Fitness Journal: Managing Malaria and An 8-year Old Ankle Sprain

Three days ago, I woke up feverish with a sore throat. In my country- Nigeria, the symptoms I had would be treated as Malaria symptoms and if it persists an individual is advised to consult the physician.
I started an Artemether- Lumefantrine drug, an anti-malaria drug.
I currently feel better than I was three days ago.

Nigeria is known by Medical Microbiologists as a Holoendemic malaria-prone area. All year round we are infected and people come down with symptoms daily.

Today, a Thursday on my calendar is supposed to be "Abdominal(Abs) Day" at the gym. I could not do my warm-up routine which is either Skipping or running on the Thread mill for 15 mins. I opted for the staircase at the gym and I still broke a sweat, I would keep trying the staircase walk as an alternative for the other warm-up routines

I woke up with pains from yesterday's "leg day" workout, the pain is at my left ankle joint. I don't feel as much pain on the right ankle joint. My left ankle joint is the weak cause of the sprain I sustained while playing football in high school 8 years ago. I thought it healed to perfection until today.

BACK STORY
In high school, I was a footballer albeit amateur but I was active in that sport. A very offensive defender gave me a tough tackle that brought me to the ground with a sprain.
It was severe and painful, had all the signs which go with inflammation- redness; soreness; increase temperature of the area; pain; and loss of function of the area.
It healed and everything returned to normal.

PRESENT DAY
My joint hurts, it is sore and is as painful as it was 8 years ago. I know it is due to how much I pushed myself for my "Leg day" yesterday whilst doing Leg presses, squats, and other leg routines.

I am taking it a day at a time so I don't cause further injuries. I am doing home management care which includes:

  1. The use of ice on the area
  2. A reduction in activities that involve the use of legs.
  3. Taking pain medications

I am watching carefully how it progresses and if I would visit a health facility soon.

Hopefully, it gets better and I get whole againšŸ¤£.
I am going to run from leg routines with weight until next week so it heals well.

Snapchat1259601047.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center