Spill The Beans Prompt: Week 82 : solitary duo

Certainly coffee is a drink that is related to social events. Personally, I have a social space for coffee in my routines that involve going to a coffee shop; in fact, I can also contemplate a very small meeting, among very close people. But really, for me, coffee is preferably a solitary companion.

As long as I can remember, I had to drink it alone. At first, at my grandparents' house, where only they and I lived, I would drink the first coffee in the early morning, sitting under the mango tree or at the table, studying before going to high school, while she watered her plants and he did so while listening to the news on the radio.

I thoroughly enjoy a cup of coffee in my own company.

image.png

I am not unfamiliar with the feeling of spiritual retreat that coffee gives me when I drink it alone, doing one of the central activities of my life, reading. Not to mention in the afternoons, because at that time I am working; but before leaving home and when returning. My date with coffee is a space that I cannot easily do without.

I enjoy reading with coffee equally on my tablet or with a paper and ink book.

My perfect activity to drink my coffee is in front of a book. Reading moments, combined with coffee, are exceptional, in the strictest sense. If there is complete silence, much better... or a natural background environment such as birdsong, a breeze moving the leaves of the trees, rain or simply peace and quiet. Likewise, an environment scented with mandarin incense... mystical and full of spirituality helps me concentrate and enjoy my moment to the fullest.

image.png

Reading is an activity that connects me with coffee, and vice versa. I have always remembered it that way, it must be because I learned to read and drink coffee at the home of experts in both tasks: my maternal grandparents. The readings that accompany coffee are not exactly about work topics, at least not directly. It could be literature, an unfinished story, or another topic that really catches my attention, out of curiosity.

image.png

On the weekends.

I have never smoked and I very rarely accompany coffee alone with dessert. Reading and coffee is my dynamic duo, which aligns me with physical and mental rest after work. The weekends are different because I do have the afternoons, which is the time I really like the most. Between three and four in the afternoon, I prepare my reading, strain my coffee, light my incense... and surrender to the moment. One very important detail is that the street is calm and quiet at that time of day, on weekends.

For my coffee alone, my favorite place is my house, where I can be comfortable, dressed like a homeless person, at our small dining table. At that time, after the noise and bustle of the midday meal and a little nap. It's incredible how these breaks save us from whatever we need to be safe from.

image.png

Photos taken with my Redmi11 phone.
Translation done with Google.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center