Birthday Mum and Fried Rice from Mamam Thai

Hello everyone 👧.

19 October 2022, the date of the day of my Mum's 62 years old birthday. My family and I went to a Thai restaurant for dinner to celebrate my Mum's birthday.

We arrived Mamam Thai, the restaurant situated at Lintas Square, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah around 6.45 pm. The route from my workplace to the restaurant was traffic jams with people driving back home from work. Thus, I'm late to the restaurant, where my Sister and Mum had waited for me for my arrival inside the car.

We rarely went to Thai restaurants. Some of the food was in Thai names, such as Pad Thai. My Sister has to Google it by using her smartphone to search for what kind of food is it. From Google search, we found out that Pad Thai is a stir-fried rice noodle dish. I asked my Mum whether she wants to eat Pad Thai. She was shocked and replied to me saying she doesn't want to eat Petai.

Petai in the Malay language is a bitter bean vegetable. Pad Thai and Petai has almost the same pronunciation, which let my Mum misunderstand that I want to order a bitter bean meal for her birthday dinner 😅. My Sister let my Mum see her Pad Thai Google search findings, then my Mum agreed to my suggestion in ordering Pad Thai for her.

I saw fried rice on the menu. I recalled that the theme for this week ASEAN Hive Community Challenge was Fried Rice. Thus, I and my other family members ordered 3 types of fried rice for our main dish dinner.

The air conditioner inside the restaurant maybe switched on at full blast. The hot tea served tastes very nice in the cold environment of the restaurant.

Our order of side dish, Thai Chick Skewers, was the first food delivered to our table.

While I'm enjoying the chicken skewer, I just noticed my Mum wearing a Krabi Thai T-shirt. I questioned my Mum, is she intentionally wearing this T-shirt as we're having a Thai food dinner today? My Mum replied to me No. Perhaps it's fate to celebrate my Mum's birthday with Thai food in a Thai restaurant and wearing in a Thai theme T-shirt.

Green Thai chicken curry, we ordered it as we haven't tried on it before. @butwo likes it very much, while I'm the opposite 😶.

ASEAN Hive Community Challenge started by introducing Khao Ob Sapparod or Pineapple Fried Rice with pineapple cube slices, prawns, egg, and chicken slices.

Next, Tom Yum Fried Rice with the taste of Tom Yum broth, prawns, and egg.

Last entry of the fried rice challenge, Khao Phad Kratiam or Garlic Fried Rice with lots of minced garlic mixed with the rice, egg, and chicken slices.

A spicy Pad Thai not a Petai for my Mum dinner.


We went back home to do the next birthday activity, which is cutting the birthday cake for the birthday Mum. We use a special candle for my Mum to blow on it.

This firework candle, we don't need to blow it, we just wait for the fire of the candle to cease.

My dog, Uku Chan likes cake. He keeps on asking around family members to feed him some slices of cake. I just share my slices of cake with him. However, Uku Chan was still not satisfied with my share of the cake. He went to the table with the remaining cake and looked at me with a smile. He wants more cake.

That's all. Thanks for reading my post 🤗.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center