Restaurant Review: Rijks- My First Michelin Star Restaurant (8/10)

Restaurant Review: Rijks
While doing research about Amsterdam I found that the Rijksmuseum (the museum I wanted to go to the most) had a Michelin start restaurant. Perfect! Eat a 5 course lunch and then do a highlights tour of the the museum. That is just what @jarvie and I did on the last day of HiveFest.

Rijks Website

Restaurant Review: Rijks (8/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationGreat location. It is part of the Rijksmuseum!
2AtmosphereFancy, it was fancy. We wore nice clothes and felt comfortable
1PriceIt was expensive, great food and experience
1StaffThe staff did what they had to do, not especially attentive or friendly
2TasteInteresting and tasty Dutch influenced cuisine

Location

One of my favorite things is that this restaurant is located in the world famous Rijksmuseum. It is in the Philips Wing and was opened in 2014. It got it's Michelin Star rating 3 yeas later in 2017.


Atmosphere

It is one of the more fancy restaurants that I have been too... I have never had a drawer full of the utensils at my table! We were dressed in our church attire, which was very appropriate. The restaurant was very clean and open with great light.


Price

It was very expensive at 90 Euro each. I was willing to pay for the experience and the interesting and unique food that I wouldn't make on my own. The servings sizes were small and made of high quality ingredients. Would I again? I don't know.

Staff

Unfortunately, the staff was disappointing. I felt that they were doing the bare minimum in bringing our food and telling us what it was. This was especially noticeable because the night before I had been to Nomad and the staff was incredible. Here is my Restaurant Review: Nomad aan het IJ (10/10).

There was one server that was nicer than the others and I appreciate her kindness and effort.

Taste

The food was very good and so interesting!

The website says that the restaurant has a Low Countries’ cuisine

which is firmly rooted in Dutch produce – in all its modest glory. The chef and his young team draw their inspiration from ingredients grown on Dutch soil, often making use of the many international flavours that have influenced Dutch cuisine across the centuries.

The combination of ingredients and flavors was surprising and interesting. Writing this a month later, my favorites are the "Mushroom three ways", the fig leaf mouse and the bread and great flavored bee pollen butter. I didn't care for the gazpacho and the guinea fowl was good, just a bit too much seaweed on it for me. The BEST was the chocolate mouse and sorbet! So glad we got the extra desert. @jarvie really liked the pre desert too.

Pumpkin chawanmushi"Apple Kolrabi" with trout eggs"Mushrooms three ways"
Guinea fowlTaking picturesFig leaf mousse

Additional "servings"

Bread and butter: watercress, bee pollen and Dutch soyTartar, pear, and gazpachoPre desert



Chocolate sorbet

Overall

Overall Rijks is an excellent restaurant with great tasting, high quality, unique Dutch inspired food. The restaurant is located at the Rijksmuseum. It has great light, fancy utensil drawers, caviar and eatable gold foil on the chocolate mouse. I am glad that I went and got to experience my first Michelin star restaurant.

Sources:
Rijksmuseum
Rijks menu
Rijks
Michelin Guide
pinmapple

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center