Aceh Tsunami Museum // Refusing to forget the tsunami tragedy that hit Aceh 20 years ago

Good afternoon to all my beloved hive friends ♥️



This morning I took my mother to the hospital for a blood test in preparation for chemotherapy the day after tomorrow, and after the blood test and the results came out, we immediately went home to my uncle's house to rest, but when I was sitting there I remembered a place that was a silent witness to the tsunami tragedy that hit Aceh 20 years ago, so I immediately took this opportunity to go straight to the museum.

Since I didn't bring a motorbike to Banda Aceh, I went to the museum by motorbike taxi, and after ordering a motorbike taxi, I went straight to the Aceh Tsunami Museum to capture every important moment there.It just so happened that the museum was not too far from my uncle's house, so after about 10 minutes of driving, we finally arrived at the Aceh tsunami museum.



After arriving in front of the museum, I immediately took the time to take some pictures of the museum building from the outside, and couldn't wait to enter the museum grounds.






Just entering the museum yard, I was already amazed by the beauty and grandeur of the museum building itself, as well as the garden decorations that beautify the museum yard, so I couldn't wait to immediately enter the museum.

And this museum opens at 09.00 am and closes at 06.00 pm, and the break time is about 2 hours between 12.00 pm and 02.00 pm, and this museum is closed only on Fridays, that's the information I got from some officers there. This museum is a center for local and foreign tourism, because many tourists come to Aceh just to go to this museum because of curiosity about what happened in Aceh 20 years ago, and in this museum we can also see almost all the tragedies and photos that are displayed openly showing the state of the city of Banda Aceh after the tsunami.

And I didn't linger outside and immediately bought a ticket to enter the museum.




And the ticket prices are very cheap, for children one ticket is priced at IDR 3,000 in Indonesian currency - or equivalent to one hive now, and for adults one ticket is priced at IDR 5,000 in Indonesian currency - or equivalent to 1.5 hive, and for foreign tourists one ticket is priced at IDR 15,000 in Indonesian currency - or equivalent to just 5 hive.Of course, it is a very cheap price, and maybe the ticket price will increase only during the holiday season.

And this museum only has two floors which display events related to the tsunami. After buying a ticket I went straight to the first floor of the museum.




These are some photos showing visitors to this museum, there are many children playing there, in my opinion inviting children to come to the museum is a very appropriate thing because that way they can learn and explore the history of Aceh, especially the tragedy that befell Aceh 20 years ago.

And after I was on the 1st floor of the museum, I immediately looked for some officers to ask in detail about the Aceh tsunami 20 years ago. Finally I found a security guard who was on duty there and I immediately approached him and asked the security guard directly.

History of the Aceh Tsunami 20 years ago

December 26, 2004 at 07:57 WIB, and that morning was initially a normal day such as people's activities selling, some going to work and everything went normally, but before the tsunami occurred it was preceded by an earthquake measuring 9.3 on the Richter scale, but people at that time only thought it was an earthquake, and without them realizing that it was an early sign before a terrible tsunami occurred. And after the earthquake suddenly the sea water receded very far and it was also a rare sight for people at that time, and without anyone realizing what happened next, and after the sea water receded very far suddenly came a 30 meter high wave and wiped out the city of Banda Aceh, and the death toll from the tsunami was estimated at around 227,000 thousand people, until the tsunami in Aceh was also named the biggest disaster in the world.

Well, that's a little story that I got from the officer at the tsunami museum, and after hearing several statements about the story of the Aceh tsunami, I started to explore the museum.








And after the tsunami, many countries came to Aceh and provided assistance to the Acehnese people, and all the countries that helped Aceh at that time are immortalized in this museum, this can be seen from the museum building which displays several countries on the roof of the museum building.and in the middle of the building there is a very large pool, And on the edge of the pool there are round stones and on the stones are written the names of the countries that helped Aceh at that time.

And on the 1st floor of this museum building, there are several pictures of events before and after the tsunami that are neatly displayed in the building, and on this occasion I will share some of the pictures that I managed to photograph.
















Actually, there are still many pictures showing the event, but I only took a few, I also chose several pictures that have a very deep meaning. And when I was in the museum, I could feel the tension and sadness experienced by the Acehnese people when the tsunami tragedy occurred.

There are several pictures showing the tragic events that hit Aceh 20 years ago. All of these pictures were taken after the tsunami, and all of these pictures are now displayed in the museum as a memory for the people of Aceh.

And from this first floor we can also go to the outer courtyard of the museum which is a place that is often used by visitors as a place to take pictures because it has a very beautiful view.




And after I felt that I had explored the first floor of this museum enough, I wanted to go up to the second floor and when I had just set foot on the stairs, suddenly the officer there immediately forbade me because it was break time so the second floor was temporarily closed and would be reopened at 02.00 noon, but I didn't have time to wait until 02.00 because I had to take my mother back to the hospital to take her blood sample, so I decided not to explore the second floor anymore, and I would return to visit this museum another time.

After hearing that statement from the officer there, I immediately rushed down from the museum to go home, but when I wanted to go down the stairs I saw a helicopter that looked very destroyed which was displayed in the museum, I immediately approached the helicopter first.





And this is the story behind the destruction of this helicopter.



And you can read it yourself from the writing, even though the writing looks blurry, I am sure you can still read it and understand it, because it is an accurate source of information.

And after taking some pictures showing the condition of the helicopter damaged by the tsunami, I immediately turned around and started my journey home.

So those are some pictures and stories from me on my trip today and a little story from the story of the tsunami that hit Aceh 20 years ago, I hope that this post can provide entertainment for all my friends, and I @riyat apologize profusely if there are any wrong words and sentences in conveying this information, because I myself am a human being who is never free from mistakes 🙏🙏

Camera usedInfinix 10 pro
Lens108 MP
F-stopF 1,75
Iso speedISO 965
Focal length5 MM
PhotographyRandom
EditingLightroom
Photographer@riyat

My name is Riayat, often called Riyat by my friends. I come from Indonesia, precisely in the province of Aceh. I am a village child who likes to explore nature and likes to tell stories so this Hive blog is a very suitable platform for me

See you again in my post ♥️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center