Oslo | Frognerpark

Hello friends, remember our post about Vigeland Park in Oslo? I have good news - we are back here! This time we came together with Eren when we visited Oslo month ago. I've already mentioned that I really want to come back to this wonderful park again, so here we go - dreams come true. Honestly, I remembered quite accidentally that I still have some Oslo content left. And of course I decided to share the new photos with you and the part of the park which I hadn't discovered on my first visit, sooo, let's start!

2.jpg



20.jpg



1.jpg




We were very lucky that the weather on this day was sunny and there was a slight frost. This kind of weather is very rare for Norway! We decided to walk to the park from the very center of the city. At the same time we walked through the small and unremarkable streets of Oslo, found another beautiful church and took many different photos.

32.jpg



33.jpg




Traveling together is much more enjoyable and fun. It's also a great advantage to always have someone to take your photos:) Isn't that nice? Here we are already arrived at the park. The journey from downtown to the Vigeland Park (with some stops along the way) took us about 40 minutes. I found that to be pretty quick.

4.jpg



3.jpg




The park is consistently filled with beauty and people. Young moms with strollers, tourists and locals are all here with great pleasure. The park is large, there are many interesting locations and every walk here is special. I'm even a little a envious that the locals can visit this park every day!

5.jpg



6.jpg



7.jpg




All 212 sculptures of Vigeland Park shimmer with a bronze sheen under the sun. The quacking of ducks can be heard a few hundred meters away from the pond. It was getting evening and we caught a stunning sunset. The photos turned out very colorful and lively. The best filter for your photos is the sun!

12.jpg




Eren was looking at all these beautiful sculptures with great curiosity. He asked me what I thought about the concept of this park, what do I like most about this park? We had a very heartfelt dialog in such a nice atmosphere that the park gave us.

8.jpg



9.jpg




For a while we just walked in silence, looking at everything around us. Even this short silence gave us a sense of calmness. Such unloading days are very important for my head too. This way you can reset yourself and your thoughts and start to create!

10.jpg



14.jpg



13.jpg



15.jpg




We also visited a cafe that is located on the left side of the park, right above the pond. During sunset, this place is really amazing! We got a little cold so we grabbed some hot herbal tea. Thanks to that, we warmed up and decided to continue our walk around the park for a bit.

31.jpg




26.jpg




What Eren liked the most was the Monolith. Eren didn't expect to see such a large and tall sculpture. Also, the sculptures around the "Monolith" itself impressed Eren. He looked all around, took pictures and shared his impressions with me. Since I have been here before, I know some information and told it to Eren. I especially like the biography of the creator of this beautiful park. The sculptor Gustav Vigeland did not live only 1 year before the completion of the park. This is the saddest fact for me.....

21.jpg



23.jpg



22.jpg




I want to finish the post with some interesting facts that I found on the internet.


  • The video of the song "Mirror Mirror" by Solid Base was recorded in Frognerpark.

  • The most famous sculpture in the park is the Angry Baby Boy.

29.jpg

  • In 2007, protesters organized a demonstration and taped all the intimate parts of the sculptures with black paper.




Friends, I hope you enjoyed this post. Rate it with a comment! We had an incredibly cool experience after visiting this park and we recommend visiting it to everyone who will be in Oslo. It's not just a park with sculptures. It's history, it's psychology, it's emotions! Friends, I wish you interesting travels and good mood! See you soon, bye-bye!

30.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center