Day 858: 5 Minute #Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: peacock

Day 858 #Freewrite - peacock

The prompt for today from @mariannewest was "peacock".

Here is what came from the prompt:

(Not a) Peacock

It wasn’t that he was a peacock in the flamboyant sense. No, Gunnar was just the opposite, expressing a quiet and cool confidence that Octo envied. He watched as Gunnar made perfect stokes with his arms, his fingers, his drum sounding its command as perfectly as Octo had ever heard it. Yet, he played with quiet even when he was being loud. Even his hat, a knit cap that was a very bright pink, he wore with calmness. It was something that Octo envied as he watched the tenor drums rehearsing underneath the oldest pine tree on the high school’s campus. Their blows against their drums resounded beyond the parking lot and into the universe. Even Octos ethereal companion Tecpatl had commented on the power of the combined performance of the drumline, and even some parts rehearsed on their own. But one thing he had never commented on, a thing that everyone accepted as though to say it was a part of everyday life despite its oddness, was one of the most macho guys in school wearing a pink cap.

Thank you for reading my work. I appreciate your time and comments.
To speak more of my writing ambitions, I am looking to strengthen my creative/generative acumen. This #freewrite community is the best place to do that. Over the next several months I will be working on a novel, and as such, some themes or characters that I have dwelt upon may come up. Thoughts and comments on my work are helpful as my ultimate goal is to improve my novel such that I improve my writing
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now