The second last day

Generic square.png

No one who achieves success does so without acknowledging the help of others. The wise and confident acknowledge this help with gratitude.

- Alfred North Whitehead -



Today was my second last with my current employer. I accepted another role elsewhere and, after a week or so off to hit the reset button in various enjoyable ways, I'll begin a new chapter in my professional career. I'll not go as far as saying I'm excited, it's work after all, however I'm looking forward to the new challenge and benefits it will bring.

When I resigned, the team were dismayed; one cried, although they took it reasonably well overall.

I guess they understand that people move on for their own reasons and there's not much they can do to hold them. The Director spent an hour in the boardroom with me and we chatted about various things including his offer of more money and whilst it was generous, it was a long way below the increased remuneration I'm moving to. Besides, I've made a commitment to my new employer, signed a contract, and I'm a man of my word.

I've spent the last few days wrapping up my current position. Fortunately I'm a structured and systematised operator so it's been a straight forward process. My notes on accounts and files are all me-oriented meaning I have things set up in a way that works for me, which may not work for others, so I've been making things a little more generic so whomever steps into my role will be able to make sense of it and pick up where I left off. I've created extensive notes and have moved things along on accounts that I could do so with the view to leaving less work for the next person; the role is complex enough without being left a shambles. They have no one lined up as yet, and at risk of coming across as egotistical, I believe they will have difficulty finding someone as well-rounded as I am. The job will get done though, no one is irreplaceable.

I'm pleased to say the office folk and Director feel I'm leaving on good terms; it was important for me to ensure it. Burning bridges is counter-productive and I need the ability to look at myself in the mirror, (not a pretty sight), and be content that I was the best version of myself, operated with professional integrity and left a good impression, the one I'd worked so hard to build over the time I've worked here.

The chaps in the factory have been great also, most have handed me notes with their phone numbers and comments like, stay in touch bro and it's a bummer to see you go. That's nice right? I guess taking the time each day to chat with them personally, a few minutes talking about their weekend, what they're working on at home, or their family has built relationships a little stronger than the everyday-workplace relationship and they don't see me as a manager in the office who never lowers himself to enter the factory.

The girls in the office have been really nice as well; as I said one started crying. Another came up to me and told me how much she'd miss me, something I really appreciated as I felt her words were heartfelt and the emotion genuine.

None of this will impact my decision to leave of course, however I will think well of them rather than poorly as is so often the case when an employee exits a company.

Yesterday I took some time to find gifts for the office girls and each will receive a gift bag with a tea or coffee mug, imported biscuits, selection of tea or coffee, bed socks, hand cream, some chocolates and a thank you card. I'll leave them on their desks tomorrow morning and back it up with a few genuine words of thanks and appreciation.

For the chaps in the factory, I have a few trays of muffins ordered which I'll place with a thank you card in the kitchen/meals area prior to their morning break so they can enjoy one with their coffee or tea as a thankyou from me for being good fellows.

These things aren't much, just small tokens of appreciation and gratitude, however they will allow me to move on come the end of the day tomorrow knowing I was the best version of myself, showed gratitude and appreciation to those who deserved it and that when I walk out of the front door, with my head held high, I have earned that right.

I'm looking forward to a little time off - I value moments of solitude - and plan to do some hiking, shooting, coffee-with-friending and various other things from which I derive enjoyment. I've also asked for a pile of documentation from my new employer so will peruse that to begin the process of slotting into the company as quickly as possible. Having said that, I'll not spend a huge amount of time doing that; the time will mostly be about myself and the pursuit of enjoyment, happiness and contentment. I deserve it.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now