Philippine Islands #9: Malcapuya Island of Coron, Palawan

Hello everyone!

Who says content creation is easy? I struggled to conjure words to make a proper blog in the past few days. I felt that this had been a cycle. There's always a lack of motivation to post something, but then I realized that my Palawan series is still far from completion and I'll be back in January next year. I don't want to have another set of photos while I'm still not done with our first visit. So, I am trying my best to go to the path I intended to tread in this series. No more distractions. Hopefully.

During our first visit, the third day of the Coron tour was all about islands with white sand beaches and sandbars. There were three islands on the itinerary that day: (1) Bulog Dos Island, (2) Ditaytayan Sandbar, and (3) Malcapuya Island. I already shared about the instagrammable Bulog Dos Island, which by the way, has one of the best interactions I've received here in Hive. This time, I'll share about Malcapuya Island, the last island we visited, and the signal that our stay in Coron was about to end.

If Bulog Dos Island is instagrammable, Malcapuya Island is immaculate. When we arrived at the island, I was just staring at the white sand and crystal blue water while regaining my energy. It was so beautiful!


After Ditaytayan Sandbar, we arrived at the west side of Malcapuya Island. It's where boats are docked. I was a little bit disappointed by the scene there because I thought that was all the island has to offer. But Zaniel told me that the best part of the island is on the other side. We had to walk for a few meters, through the center of island, to reach the other side.


Cottages under the canopy of coconut trees greeted us on the other side. White sand and crystal blue water is just a few paces away. I mean look at that view!

I'm not sure about this information, but I learned in our second visit that the travel and tours that we booked owned the island. I was really amazed by how one tour company can own such beauty. When you visit Malcapuya Island, expect nothing but untouched nature and pure peace.


While Bulog Dos Island offers an exotic appeal, Malcapuya Island offers complete escape. The reason is that it's not developed. Although it's not too far from the main town of Coron, there's not much going on there except one shop that sells coconuts for Php 50.00. You will be surrounded by nothing but the beach and the sea.


There's a snorkelling area at the southwest part of the island where a small fishing boat will just tug you to get there and the fee is Php 100.00. For me, that's not worth it because if you're with an island hopping package, you will surely visit some awesome snorkelling spots. I just sat there at the beach, under a coconut tree, while having my early afternoon peace. It was just heaven.

Malcapuya Island is one of the reasons why Palawan is always in the Top 10 of Conde Nast Travelers' Best Islands in Asia. This year, Palawan is at Top 8 while Boracay is Top 1. I guess it's safe for me to claim that I have been to the best island beaches in the world.

I guess that's all for this post. See you at the next Philippine Islands feature! To end, here's the list of my posts about my adventures in Coron:

[1] Kim's Quest #48: Maquinit Hot Spring, Coron, Palawan, Philippines

[2] Kim's Quest #49: Climbing Mt. Tapyas in Coron, Palawan
[3] Islands in Coron
[4] Kim's Quest #50: Barracuda Lake of Coron, Palawan, Philippines
[5] Kim's Quest #51: Kayangan Lake of Coron, Palawan, Philippines
[6] Philippine Islands #8: The Instagrammable Bulog Dos Island
[7] Once Upon an Afternoon at Twin Lagoon


Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center