Message from beyond


Copia de SM (2).png

Photo by César Roldán on Unsplash


This is my entry for the Cinnamon Cup Coffee community contest invited @franchalad to participate in this Halloween edition.


Message from beyond

It was Halloween night and as usual, Janice was going to her best friend Rachel's house to do her midnight ritual. Janice wasn't feeling completely cheerful. She had fought with Duncan earlier that evening and his words drilled into her head.

She parked in front of Rachel's house and stayed inside the car for a while. She was sad and crestfallen and finally began to cry. After she let it all out she dried her tears, she didn't want her best friend to see her like this, even though she could easily tell.

She knocked on the door and within seconds, Rachel opened.

"There you are, I've been waiting for you for an hour, I thought you weren't coming." Rachel claimed a little annoyed.

"Sorry, I just had to stay a little longer with my cats. They were a little scratchy." Excused Janice looking off to the side in a gravelly voice.

"That's not true" replied Rachel, "you were crying about Duncan's jerk. I know, you always get like that when you ignore me. I wrote you several messages and you didn't answer any of them."

"Rachel, stop it! I don't want to discuss this tonight. Let's do what we always do every Halloween and then talk about something else. I don't want to talk about Duncan, please. I just don't want to be alone."

Rachel pouted her lips in a rueful grimace. Her friend was sad and fragile, and talking about petty things would only make things worse. She apologized and gave her a hug, then they both went into the living room.

josh-olalde-7YZupa9tAcU-unsplash.jpg

Source

The ouija board was already on the table, the candles were lit and the ceremonial coffee was ready. Every Halloween, Janice and Rachel got together to play ouija and summon spirits. They had been doing it since that day, the day Courtney died.

They wanted to summon their friend's spirit, because before she died she told them, "You should always call me, don't stop. I will try to get in touch with you, I promise." She said with tears in her eyes, squeezing her friends' hands. Hours later, Courtney passed away.

Since then, five years ago, Janice and Rachel have been trying to call her. There is something that binds them, beyond feelings. A strong sisterhood. A coven.

Before starting to play the board, they both drank from their ceremonial coffee, it was necessary to connect with the spirit world. This was very important, for, if they stayed without their brew, they could fall into an eternal trance.

"We've been doing this for a while now and Courtney is not responding, maybe we should stop now." Janice stated in a despondent tone.

"What do you say?" replied Rachel. "Courtney will get back to us, I'm sure. Now stop those sad thoughts and put your fingers on the pointer."

Janice sighed, there was only room in her mind for Duncan. She thought that their loud argument could be mended and the two of them could get back together. She loved him dearly and he loved her too. Janice was waiting for that night to pass so she could call Duncan the next morning.

"Courtney, we invoke your name your two best friends. Tell me, are you here?" Manifested Rachel aloud, but there was no response.

"Courtney..." said Janice this time, but was cut off by Rachel.

"Wait, are you crazy? You have to drink out of the ceremonial coffee first every time we ask a question, what's wrong with you, Janice?"

"Sorry, I forgot."

"You're not concentrating!" Rachel claimed. "I won't go through with this with you if you don't stop thinking about Duncan."

"I'm not thinking about him, seriously! I asked you to please not mention him!" She retorted.

"I don't believe you. You're ruining the ritual."

"Rachel if you go through with this, I'll...". Suddenly the pointer on the ouija began to move just pointing to the letter D. They were both petrified with wild eyes.

"Did it... move?" Rachel muttered.

"I think so..." Janice replied, not quite sure.

Then the pointer moved to the letter U, then slowly slid to N until it formed Duncan's name.

"Duncan, what about Duncan, are you doing this Rachel?" questioned Janice scared and annoyed.

"No, I swear Janice! I'm just as surprised as you are!" swore Rachel, her voice and hands shaking.

"I'll ask you a question then..." asserted Janice eagerly. She took a sip of coffee and placed her fingers on the pointer.

"Courtney, if that's you, answer me, what about Duncan?".

The pointer moved again startling Janice with shock. This time it indicated the word 'dead'. Both girls were dumbfounded.

"No way, I've got to get my phone, I've got to call him!" Janice exclaimed.

"Janice, we must finish this...!" Rachel asserted. "We must drink what's left of our cups of coffee to close the ritual."

Although Janice was anxious, she heeded what her friend said and they both finished their coffees. Then, on the verge of a breakdown, Janice called Duncan's phone, but he didn't answer. She went on like this several times until he finally answered.

"Duncan, are you okay...?"

"Hello, Janice. I'm not Duncan, I'm his mother." Her tone of voice sounded somber." "I hate to be the one to break the news to you, but... Duncan is dead. He was in an accident on the highway and died in the hospital. I'm sorry, honey." The woman begins to cry and the call cuts off.

Janice freezes. She looks into her best friend's eyes and then cries heartbreakingly. Rachel hugs her in shock and looks toward the back, toward the living room table where the gruesome ouija that announced Duncan's death rests.

THE END

volkan-olmez-wESKMSgZJDo-unsplash.jpg

Source

Written by @universoperdido. October 18, 2022

Other publications of my authorship

[ESP-ENG] EL PURIFICADOR (II)
[ESP-ENG] El sueño corrompido
[ESP-ENG] EL PURIFICADOR (III)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center