Forest all around

I don' t wanna sound like rushing, but SPRING is around the corner! Forest says so, who am I not to agree with it?
We had an unplanned after lunch walk yesterday, weather is kind of unstable, a bit of rain, then short sun intervals, gently cold breeze comes in between but no matter what we still were eager to go and burn extra calories. Usually I am the one who is against dragging camera whenever we pop out, surprisingly this time I was literally insisting even tho light was dull and moody.

At the very beginning of the trail, blue flowers could be seen scattered among the ivy and rotting stumps of long-fallen trees, spotted them when violets were on my mind, calendar reminded me it's still February and they shouldn't appear till March, once again I was wrong!

Violets were right there mixed with blue to me unknow flowers, wild plums stretched their petals too especially those who were exposed longer on sun and this red berry (I call it Xmas leftovers), broke the monotony of the early greenery. Dozens of fallen dead trees were surrounding us, some even blocked our path so we had to climb over.

...and where are dead stumps there are, who?
Mushrooms, right!

A meter and a half from the path in a bay of dry, dead leaves, a large colony of turkey tails was found, of course I run down to stuck my nose and get a few photos, but nose was irritated cause of intense humidity scent. Never ever smelled anything similar, thin layer of moss was swallowing them slowly (perhaps in a week they will be fully covered).

Edges looked so crispy.

Had to rush myself a bit as I was missing deep air clean breath, up to the hill I go.

Birds are crippling and their song echoes trough the forest, nothing else you can hear, nothing else you want to hear!

If you could "make" your own forest, what would it contains of?
Which trees, which flowers, which animals and birds?
Would the path be clear or more of rainforest style?
Would you let the trees fall and rotten?
Or would you collect and burn them?

This one I wouldn't change!

Perfect arch? Ha?

Bent, cracked and half-dead still has its role, a decoration made by the hands of mother nature, there is no human who can beat this! Ivy is patiently waited to wraps the cracked tree with its lush leaves and give the final touch.

Anyone planning on wedding, maybe?
Found you a spot! :D

Someone else found Ivy as comfy protective buddy, can't tell what kind of specie this hanging fatty fungi is, but reminds me of Hoof (that one also known as fungi tumor who announce trees dead end)

I know it might sound silly but being surrounded with this amount of forest after almost two years was to me like the eighth wonder of the world, forgot how much I like bumping occasionally on unknown fungi's, birds and weeds.
Forgot how it feels good to unwind around here after buzzing busy day.

Also I forgot to bring some water with me, luckily this guy was waiting on us nearby, possibly I could bring him some underwear as same is missing - obviously.

It was getting dark and we lost track of time, muscles burns slightly too, but it was worth it, all of it!

[ after long time came #fungifriday by @ewkaw, was here just to share my modest catch ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center