Tinago Falls: A Solo Adventure to a Majestic Waterfall in Iligan City

IMG_4906.JPG

Hi Hiveans! I am thrilled to share with you a tourist destination one must go to when visiting the majestic city of waterfalls, Iligan City. Tinago Falls is a majestic waterfall located at the boundary of Iligan City, and the Municipality of Linamon. This 240-ft waterfall features a wide curtain of its waterfall and crystal clear and cold water.

A little backstory...

It was just not recently that I found out that the home of my aunt in Iligan City is just a walk away from this amazing destination. The weather was not good for the past few days and when the hint of sunshine finally showed, I packed my bag and went right away.

How to Get There?

There are 2 ways to reach the majestic Tinago Falls. One is from the side of Iligan City, and the other one is in Linamon. I've been both ways and I think the Iligan side is closer.

1. Via Iligan City

IMG_4913.JPG

From the City Proper, you may go directly to Brgy. Buru-un via Jeepney or bus. You can tell the driver to drop you off at Buru-un crossing. From there, you can hail a motorcycle taxi for P70 (P35 for each person).

2. Via Linamon

To be honest, when I went there we didn't commute. LOL! So my apologies as I cannot disclose how much it cost to go there. However, if you want to commute to this route, you can ride a jeepney to Brgy. Buru-un until its endpoint. Then you can ride a motorcycle to Linamon's Poblacion, then hail for a motorcycle ride to Tinago Falls.

As of March 2023, due to previous landslides on Linamon side, Option 2 is still closed. However, they will be opening soon.

The Adventure

Since the house I'm staying in is just a stone away from Buru-un's side of Tinago Falls, I just hiked for like 10 minutes. Upon arrival, I was welcomed by the tourism office who asked me to register. I paid P60 which includes the environmental fee, and life jacket rent. I was provided with an Official Receipt with the LGU's logo so I feel that I was not scammed. Do you know what I'm saying? LOL

IMG_4914.JPG

After registration, I was briefed about Tinago Falls. I was impressed with the tourism staff as she was so enthusiastic during her discussion. She provided some facts that there are 355 steps to the falls, and then provided some reminders about safety and cleanliness. She then endorsed me to the tour guide which I think is mandatory.

IMG_4903.JPG

So the adventure begins, the stairs were covered with tiles and there was a steel handlebar for safety. It's been a while since I hiked so I think I will be having trouble. HAHAHA!

IMG_4912.JPG

After a few minutes of steep descent, my legs started to tremble but then I was welcomed by the grandeur of the waterfall so I somehow forgot about it. My guide took my bag and then she took pictures of me. Tourista yarn? HAHAHA!

IMG_4893.JPG

The beauty of Tinago Falls still amazes me even if it was not my first time. The gush of the water falling down towards its basin, the Gatorade-like color of the water, and of course the noisy yet relaxing sound of the water is enough to make my heart pump like a kid. After a few photos, I wore the life jacket and jumped into the water!

Man, that water is so cold! It's like an ice bucket challenge x1000! hahaha! I was solo during this adventure yet I enjoyed my time at the waterfall.

The Water Bamboo Raft

Aside from swimming into the cold and rejuvenating water of Tinago Falls, you may also take the bamboo raft that will take you to the waterfall. It costs P300 per trip, and since I'm alone, I looked for other people who will also do the bamboo raft. So in the end, we were five when we did it.


The water current is so strong, so when you take a shower from it, it's painful like raining needles (sorry for the hyperbole LOL). But it surely is refreshing and we had a good amount of laughter.

The Bamboo Raft adventure lasted only for around 15 minutes so we were back at the side and enjoyed the cold waters.

I didn't stay too long because the weather is not great so I started to go up.

Going Up is Not Easy as you Think!

GPTempDownload 24.JPG

Just to set expectations, there is no other way to go back. So you need to take the stairs going to the falls when going back home. Taking the steep, I mean STEEEEEEP stairs and ascending is definitely something you need to take slow. For someone who has not been active in physical activities, it did test my legs. After a few breaks and a few chika minute with Ate Guide, we finally reached back at the entrance. FINALLY!

Few Tips and Reminders

  1. You should waterproof your things because the water from the falls may spatter towards you.
  2. The guide will carry your backpack while you are enjoying the waterfall, so if you are going solo, I don't think it's necessary to rent a table.
  3. Although there are shops that sell water, I think it would be better for you to bring your own drinking water. Especially if you are on a budget.
  4. Be prepared for the stairs, it's not for the faint heart.
  5. Enjoy it since it's an amazing place!

IMG_4897.JPG
Hope you enjoy this blog post! See you at the next one! 😀


34766340-06D6-42E8-BE74-6FFF277B8098.JPG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hi, I am CJ Estrada! I'm a content creator who loves to go to travel and escape the stressful life!

If you like this content, please leave a comment, follow, upvote, and reblog. Thank you so much!

Let's connect! #SHAREPEACEANDLOVE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now