11 october 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2522: superintendent

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

silhouette-895681_1280.jpg

“Yes, I have heard that the conservator for the Big Loft Police Department is a former superintendent of police … yes, I am paying attention because even though I will no longer be employed under the reorganization, my officers will, and so I need to know as much as I can to prepare them.”

Henry Fitzhugh Lee, in his persona as captain of the Blue Ridge Precinct of the troubled BLPD, was on the phone with the equally soon-to-be-dismissed chief and commissioner Winfred Scott.

What the captain did not know was that the chief, who considered the captain a loyal friend and his right-hand man, was looking out for him … and the incoming superintendent was quietly listening to the conscientious leader on the other end of the phone.

“I have looked up Capt. Lee's entire record,” said incoming State Superintendent Henry Halleck, “and just listening to him uphold his responsibility for a position he knows he is going to lose because of his concern for his men is bracing.”

“Look,” said the chief, “I understand that the state has to 'get rid' of all the irregularities that the acts of Orton Thomas brought us – but I'm 60 about to be 61, and I honestly have done the best I can and am ready to retire. I'm not going to take offense because it is time for me to go, even though a lot of us feel we are being punished for doing the right thing. Everybody isn't old enough to have three retirements lined up.

“But the point is, the department is doing as well as it is because of Lee, who just wanted a desk job, found a mess, and determined that he would clean it up no matter what. The man has his ego fully in check, is humble, is skilled, and if you need someone who will be a perfect consultant who understands what has been done to clean up and what needs to be done, and will be trusted by the rank-and-file, then you should retain Lee as a civilian consultant.”

“The problem with Lee is that he is a loose cannon, Chief – the way he solved the problem of Orton Thomas makes many people very nervous.”

“Well, what was he supposed to do under fire – you think a whole Green Beret with the Long Tab and awards long enough to wrap us both in them, was going to miss with Thomas firing on his partner?”

“I understand that. I understand why Pendleton and Tate essentially died of fright of him, too. I get that he arrested the other two – but that's five commissioners of police in less than five weeks. Your local powers that be want him sat down and shut up, and if he were not perfectly incorruptible, force would already been brought to bear.”

“Listen, the powers that be are not your friends – that why you are here, anyhow, because of their failures – and basically consider you a carpetbagger anyhow. You need not think they will play nice with you anyhow; they will be trying to get the governor to remove you with one misstep. The best chance you have to get done what you need to get done is to keep Lee around the force if you can't keep him on it.”

The future state superintendent smiled slightly.

“I have enjoyed understanding who you are in this conversation, Chief Scott, and you, too, justify your record. It is no fault of yours that I need to come in and use state power to get done what needs to get done … and it is not Col. Lee's fault, either. I will take your recommendation under advisement.”

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center