First Fall Fishing Feel and the Rest of My Day

Hello friends and Hivians. Hope everyone had a great weekend. I can for sure say mine turned out pretty darn good! Today, I will take you on a fishing adventure I took on Sunday.

I got a head start this morning and was on the road by 6:30 a.m. I couldn't help but feel that today is going to be a good day. The pre sun rise and initial sunrise skies fed this feeling inside me. Prior to getting to my final destination, I stopped at a gas station to pick up some ice and take my chances on a breakfast sandwich.

This was the current sky look when I arrived at the pond I decided to fish at today. It was shortly after 7:00 a.m. and I didn't fish right away because I wanted the sun to hit the water. I thought it would make the fishies hungry for breakfast. Also, I had to tie a few knots as I changed out some small jigs that had on my line from last time.

Defintely a fall feeling day. The temperature was a bit chilly around 50° F (10° C). No jacket for me quite yet, but I did wear a pullover sweatshirt with a t-shirt underneath along with wearing some jeans. This is one of my favorite things to wear during the fall here. I tell you the temperature didn't really warm up all that much the time I spent here this morning. There were times when the sun shine made me feel warmer, but those were temporary as a good 5 to 10 mph wind showed up a good time I was there. There were times when my hands became cold and I even pulled my hoodie over my head the last 20 minutes I was there.

Alright the fishing was a bit slow, but I still managed to catch quit a few. I think it was about 5th or 6th cast I caught the largiest bass of the day. I was feeling happy and a little goofy 🤪 so I decided to portray that with a photo of that catch. I ended up catching 3 bass and 10 blue gills. I ended up keeping 8 good-sized blue gills. All of which went to a friend. I'll share more about that in a bit.

It's not always the joys of the fishing activity that sets me right. Seeing and embracing the surroundings can very much make the experience even better. Fall is finally here and soon it will be in full swing. Right now there is more green than the other vibrant colors. Nearby the pond is a corn field that is ready to be harvested. Certain tree species get a head start and I certainly enjoyed seeing that today. Seeing up close than twice via a clear water reflection surely brings a calmness inside me along with a smile to my face.

I fished for about 3 hours today and hung it up because I had lunch plans. I was going out with a friend who's sister is visiting her from overseas. She asked me a few days ago if I could take them both out to get some American cuisine. The favor included a free meal, so my arm wasn't twisted too much, haha. I ordered both of them a reuben sandwich, which is a staple here because it is claimed to be invented here (Omaha, Nebraska).

I was horrible at taking pictures at this restaurant. I only caught my bowl of turkey chili, which had a few bites taken out of it already, haha. I paired one of their sandwiches with broccoli cheddar soup and the other with potato soup. Back to the sandwich...

The reuben sandwich is a classic American style Deli sandwich. It's made with corned beef mostly or sometimes pastrami or both, sauerkraut, swiss cheese and Russian or Thousand Island dressing on rye bread. The sandwich is then grilled. This one was served with potato chips on the plate as well. Of course, in different areas of the country, it varies. Does this sound delicious or what? Oh, I absolutely love it, again sorry for no pictures. I actually didn't get one as I ate from the salad bar. A soup and a warm sandwich is good meal to devour in the fall season here.

A few hours later, after I dropped them off I got a text from my friend. She thanked me again for taking them out and for the fish. Above is the picture she sent me with some of the fish she was prepping. Anyways I spent the rest of the day searching for things which I will share in my next post.

That's all I have for you this time. Fall is my favorite season and I hope it will be a long-lasting season this year. Take care, stay safe and have happy days ahead. Until next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center