Conquering Mt.Pinatubo: A Second-Largest Erruption of the 20th Century

image.png

What’s a good destination for a day hike that is easy to reach from Manila, you asked me? Well, that was actually the same question I had before coming back to the Philippines for a short stay last summer. It was only a few days before I flew back to the Philippines from Taiwan when I thought of going for a quick adventure, something that would not wipe out my travel budget yet still be completely worth it.

1717303137565.jpg

Mt. Pinatubo has been on my bucket list ever since, and I was very tempted to go for it a few days after I climbed Mt.Pulag: The Playground of Gods. However, things became very busy during my stay in the Philippines during those days, and I didn’t have the chance to go for it anymore. So, this time! I made it sure that it was the only adventure that I would do during my very quick stay in the Philippines!

Mt.Pinatubo

Before we dive into the adventure, it’s essential to understand the historical significance of Mt. Pinatubo. The 1991 eruption was one of the largest volcanic eruptions of the 20th century, causing widespread devastation and affecting millions of lives. The eruption spewed out massive amounts of volcanic ash, leading to the creation of the beautiful yet eerie caldera lake that attracts trekkers from around the world today.

image.png

Mt. Pinatubo, an active stratovolcano located on the island of Luzon in the Philippines, has always been a natural wonder that fascinates me. Known for its catastrophic eruption in 1991, which drastically altered the landscape and affected global weather patterns, Mt. Pinatubo has since transformed into a stunning trekking destination.

Group Trip

image.png

I initially planned to join an arranged group trip as a solo joiner, which is a common thing among travelers in the Philippines. But before deciding to do so, I first tried to invite some of my friends in the Philippines but only one responded. To my surprise, she invited seven more friends along with her!

4×4 Truck Ride

image.png

This adventure started with an hour-long ride in a 4×4 jeepney, traversing countless rivers (formed by the last eruption) to reach the starting point of the trek. The entire ride is gray and dusty, likely due to the remnants of the eruption and the ash deposits left by the lava. This ride surely shook the hell out of me as the truck relentlessly crossed countless rocks along the way!

In the video below, you can see how shaky it was while we were crossing the river, but our driver was very chill, playing his Air Supply songs.

A Home to Filipino Indigenous People (Aetas)

image.png

image.png

Arriving at the trailhead, we were welcomed by the Aeta, the indigenous people of the Philippines who are believed to be the first inhabitants of the country.

Their main source of livelihood here is selling food and drinks to hikers and offering tour guiding services.

The Peaceful Crater Lake of Mt.Pinatubo

1717302298774 (1).jpg

I finished the 5.5km trail in just an hour, leaving my friends behind me, haha! I was just excited to capture beautiful photos and videos of the crater and appreciate its beauty.

1717426553321 (1).jpg

I spent some time sitting by the lakeshore, savoring the moment of being inside the crater of a sleeping monster. Curious, I reached out to touch the water, only to find it wasn't warm as one might expect from a volcano crater.

Before this trip, I explored Manila and went straight to Tarlac to do this hike. I've only had a few hours of sleep, so, after an hour of waiting, my friends caught me napping at the viewpoint terrace. It was one of my best naps.

1717303864652 (1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center