Spending the morning trimming up this beauty


405opj13kz8lwy89_wwest220203_7034.jpg
405opj1pkz8lwvfn_wwest220203_7038.jpg
405opj1ekz8lwy1u_wwest220203_7039.jpg
405opj20kz8lwv2q_wwest220203_7040.jpg
405opjwkz8lwvnv_wwest220203_7042.jpg
405opjikz8lwuu0_wwest220203_7043.jpg
405opj2bkz8lwvfu_wwest220203_7044.jpg
405opj1ekz8lwvf3_wwest220203_7045.jpg

Well, the time has come for the trimming to begin on the green crack. It seems like I haven't trimmed any weed in a long time because of the time wasted with the granddaddy purple. But at least I have these massive green crack that is ready to go.

I have had this one in the dark for the past 48 hours and I started trimming some of the branches last night. I think I only did about 6 branches before it got kind of late and I decided to wait until the morning.

I am doing things a bit different with this trim than I normally do. Previously when I would harvest a plant, I would chop the branches off and hang each one up individually to dry, but I would also trim them when they are wet. Wet trimming makes things a lot easier, but with this one, I cut the main stem and hung the whole plant up intact. I did have to cut the widest branches off so that the plant would fit on my drying rack.

So I am wet trimming the loose branches, and I am going to try and slow dry the main plant and then trim all of the branches up when it is dry. I am hoping for a slow dry of about 10-12 days, but I am not sure if that is going to be possible. I did turn the humidity up in the room to at least 60%, and I have a fan blowing some indirect air across the plant as it dries in the smaller tent.

Now the reason for drying the plant as a whole is to increase the drying time because as cannabis dries, it releases chlorophyl and other gases. Doing this helps to prevent the cannabis from having a hay or grass smell to them. Slowly down the drying process helps the plant release these gases and chemicals naturally, and in the end, you are left with better quality cannabis. I have usually rushed the drying process, but I am trying to learn new techniques to increase the quality of the cannabis I am producing.

So I am going to spend a little bit trimming up the loose branches and in a couple days, they should be ready to go in their jars to begin curing. It will be cool to see if there is a difference in the smell between the buds that I wet trimmed and the rest of the plant that I am drying a lot slower and then trimming once dry. Doing it this way also breaks up the trimming time because this would take a while to trim all at once.

Now it is time to put on a show and get to work. Thanks for stopping by.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center