My Formula For Managing Stress | Day 11 of 30-DAY #BLOGGING CHALLENGE | [ENG/SPAN] - Part 2

30Day Blogging ChallengePart2A18.png
Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing its free images and bckgrnds

Day 11 of the 30-day Blogging Challenge (Part 2).

How do you manage stress?

Anyone can tell you that it's easy to allow yourself to become stressed. However, it's not easy to manage stress or eliminate it entirely from your life.

When I was younger tackling a career, home life, and trying to pursue outside interests, my level of stress was high. I managed to convince myself I could do it all with a bit of planning. I'd make notes, schedule events, and work overtime to get the project completed at work.

I was a multitasking machine. Everyone praised me for my abilities.

However, after I developed high blood pressure and other stress-related illnesses, those same people asked how did this happen.

I asked myself the same question. I thought I was handling the entire spectrum of my life in a highly effective manner. But in doing so, underneath was collapsing in an effort to maintain that high level of commitments.

I had to act quickly after being diagnosed with high blood pressure. Careful study of my family history revealed HPB, stroke, heart disease, and diabetes.

Over twenty years ago, I was placed on high blood pressure medications. The symptoms weren't getting any better.

That's when I decided to take a hard look at my life and what was causing my blood pressure to remain high, even after taking powerful blood pressure medication in a 4-dose combination. Family history was only a part of the reason.

The reason I discovered was that I was still exposing myself to the stressors in my life, both internal and external.

The first step to solving any problem is to recognize you have one. I did that. Now I had to reconstruct my life to get to a solution that would keep me healthy and alive.

My solution. Either manage or eliminate the stress or suffer serious physical health and psychological health-related issues, such as strokes and heart attacks, the breakdown of my body, or death.

My formula for solving my stress has been the following actions.

1. Recognizing the external stressors

I'm a generous person with my time and finances. Others would ask me to help with situations, projects, or finances. I'd accept or agree, then they'd leave me to solve their problems. Numerous instances I have received promises of repayment only to discover the person never intended to do so. Other times I've attempted to help knowing I didn't have the resources, then left to figure out how I'd manage on the other end.

2. Developing a strategy to deal with external stressors

First, I ask myself whether the person or situation is applying pressure on me to either:

  • lend money. In this case I ask myself whether it will place an undue burden on my own finances to do so. In other words, I had to learn to say "NO." It would hurt, but I had to do that.

  • helping others with projects. Now I ask their intentions on sticking with the project until completion instead of leaving me to finish just because the iterated I was more capable.

  • volunteering. If I don't have the time or am not interested in working on it, then I decline to participate. I've already given up my 10-year position on our family reunion committee. It's time for others to step up and move the function forward.

  • staying out of other people, including family members, issues. This advice was told to me when I was young. It took me over 40 years to actually apply it.

text16.png
Cualquiera puede decir que es fácil dejarse estresar. Sin embargo, no es fácil gestionar el estrés o eliminarlo por completo de tu vida.

Cuando era más joven y me enfrentaba a una carrera, a la vida en el hogar y trataba de perseguir intereses externos, mi nivel de estrés era alto. Conseguí convencerme de que podía hacerlo todo con un poco de planificación. Tomaba notas, programaba los eventos y hacía horas extras para completar el proyecto en el trabajo.

Era una máquina multitarea. Todo el mundo me alababa por mis habilidades.

Sin embargo, después de que desarrollara presión arterial alta y otras enfermedades relacionadas con el estrés, esas mismas personas me preguntaron cómo había sucedido.

Yo me hice la misma pregunta. Pensaba que estaba manejando todo el espectro de mi vida de manera muy eficaz. Pero al hacerlo, por debajo me estaba colapsando en un esfuerzo por mantener ese alto nivel de compromisos.

Tuve que actuar rápidamente después de que me diagnosticaran hipertensión arterial. Un estudio minucioso de mis antecedentes familiares reveló que padecía HPB, derrames cerebrales, enfermedades cardíacas y diabetes.

Hace más de veinte años, me pusieron en tratamiento con medicamentos para la hipertensión. Los síntomas no mejoraban.

Fue entonces cuando decidí analizar a fondo mi vida y lo que estaba causando que mi presión arterial siguiera siendo alta, incluso después de tomar una potente medicación para la presión arterial en una combinación de 4 dosis. Los antecedentes familiares eran sólo una parte de la razón.

La razón que descubrí fue que seguía exponiéndome a los factores de estrés de mi vida, tanto internos como externos.

El primer paso para resolver cualquier problema es reconocer que se tiene uno. Yo lo hice. Ahora tenía que reconstruir mi vida para llegar a una solución que me mantuviera sano y vivo.

Mi solución. O controlaba o eliminaba el estrés o sufría graves problemas de salud física y psicológica, como infartos y ataques al corazón, la descomposición de mi cuerpo o la muerte.

Mi fórmula para solucionar mi estrés ha sido las siguientes acciones.

1. Reconocer los factores de estrés externos

Soy una persona generosa con mi tiempo y mis finanzas. Otros me pedían ayuda en situaciones, proyectos o finanzas. Yo aceptaba o accedía, y luego me dejaban resolver sus problemas. En numerosas ocasiones he recibido promesas de devolución sólo para descubrir que la persona nunca tuvo la intención de hacerlo. Otras veces he intentado ayudar sabiendo que no tenía los recursos necesarios, y luego me han dejado para que me las arregle por el otro lado.

2. Desarrollar una estrategia para hacer frente a los factores de estrés externos

En primer lugar, me pregunto si la persona o la situación me presionan para que

  • Prestar dinero. En este caso, me pregunto si hacerlo supondrá una carga excesiva para mis propias finanzas. En otras palabras, tuve que aprender a decir "NO". Me dolía, pero tenía que hacerlo.

  • Ayudar a otros con proyectos. Ahora les pregunto si tienen intención de seguir con el proyecto hasta su finalización, en lugar de dejarme terminar sólo porque el iteraba que yo era más capaz.

  • El voluntariado. Si no tengo tiempo o no me interesa trabajar en ello, entonces declino participar. Ya he renunciado a mi puesto de 10 años en el comité de nuestra reunión familiar. Es hora de que otros den un paso al frente y hagan avanzar la función.

  • No me meto en los asuntos de los demás, incluidos los de la familia. Este consejo me lo dijeron cuando era joven. Tardé más de 40 años en aplicarlo realmente.

text16.png

30Day Blog ChallengePART 22.png

Follow my 30-Day Blogging Challenge below:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechalleng (Published my Day 11 of 30-Day Blogging Challenge [Part 2] post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now