How To Spend A Day in Pererenan Beach- Splendid View of Indian Ocean & Mythological Statue

This is the story where I saw the most beautiful sunset of my life and also tried my first Venezuelan cuisine.

ContentThumbnail(4).png

Explore Pererenan Beach

Bali earns its name as the island of Gods because its deep cosmological connection to Hinduism and also its mythology. But apparently, the term itself was indirectly coined by a dutch historian because in Bali there are many temples and its people worships plenty of gods and that is proven with many statues and many places displaying amazing statues of gods and goddesses in Bali such as in the Pererenan area with its Gajah Mina statue.

pererenan2.JPG

Pererenan is such a mouthful word to say and even here, I didn’t know how to pronounce it correctly. But the statue of Gajah Mina made it an easier way to remember the area and find it via the map. Today, my plan was to explore around Pererenan using a grab bike but because there are new rules that the grab bike couldn’t reach my accommodation anymore, I ended up renting a motorbike. It was fairly unexpected that now, I am back riding a motorbike. Riding in Bali is such an adventure itself that if you are not a pro, I don’t really recommend it.

Today for sunset lover, I am also showing you a music by Petit biscuit under the same title, sunset lover. So, enjoy the music while you’re reading my post and enjoying the sunset pictures.

What To See

Gajah Mina Statue

Unlike in Canggu, which is lined up with hipster cafes and places, pererenan is way quieter and unexplored. There are still plenty of locals and tourists in the area. Even the cafes itself aren’t the hipster cafes and restaurants such as around Canggu and the beaches nearby. I even heard from many blogs and vlogs, digital nomads are moving to that area because canggu is turning into another kuta which is not good way. Some locals I talked to also mentioned the same thing, that pererenan is actually canggu in old time and quite unexplored

To get to Pererenan you can go either through available shortcuts or even following the google map through the bigger avenue. And around Pererenan, the main attraction is the gajah mina statue in which it’s a hindu god riding mythological creature, a fish with an elephant head. I have seen this place from my hotel room and even from Echo beach. And today, I gotta see it a little bit closer. Around this area, you can even explore the beach and enjoy the somewhat lively sea creatures moving around. And during the sunset if you are lucky, you can even see amaze balls sunset just by sitting around the statue where most everyone hangs around and takes pictures. This is what you can expect when visiting around pererenan beach and also watching the sunset.

pererenan14.JPG

pererenan15.JPG

pererenan16.JPG

pererenan17.JPG

pererenan18.JPG



pererenan3.JPG

pererenan7.JPG

pererenan13.JPG

pererenan12.JPG

It was not that packed when I got there but after the sun starting to fade away, more people come to the place and the crescent moon was visible and it was also breathtakinng. No wonder that this island is worth the name of the island of gods because I think, this is really the home of gods, if not, Bali is the island they built when they were happy.

pererenan4.JPG

pererenan8.JPG

pererenan10.JPG


Where to eat

20220406_141926-01.jpeg

In Pererenan, there are many famous places such as Zin Cafe and even monsieur spoon which is where I went today. In this place, it’s essentially a bakery with varied selections of breakfast and brunch. You can even do takeaways before sitting and enjoying the sunset. Today, I went to a place called Monsieur spoon which is pretty famous and apparently is a chain bakery in several places. In this place, I got their bacon and egg on toast along with their cafe latte and also a sweet dessert to finish my brunch and adding extra sweets to recharge me while exploring the area. For me, they have one of the cheapest bakeries and sweets that are so affordable without extra costs of tax and service charge. It’s definitely recommended if you like light breakfast and also wanting to eat something light before dinner time.

20220406_152147-01.jpeg

patacon

During dinner time, you can visit Calle, a latin american cuisine that serves some venezuelan menu. I tried the patacon pisao (vegeta) version and also aguas frescas watermelon. Both were extraordinary tasty and I loved every bite of it. It was an interesting experience because I never eat something with plantain as my meal plate. The price was quite reasonable in this place and it’s located in an area called tibubeneng about 10 minutes drive from pererenan. There are so many things that I still want to try in that cafe but I was already full just by eating the patacon.

Do I recommend the beach?

I certainly do if you enjoy more of a quieter, non touristy side of Bali. This is where you get to still see locals and also local prices around. Not to mention, no shades and beach bean bags that could hinder your views of the beach, especially the splendid view of sunset from the Indian ocean.

Cultural bits

As I mentioned previously, in Bali, there is something called the “taxi mafia”. Basically they are notorious for rejecting online transportation. In the past when I traveled back in 2018, I already knew about it and it was quite difficult moving around. But thankfully, I was riding a motorbike then. Now, just when I am very comfortable and convenient using the online transportation, it’s once again the online transportation are forbidden to go around the beach and they’ve been stopping the grab and go-jek who are picking up the people. Anyway, that’s why to be safe you need to ride your own bike. The price varies and sometimes you can get about 80k/day which is already expensive to only 60k/day. Sometimes you even get discounts if it’s a long term rental like weekly and monthly.

Let me know if you have questions about living in Bali!

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center