Is this experience for you too? My first time rock climbing (in Italy) [ENG / ESP]

Tale of a non-climber that decides to learn how to climb
(and survive while at it)

Relato de una no-escaladora que decide aprender
a escalar (y sobrevivir en el intento)


Spoiler alert: I did it!😁😎💪


Santuario Madonna di Saiano, Italia


Once lockdown got less strict, I was looking for new hobbies to try out. I was craving for some outdoorsy thing that involved fellow human beans (hiking is fun, but can get lonely). I was moving countries so I was also looking for an activity that would help me meet new people.
Cuando en encierro pandémico bajó su intensidad, quise probar un nuevo hobby... Tenía ganas de algo outdoorsy que involucrara a otros (el senderismo puede resultar súper solo). Además, me estaba cambiando de país, y quería aprovechar de conocer gente.
Sooo... I decided I wanted to learn climbing.
Así que decidí que quería aprender escalada.
Once I settled in Italy for a semester of studies, I found a climbing gym close to home and signed up for three months of courses. Main purpose: learn how not to die or fall when climbing. It was an all-italiano speaking course with very good intended people.. so it ended up being a full language immersion experience too.
Instalada ya en Italia para cursar un semestre de estudios, busqué un gimnasio de escalada cerca de casa y me inscribí a sus cursos. Objetivo: aprender a no morir ni caer escalando. Eran cursos full en italiano, y con gente muy buena onda... así que terminó siendo además, una experiencia de inmersión lingüística total.

Basecamp, my climbing gym in Cesena, Italy


I was hoping to learn Italian and get a six pack while at it.
Esperaba aprender italiano y de paso conseguir un six pack.
This is a joke, btw. I achieved none, of course. But I learned the basics of climbing which makes this experience totally worth it!
Es broma, obvio. No logré ni uno ni lo otro. Pero aprendí fundamentos de escalada, que hacen que esta experiencia valga totalmente la pena!
If you are not sure if this is a sport for you... Don't discard it right away. I was not sure it was for me either, as I am very scared of falling. This is why I don't go on any rollercoasters. Even thinking of the sensation you get when falling is sickening to me. So climbing frightened me.
Si no estás segur@ si escalar es para ti... No lo descartes al tiro. Yo tampoco estaba segura de que fuera para mí: tengo mucho miedo a caer. Por eso no me subo a montañas rusas en los parques. Solo la idea de esa sensación que se tiene al caer, me da nervio. Escalar da miedo.
Bouldering offers the possibility of climbing indoors in a friendly and safe environment. You won't need a harness or any equipment, other than maybe optional ones such as shoes (if you think you want to continue practicing the sport) or the "chalk" (for when your hands get sweaty and slip). Additionally, when bouldering, you will have routes with different levels of difficulty marked accordingly to chose and try as you wish.
El bouldering ofrece la posibilidad de escalar en interiores en un entorno amigable y seguro, así que empecé con eso. No necesitarás equipo (como arnés), solo quizá algunos elementos opcionales como zapatillas (si crees que quieres seguir practicando el deporte) o "tiza" (para evitar que transpiren las manos y caigas). Además, en bouldering hay rutas con diferentes niveles de dificultad marcados para elegir y probar.
Look for climbing gyms up on the internet and maybe you will even find them beautiful, like I do... with all those colorful holds and with climbers coming for daily feats.
Busca gimnasios de escalada en internet y quizás incluso te parezcan lindos como a mí... con esas presas de colores y con escalador@s que vienen por hazañas diarias.


If you have the chance to find instructors to learn the basics, do so! You will have so much fun. When taking a course you will learn things like: What to do with your hips? Keep your arms straight and concentrate on your leg power. How to move from one place to another in the best manner to get tired as little as possible. Use your eyes before you move! And so on...
Si tienes la oportunidad de tener instructores para aprender lo básico, ¡hazlo! Te encantará. Al tomar un curso para partir aprenderás cosas como: ¿Qué hacer con las caderas? A mantener los brazos rectos y concentrarse en la potencia de las piernas. ¿Cómo moverte de la mejor manera para cansarte lo menos posible? Mirar antes de moverse, y más...
Really fun and not that hard (to start off) if you put the hours of practice into it.
Realmente divertido y no tan difícil (al empezar) si le dedicas horas de práctica.
I noticed the initial pain in my arms and butt and legs was diminishing as my body got a bit stronger. I could also see how many more difficult movements I could do when I improved on my technique. Only my hands kept getting worse.. though I have been told that the longer you climb, the harder your hands will get and it will no longer hurt.
Noté que el dolor en los brazos, el poto y las piernas, iba disminuyendo a medida que mi cuerpo se fortalecía. También noté que los movimientos más difíciles los podía hacer cuando mejoraba mi técnica. Sólo mis manos seguían empeorando... aunque me han dicho que con la práctica, estas se ponen más duras y ya no dolerán.

My hands, take 1


My hands, take 2, on a different day


After weeks went by I started feeling more confident and eventually tried climbing with rope too (indoor) and then on rock with other more experienced climbers. They were super nice (because they lent me all the equipment I needed, and also) because they had infinite patience to climb with me the more beginner routes too.
Con el paso de las semanas empecé a sentirme más segura y probé a escalar con cuerda también (en interior) y luego en roca. con otros escaladores más experimentados. Ellos fueron muy amables (porque me prestaron todo el equipo que necesitaba, y porque) tuvieron una paciencia para escalar conmigo las rutas principiantes también.
Climbing people are great. They are! Really! Cool and nice! I think this might be because of what climbing entails: tons of trust and co-responsibility.
Los escaladores son bacanes. ¡En serio! ¡Cool y simpáticos! Creo que esto puede ser por lo que implica escalar: mucha confianza y corresponsabilidad.

Not to die when climbing is a team effort.
No morir escalando es logro de equipo.


The people I went climbing with were thrilled to show me stuff I had yet to learn: "how to do this knot", "try this, it works a little different than that other security device", "try this route, you can totally do it", "use that rock as a hold" etc...
Los escaladores a los que me sumé estaban encantados mostrándome cosas nuevas: "cómo hacer este nudo", "prueba este dispositivo de seguridad", "prueba esta ruta, puedes hacerla seguro", "usa esa roca para impulsarte", etc...
After so many months away from home, open and friendly welcomes are something I have learned to appreciate so much.
Después de tantos meses fuera de casa, he aprendido a apreciar un montón un recibimiento abierto y buena onda.
We went close to the Sanctuary of Madonna di Saiano. Routs with varying difficulty levels were available for climbers and much needed shadow to avoid the sun.
Fuimos cerca del Santuario de Madonna di Saiano. Había rutas con diferentes niveles de dificultad para los escaladores y ¡sombra! muy agradecida para evitar el sol.

Santuario Madonna di Saiano, Italia


I leave you with final pictures of my first day climbing on rock! I am so thrilled! I know there is no going back on this cause I loved it!! Give it a try too if you can! Some gyms offer a climbing trial class you can check out, or maybe you have a friend who is already into climbing and can show you a bit to see if it is for you.
Les dejo con fotos de mi primer día de escalada en roca ¡Estoy muy emocionada! ¡Sé que no hay vuelta atrás! Me encantó!! ¡Pruébalo tú también si puedes! Algunos gimnasios ofrecen una clase de prueba de escalada que puedes comprobar, o tal vez tienes un amig@ que escala y puede mostrarte un poco para ver si es para ti.





A big latin hug full of warmth for you, dear reader.
Un abrazo latinoamericano lleno de cariño para ti, querido lector.

Talk to you soon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now