If it's not 2k...

Greetings!


I woke up today to a message from a lady with whom I had a bit of a misunderstanding a few weeks ago. She had decided not to message me again, and honestly, I wasn't bothered at all because the silence and absence were quite advantageous to me.

Here's what happened before that:

Last month, during her final exams in school (which I got to know about through her constant posts on WhatsApp), she messaged me, begging for 2k( two thousand Naira). The fact that she wrote it as "2k" made me immediately close my eyes to the message. Why is it that they always beg for 2k with a bit of urgency?

For the sake of non-Nigerians reading this:
Ladies in our part of the world are quite known for demanding a specific amount of money, and that's usually ₦2,000. And funnily enough, they plead for it as a matter of urgency, which has become a national anthem and quite laughable. Even if a lady is actually in a critical situation, once she asks for 2k, forget it; any reasonable guy can never take it seriously because why can't it be another amount?


If I were a lady, I wouldn’t be caught begging for 2k. Even if I needed exactly that amount, I would either beg for ₦1,950 or ₦1,850, but never 2k.

So, the fact that she came with a 2k request, coupled with the urgency, claiming she needed the money to buy food, made me wonder—can't she buy food with a different amount? I bluntly refused to give it to her. Do you know why? Any lady begging for 2k, knowing how unserious that appears in the eyes of a guy, can never be serious. It's obvious she just needed the money to flex and not to eat, as she claimed. Meanwhile, this is a lady who's always posting photos of herself with different guys in various eateries. She should go and meet those guys!

So, I refused, telling her that I didn't have money because I had just used the little cash I had to buy fuel, and fuel was very costly.

"What about ₦1,500?" She lowered her request, and at this point, it felt like we were haggling prices in the market.

"Big girl, I don’t have anything! My account is empty right now," I responded, thinking she would back off. But instead, she asked if I would be able to give her the money if it came into my account tomorrow.

At this moment, I read the message and went offline. I began to think: "This lady isn't actually hungry, because if she were really hungry and looking for money to feed today, she wouldn’t be talking about tomorrow." I laughed and stayed offline for about 30 minutes before responding to her with a bold "No," telling her that I couldn't promise anything. She replied with "okay" and left it at that. That was the end of our conversation, until this morning when she messaged me again with a "Hello"

When I saw the message, all that came to my mind was that maybe she wanted to beg for the 2k again because she believed I must have come up with the money within the month that we stopped talking. As for me, that message is currently undergoing snubbing, and it will only be opened when an eclipse of the moon occurs.

Thanks!


Photo used is mine


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center