Join the community

lineahive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments