Our Little Suburban Homestead ◇ Making "No Cost" Garden Beds

Making things pertty 'round here

20220503_180925.jpg

Well, that's a load of horse shit!


We're those suburbanites whose house looks like it belongs in the country side...

Yep, we're those people now! We've left the city for the country side, and then left the tiny house, off-grid country living for the suburbs to save our sanity (I explain this move here). Our front lawn is not manicured like everyone else's, it's been designed for food production, pollinators, and beauty... it's a permaculture thing, looks a bit more wild like that, and I love it, we have a living fence around the whole property, chickens doing their chicken things, solar panels on the roof, and we're collecting rainwater.

It is the dream, the new vision we have for this new property. Little by little, I'll journal what we're doing here as we build our systems for our small suburban homestead. We have done quite a bit since we've moved in, including making the place livable just in time for last winter, replaced the roof, and added solar panels. For now we're on the grid, but a battery back up plan is in the works!


This week, the focus has to be on the garden... it's finally kind of warm enough that we can plant things outside! This winter's been dragging on, we're all sick of it.

Some friends of ours found a great source for all organic manure, which I finally used for our garden. I got a truck load for $23! It was supposed to be $30 but that was all I had on hand, and the farmer was nice enough to to let it slide, though I promised I would make it right soon. I was pretty embarrassed to not have enough money on me. Unloading the truck was rough, but with a little effort and time I managed to do it all before dinner!

20220503_180937.jpg

Building garden beds with fallen tree trunks, that was the idea I had to make nicer looking garden beds. There were a lot of downed trees this winter, on the property we call Artemisian Sanctuary, so we figured we should make use of them:

20220507_181040.jpg

Simple joint I cut with the chainsaw, neighbors are cool... all the kids are running their tiny dirt bikes and quads, so the noise I was making was blended right in.

20220507_182034.jpg

Alost ready for planting... Even the cold has subsided a bit! Our corn is starting to grow, we'll try to have the three sisters doing their thing! It's straight from Guatemala, from a good friend. She said it's the corn they use for making tortilla flour.

20220507_182111.jpg

Our seedlings are starting to grow out of their starter pots... we have to plant them. But we still need a fence around the garden beds. The rabbits, the deer, and who knows what else still come around these parts. We're close enough to a large farm parcel, that the critters come around once in a while, and when word gets out that we'll be growing delicious things, I want to be prepared!!!!

20220507_182220.jpg

Well, that's all for now, I hope you liked what you read today... what are you growing, what does your garden look like? I'd love to see what you all have, let me know in the comments bellow!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, AND DON'T FORGET YOU CAN SUPPORT ME WITHOUT MAKING A DENT IN YOUR WALLET

Simply use our referral links and we'll earn a little extra along the way:

| Hive | Presearch | Odysee | Minds | Hipcamp |



Find me on Social Media:

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/mugwortexpress/
LBRY: https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Odysee: https://odysee.com/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Minds: https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=NoMansLand



FINDING AND HELPING DECENTRALIZATION EVERYWHERE:


presearch

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center