Tried some Venezuelan food for the first time


IMG_1580.jpg

Arepon Venezuelan Restaurant

break.png

This morning, I had a doctor's appointment in Orem and on the way home I saw a Venezuelan restaurant. @perceval and @therealflaws have been telling me that I need to try food from Venezuela, so I have been keeping an eye out for a good place to eat.


IMG_1578.jpg

I wasn't too hungry, but I knew that I wouldn't be coming back to this area for a while and this was my chance to try some food from Venezuela. The inside of the restaurant was really clean and had a pretty cool vibe to it. I had no clue what was good when I was trying to order, but the two ladies recommended the Arepa. They also recommended some cheese stick type things as an appetizer, but I knew I wouldnt be able to eat it all if I got that as well.


IMG_1582.jpg

I ordered my arepa with beef, which ended up being more like a steak and not ground beef like I thought it would be. So that was a nice surprise to have some higher quality meat in there, especially for the price I paid for it. Inside of it was beef, cheese and some friend plantains.

I had never had plantains before and I thought they were pretty good. There were too many of them on there though and I ended up not eating all of them. The meat had a really nice flavor and I added a green sauce that they recommended. It tasted a bit like mayonnaise with a hint of ranch. It was really good, but it made the arepa pretty messy to eat with my hands. I ended up using almost all the napkins on the table trying to keep myself clean before I just decided to eat it with a knife and fork.


IMG_1581.jpg

They had Venezuelan drinks and I ended up getting one of the sodas. It was a strawberry flavor and it was pretty good. I could tell that the sugar was different than the sodas that we normally have in the US. It tasted more natural, which was nice.

The arepa and drink ended up being $19, which seems pretty expensive. I wonder how much this meal would have cost in Venezuela, but here in the US, everything is expensive.


IMG_1584.jpg

The restaurant was decent. It wasn't the greatest and I am sure that there are better Venezuelan places to eat here. Only one other person came in to eat while I was there, so I could tell they don't get too much business. The staff was really nice though and one of them wanted to take a picture of me with my food.

I don't think I will return to this place though as it was quite expensive for what I got. I will have to keep an eye out for another Venezuelan place and compare them. But overall, my first experience of Venezuelan food was pretty good. It was a bit messy, but good.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center