A Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words (Or, Exactly Fifty): The Dark Liberator, Seen Pre-Flight

Image by @wakeupkitty, used for the purpose of responding to this Freewriters Initiative

What I see: A bony, pale figure in a cloak that has feathers of its own that trail off into pale mist that seems to be blowing down the street of a medieval looking town in sepia tones, with a big castle in the background. A dark bird is flying downward toward the figure in cloak.

What I feel: This is Death walking before he flies, waiting for the bird to bring him word on where in this region he is going to land. Elsewhere on Hive I have written an evil prince with a castle ... and so I am just going to give him an alternate bad ending...


“Ah, my raven! Who have you scouted for my autumnal visitation here?”
Thus Death paused in his walk, gathering his winged cloak and freezing cold around him.
“Prince Schadenfreude!”
“Ah, good! His turn, not his victims!”
Thus Death took flight, to be called liberator when he landed on the prince.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now