Healthy Habits Only

Out of everything I miss about my highschool, one of them is the motivational speeches we always received from time to time. Now I do not know about other people but I am someone who likes to get motivated. I listened during every motivational speech session and after each session, I either had a grand plan or a different perspective.


Source

One of the speeches I remember quite vaguely was about habits. Our school's vice president gave a speech on habits. He said it took three months of daily and continuous practice to form a habit; either good or bad.

I was very lucky to learn about habits at a young age hence I knew what I was doing.

He mentioned something about the 21/90 rule. When you want to achieve a goal, you commit to the goal for 21 days straight and at the end of the 21 days you must have formed a habit but then you keep another 90 days streak and watch how you form a new habit.

His speech was directed towards our studies. The aim of the speech was to teach us how to make studying a habit but as a kid with a wide sense of perception, I took that message that day and applied it to most aspects of my life and that has worked out really well for me.

One must be very conscious of the habits they are forming. You could be doing something unconsciously but continuously and before you know it, you're finding it hard to stop.

Take for example, there was this friend of mine who liked the sound that came from grinding her teeths together. She kept doing it for the love of it and at some point it became a habit. Sometimes she did it without even realizing she was doing it.


Source

Once bad habits are formed, it's really hard to break them. It takes a lot to break a bad habit but on the top of the list is determination. Everyone could tell you that you have a bad habit that needs to be changed but all those would be mere words without determination. A person who has made up his mind to change has already taken a bold step.

In summary, remember that it takes less than three months to form a habit but could take a lifetime to break that habit. Be cautious of the habits you form as it always has an effect in the long run.

This post is about habits. Your views would be appreciated.

With love, wongi ✨

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center